We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Hills Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Handy Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Without reservations, we were first directed to "Central Booking" - a staff of phone operators located in the post office directly behind the Deadwood Information Center. Spared the hassle of looking for vacancy and the best rate, we were quickly connected to the Black Hills Inn and Suites. Right between Deadwood and Lead, this hotel offers serenity when we needed it and the convenience of a trolley when it was time for dinner. Although the rooms are small, they are well worth the value, cleanliness, the genuine hospitality and the hotel's other ammenities including the pool, breakfast room and the park-like setting in which it is set. Run by a family and a family-like staff, I was soon calling our hosts by their first name and every effort (and a few exceptions!) were made to help us feel at home. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    15
    14
    26
See reviews for
28
28
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Complete dump! The sink is almost in bed with you, the TV cord keeps falling out of the outlet, the alarm clock needs to be plugged in across the room (no outlets by the beds) but that was useless because it didn't run anyway!

Needed to check out early because of emergency at home and was assured by desk clerk there would be no problem. When I contacted the owner to see why no refund, he stated "everyone has an emergency" and then hung up on me. I guess others want to get away from there, too.

Don't know where the photos on the web site are from, but they sure aren't the room we were in!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chestine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHIS-Manager, Owner at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
This specific guest made a reservation for a Holiday Weekend through a third party booking agent that has a set cancellation policy. The cancellation was not made within the terms of the policy nor did any immediate emergency seem apparent when guest made arrangements to check out. Guest did not indicate flaws at checkout, only after informed no refund would be granted, then she became verbally abusive and threatened to make trouble for us by submitting bad reviews.
We do use a Comment Card system also. We have a high 90’s percentage of favorable or very favorable responses on the cards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deadwood hotels

Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were treated awesome and the staff and the owner were just great. Joe the owner and the lady Estelle on the front desk could not have been more courteous. The place was very clean and the pool and area was great. The trolley that came every half hour to take you into the heart of the town was an added great feature. Will be back again and looking forward to it. Doug Clair

Room Tip: Back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

On the plus side--polite and helpful clerk, immaculate parking lot, super quiet (no parties or people overhead) clean rooms, beautiful setting, trolley right on time every 1/2 hour, close to Deadwood but not too close, right on the Mikkelson trail so we could enjoy hiking, adequate little continental breakfast, microwave popcorn for only .75, I actually like the shower and sink being in separate rooms, so that I could shower while my hubby shaves, though some guests find that weird. Our car broke down while we were there and the manager had no problem with us leaving it in the parking lot till the garage could tow it home.

The negatives--hard (perhaps impossible?) to get the heat to work (and nights are cold in the Hills), pool was freezing and pump not working during our visit, rooms are very, very small, mattresses less than comfy, and no rollaway for our granddaughter (11) who ended up sleeping two nights on the floor in a pile of blankets provided by the clerk. Since she is a trooper and not a whiner, that worked fine.

All things considered, since we are the kind of people who don't spend much time in their rooms I would stay there again. I don't need to be in the lap of luxury to have a good time in the HIlls.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nodaklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just minutes from Deadwood!! A very clean and well appointed hotel!! We stayed here during the Memorial weekend. Most hotels in the area had raised their rates 2,3, and even 4 times their normal rate! We stayed in a creekside suite at an extremely reasonable rate!! There were 5 of us 3 adults and two teens. The room was spotless!! I can't think of anything negative about this hotel. A nice Continental breakfast was available in the morning. There is a small but very nice and clean indoor pool and hot-tub to relax after a long day in the hills! The owner and his staff were awesome and very accommodating to our needs. There is a shuttle that comes regularly to take you to the heart of Deadwood and all of the shops and Casinos. I must stress how clean and neat the hotel and surrounding grounds are! Don't miss this one!! If you wan't to save some money and don't need to stay right in the middle of Downtown, this is the place! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the suites creekside!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

The location is wonderful being it is right beside the Michelson Trail and creek that runs along side of it. I loved that! We took a walk down the trail in the evening. The room accomodated us with a coffee maker in it. The Deadwood trolley came right into the parking lot to pick up or drop off and was only $1 to ride each way and that was certainly inexpensive enough. The convenience to the trolley, town, and Michelson Trail made it a great place to stay and smell the pines. I'd give it a thumbs up and say we went there to enjoy the surroundings and we did just that.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

The website looked nice and the hotel was close to ski and snowmobile trails, so we booked it for our winter vaccation. On site, things looked simple but decent.
The next day we came back in the afternoon and our door was visibly open, the cleaning lady must have forgotten to close it. Luckily, we didn't have valuables in the room and nobody had taken advantage of this but the main hotel door was always open, so somebody could have easily stolen all our belongings.
One or two nights later, my wife and I were already in bed, somebody just put a key in the lock and opened the door without knocking or warning.
It was the manager who just said ''Uups'' and left.
Luckily, we were not engaged in any kind of activity but it was quite a shock.
Next time we will stay in regular chain hotels, were we never had any problems like that.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank auswanderer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
We are sorry that this guest claims to have had an unsatisfactory experience at our motel. Housekeepers are only human and occassionally make mistakes. We generally double check that rooms are cleaned to the level of service requested but when we are short on help, it is possible to have errors happen. We are a small facility and if someone is staying more than a day, we generally get to know our guests and rooms, so we watch for suspicious activity. We have also added recorded video monitoring which will be expanded. As for the "walk-in", the door was knocked on before opening without a response. The reason the door was opened, was that another guest claimed to be staying in that particular room and there was no other reasonable way of verification.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deadwood
0.6 mi away
Thunder Cove Hotel
Thunder Cove Hotel
#22 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
#19 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Deadwood Dick's
Deadwood Dick's
#20 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hills Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hills Inn & Suites

Property: Black Hills Inn & Suites
Address: 206 Mountain Shadow Ln, Highway 385 South, Deadwood, SD 57732-9724
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hills Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Hills Inn & Suites is a motel located in Deadwood, SD. For easy access to Downtown Deadwood, Casinos, Fine Dining and Historical Sites, the Deadwood Trolley offers service. The Black Hills Inn & Suites offers a Free Continental Breakfast, Complimentary WiFi with Internet access, a heated Indoor Swimming Pool and Hot Tub and a computer for Guest use. The Black Hills Inn & Suites offers clean, quiet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Hills Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hills Hotel Deadwood
Black Hills Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing