We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Willow City, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Hotel”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Very nice hotel, they were in the middle of some construction in November. We were allowed to check in early. We had reserved 2 rooms, but when we got there, they only had us under one. The front desk lady was very nice and did get us 2 adjoining rooms. It was nice and quiet there, and it has a game room which our son enjoyed very much. It is a ways away from main street, but its in the perfect spot for if you are traveling thru just wanting to get out of town. Breakfast was good, except when I was having problems with the waffle maker, a staff member came in, fixed it, wouldn't say a word, even when I said thank you, and he just glared at me...I thought it was really creepy of him, who knows, maybe he was just having a bad day. Other than that, everything was nice, pool area and gym area were clean. Will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
First of all let me apologize for the misunderstanding at your check in with your rooms. I'm happy we were able to accomodate you and your family. We hope you come out during the summer months so that your son can enjoy the fun park. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    63
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
105
85
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Ia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Comfortable hotel, nice and clean, and had an awesome breakfast! It was a little ways from downtown, but had a shuttle to take you where you wanted to go. You could walk to down town as well. The room had a nice sized bathroom, and a safe, which was nice. Stayed two nights and enjoyed the area. Love Deadwood!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaksterMarion_Ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Comfort is our many priority! We are happy to hear your trip here in Deawood was a pleasant one. Fall is a great time to visit the Black Hills and we hope you make it an annual trip. Our shuttle service is very convenient and I'm glad to hear you were able to use it. Thank you for taking the time to comment, we hope to serve you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grottoes, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a bus tour group to SD. It is a little bit out of the downtown area but here was a shuttle bus which ran frequently.

Our room had two queen beds and was comfortable, also there was a small table with two chairs. There was a safe, which was operated with a key available in the room at no extra charge. The bathroom had a nice sized vanity.

There was a continental breakfast -- few tables in the breakfast room, but we could use the tables in the NASCAR themed bar area also. The breakfast was mainly biscuits and gravy, waffles, eggs, sausage, juices, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, cold cereal, oatmeal, grits, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, etc.

There is a casino which you have to walk through to get to the rooms and to the elevator. Never seemed to be an issue as I never saw more than 5 people playing the slot machines there at any given time. If you are really into gaming, take the shuttle into Deadwood and go to the casino there.

I am not sure why, but one day we returned from our sightseeing to find out that everyone's room key had to be reprogrammed -- none of them were working. The reprogramming was done quickly and efficiently by the desk staff. All the employees seemed happy to have us staying there and accommodating. Our room was cleaned and items which we used (coffee, shampoo, etc) were replaced quickly.

One very strange thing was that one morning, about 5 am I got up and discovered there was no hot water coming from the bathroom tap. I called the desk and was told that this happens sometimes and that the larger hotels get their hot water "first" between about 5 am and 7 am. Not quite sure what that meant, I asked others in our group if they had they had any problems with the hot water. Someone was given the explanation by the hotel their hot water goes down for a couple of hours "every other day". Glad I was not there on business and needed a nice hot shower to wake me up before a meeting!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingAimlessly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
We truly enjoy having bus tours here in Deadwood. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are glad your stay went well and we hope you come stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.9 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites
Address: 225 Cliff St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#6 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel right at home here at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Deadwood! Location, location, location; We're nestled in the center of the beautiful Black Hills and the hot spot with all the action! Make us the place to stay in Historic Deadwood, South Dakota. Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun is the nicest full-service hotel in Deadwood. With 69 deluxe rooms, each with coffee makers, hair dryers, 27" remote controlled TVs, wireless high speed internet, and more. Our deluxe suites offer a microwave and refrigerator for your convenience. If it's a pool, spa, exercise facility, or arcade for the kids that you are looking for, we have it all at the Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun and Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing