We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Hills Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Hillsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just not for me”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is an older property. The pictures posted dont accurately represent the place. The rooms are very small with no frills. The advertised wi-fi didn't work. The linens were shabby. The continental breakfast was a loaf of bread by a toaster. I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkay32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Your opinion is that you did not care for the room but being untruthful is another. Our wi-fi works and our breakfast consists of more than a piece of toast.
We do not try to pass the property off as new or the rooms as anything but what they are. If you walk into a room and take advantage of our free inspection, you could have freely went to another hotel.
The photos do accurately represent our rooms.
Please try to be truthful with your reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    15
    15
    15
    26
See reviews for
28
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

stay somewhere else. room was small breakfast lousey not clean. glad we were there only one night or we would have moved. just not our kind of place. go on into deadwood for a nicer hotel

going back to deadwood but definitely not staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickwieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
We acknowledge that our rooms are small.
The comments relating to the breakfast being dirty and lousey are inappropriate. We offer a continental breakfast with multiple kinds of cereal, milk, oj, bagels, white and wheat toast and 100% Columbian coffee. If you expect steak and eggs for a free breakfast then I guess you will have to go pay someplace else for that.
Again, if you walked into the room and it did not meet your criteria, you are more than welcome to find another hotel with no charges incurred providing no cleaning charges were incurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deadwood hotels

Cookeville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed for three nights and only intended to stay one. Because of the great value in the room cost, I decided to base in the Black Hills Inn & Suites as I toured the Black Hills on my motorcycle. The staff allowed me to park my motorcycle under the overhang on the front lobby. Excellent place for a bike. The room was clean and comfortable - especially for the cost of the room. Can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. Excellent in helping me plan my sight seeing activities. Great recommendations on restaurants and shopping areas also. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRW2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deadwood, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I made a reservation to stay here and received a confirmation number. I also emailed to let them know we would be a late arrival. We arrived at 9:20 local time and were informed that they were closed for the evening! Our reservation included phone number and email so it was entirely possible for someone to contact me and let me know that they would not be able to accommodate us this evening. I did not see any note on their website of their "office hours." We drove out of our way to get here and ended up backtracking to stay at another inn. Very disappointing, I guess that this operation does not need any more income!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Guest assumes that a reservation made through a third party early in the evening of the day of stay will be transmitted instantaneously to the hotel, oftentimes it is not. Nor is every email available instantaneously. Guest made a reservation late in the day for a late arrival, not specifying time of arrival and expected someone to be waiting for them. Common courtesy would involve a phone call, most guests, even those that make reservations months in advance will phone ahead if they will be late, especially in the off season. Also, contrary to guest's indication, our website does list office hours and in case of questions, our toll free and direct dial phone numbers are listed.
Since the day was a Tuesday in the off season with inclement weather, with no other reservations there was certainly no need to keep staff late in anticipation of a single, uncertain, late arrival. In the future, wherever you stay please phone ahead and use common courtesy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUTTE MT
Level Contributor
230 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Based on some of the reviews, I was not sure what to expect at this property. We travel to Deadwood/Black Hills area several times a year and this is the first time we stayed here and it certainly won't be our last! Yes, the room decor was basic and dated, but that only added to its charm! It was spotlessly clean and super comfortable. The WiFi connection in room was great, and a computer was available in the lobby. The pool and spa was inviting and clean,and the included breakfast variety was more than adequate. (toast, cereals, milk, coffee, juice, bagels and cream cheese - this was a much better offering than many other hotels in this same price range). The trolly pickup and drop off is right to the door. It's only about a one mile walk to the downtown Deadwood area, so great for getting a little exercise and fresh air! We stayed two nights and wished we could have stayed longer, it really is a great place to relax. I met Joe while checking out and he is just as charming as his property. This is certainly not a 4 star hotel, and the low rates reflect that. If you enjoy kicking back and relaxing in a casual and friendly enviornment, you won't be disappointed with this property!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSGALBUTTEMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Thank you for your kind words. You have stated the obvious nicely, that if one's expectations are reasonable, our modest facility is acceptable. We are not fancy but offer basic lodging at a reasonable price for our market. Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

No greeting by hotel clerk, not when checking in nor out. It was pure business. The room was a joke. We decided to not take a shower and we weren't sure if it had every been scrubbed or it could be they don't have the right cleaning tools. It appears the carpeting hadn't been vacuumed in a long time; however, we realized that it had been dusted with carpeting "cleaner", a lot. The towels were very flimsy and old, the bed uncomfortable and small. There wasn't a lot of space to move around. The sink next to the bed was different, unusual though. The bars of soap had to be the smallest ever, but I guess one doesn't need much soap. We will never stay at this hotel again. We have stayed in many hotels in the area, but cannot recommend this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdtaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south dakota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Love this place - we stay here several times a year. It is always clean and ready for us to arrive.
The pool and hot tub are always clean and ready. Joe is a great guy and takes care of you.
All these years I have never seen Joe get rude or angry with any customers.
Trolly runs to town which means no driving - whooop whooop!!!! Breakfast nook in the morning is great but we also use it at night for eating supper with the whole group :)
We will continue to go back here because the price is right and accomodations are great!
Thanks Joe and your staff as well

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtb355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We attempt to interact with all our guests and certainly appreciate all of our repeat customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deadwood
0.6 mi away
Thunder Cove Hotel
Thunder Cove Hotel
#21 of 24 in Deadwood
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hickok House
Best Western Hickok House
#18 of 24 in Deadwood
280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lead
53 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
1.6 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hills Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hills Inn & Suites

Property: Black Hills Inn & Suites
Address: 206 Mountain Shadow Ln, Highway 385 South, Deadwood, SD 57732-9724
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hills Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Hills Inn & Suites is a motel located in Deadwood, SD. For easy access to Downtown Deadwood, Casinos, Fine Dining and Historical Sites, the Deadwood Trolley offers service. The Black Hills Inn & Suites offers a Free Continental Breakfast, Complimentary WiFi with Internet access, a heated Indoor Swimming Pool and Hot Tub and a computer for Guest use. The Black Hills Inn & Suites offers clean, quiet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Hills Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hills Inn And Suites
Black Hills Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing