We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice staff and really clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Really nice staff and really clean rooms.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were suppose to check into another hotel that of course he didn't check reviews, we took one look and left and found this hotel. We showed up with no reservations but they quickly found us a great room and were so very helpful. You must always check reviews because they work.

We loved this hotel. Very nice rooms and nice staff. Off the main road but not far at all from town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your five star rating and your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear your stay with us was great and hope you decide to stay with us on your next trip through Deadwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    63
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
106
85
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to glacier national park for one night and I have nothing bad to say about it. Nice rooms, I think they remodeled since we were here last, and a good breakfast with many options, the lady at the breakfast place was very nice as well. Will return for a 4th time in the near future!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wewont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We can't wait to see you on your 4th trip through Deadwood! Thanks for noticing our renovations! We have renovated the breakfast room, lobby and all of third floor. We will start back up this fall, so on your next trip we should be completely done. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed in the large spacious family suite during a family vacation. Plenty of room for 4 adults and 2 pre-teens. Very clean, well maintained establishment. Family friendly gaming, arcade and amusement activity areas with go carts, miniture golf and water boats. Breakfast is the traditional "free" type fare with cereal, milk, juice, fruit, mini muffins, waffle makers and eggs with sausage. The casino staff was very attentive and friendly to those playing the electronic machines - there are no table or card games. The front desk personnel could benefit from some customer relations training. The Gulches of Fun staff were incredibly friendyly and helpful. The breakfast area manager was a very nice lady who dotted on her customers. Again though the front desk staff have no real customer service skills. The room furnishings, sofa sleeper, recliner chair, tvs, linens, towels, bed mattresses and pillows were excellent and exremely comfortable. It seems that the wasted open space in the living area of the suite could be put to better use with the installation of a kitchenette with sink vice the small refrigerator with micro wave sitting on top without cutting into the lounging area. The air conditioner was tempermental and had to be continually shut off to reset and turned back on to work, something the front desk knew about but didn't care about actually finding a fix for since they informed us it had been that way for a long time and other guests found a way to deal with it. The only real draw back is the constant noise from long idling tour buses in the parking lot next to the room windows at all hours and the inconsiderate loud visitors leaning on the room's window sills smoking and waiting to board those buses or shuttles. The hotel staff does nothing to police, or control, the ever present patrons who stop and congregate immediately outside the front hotel lobby doors to light up and converse in the area just feet from the suite's windows. It is nice to be off the beaten main drag but still within blocks of the downtown attractions. A bit on the pricey side but not out of line with other comparable hotels in the area.

Room Tip: We would recommend asking for a room away from the front lobby entrance. The rooms there are nice b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
On behalf of the staff and management of the Deadwood Comfort Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for the great review of our hotel. I would like to apologize for the unprofessional behavior you witnessed during your stay with the front desk. I would also like to thank you for bringing it to our attention so we can correct it. During your next visit to the Comfort Inn and Suites in Deadwood, I am sure you will see that we have corrected this issue. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, ND
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for a short vacation. My wife and I enjoyed the facility very much. The rooms were clean - the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate. We really appreciated the shuttle bus which took us to downtown Deadwood. It took driving/parking out of the picture, which made our trip more enjoyable. There are many activities for families on the property, so I expected noise. There was none! I will stay here again and I will recommend this motel to my friends and family. Good job-Gulches of Fun!!

Room Tip: Chose a room on the East side of the building - those rooms are away from the road and are very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank for taking the time to comment on our hotel and the amenities we offer. The shuttle bus makes it very convenient for all of our guests to enjoy and explore Deadwood. We are so happy you decided to stay with us on your vacation and hope to see you back soon for round two at Gulches of Fun. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Nothing out of the ordinary or outstanding about this hotel as it's consistent with most CI&S. Well, the breakfast was really good and the lady running things at Breakfast was helpful and very friendly.
Unfortunately, like all hotels in Deadwood, it's also a Casino. So every time I stepped out of my room and would walk a few feet down the hall towards the breakfast room, laundry room or front desk, I could hear the never-ending pinging of the slot machines. Thankfully my room was at the end furthest from the casino portion because that was truly annoying.
It's not a cheap hotel but it's reasonable compareds to some other Deadwood lodgings. The room I had was clean & neat and if I had to stay in Deadwood again, i would choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room as FAR from the casino part of the hotel so that you don't hear the machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowboyUpAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your trip through the Black Hills. I'm glad you were able to get some peace and quiet on your vacation. Deadwood can be a noisy town and it does pay off to be a little ways from downtown. We hope you decide to come stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in 2005, 2006, and 2009. We enjoyed all our past stays at this hotel. Our only issue in the past had been with the dryer that takes 3 cycles to dry a load of shorts. When we decided to visit Deadwood again, we immediately made our reservations to stay here. We were aware that the hotel had new owners and was under an extensive remodel; we even tracked the progress of the remodel on Facebook. I am a Choice Privileges member and I had enough points saved up to stay here for 5 nights. We were excited when we made the reservation and found out that we were able to book one of the newly remodeled rooms because the pictures on the website showed a beautiful, new, modern room. When we arrived at the hotel we were impressed, the hotel looked great. Sadly, this is where the disappointing part comes in. Upon check-in we were told we were not getting the room we had booked. Even though it was the picture shown on the website for our room and we had called the hotel direct to confirm we had the room shown on the website, it wasn't the room we were given. Actually, we were given the same exact room we have had every time we had stayed here previously. At first we were told we hadn't booked the room we thought we had. When I asked the clerk to check the website, it was brought to their attention that the wrong picture was shown for our room. I explained to them that regardless of it being the wrong picture, we had booked that room plus we had called and confirmed that we had the room shown. I felt the front desk clerk was rather rude, she really didn't care and acted that way during our entire stay. The manager on duty however was great. She apologized for the mix up, immediately talked to someone standing there about fixing the picture on the website, and promised to do her best to find a different room or an upgrade for us sometime during our 5 day stay... unfortunately, this never worked out. When we arrived in our room it was equally as nice as it has always been, clean, comfortable, bright and spacious. However, our air conditioner did not work very well. We made the front desk aware of the issue and followed up on it everyday. The front desk gave us advice on how to get it to work better, but that didn't help. Maintenance looked at it, adjusted the settings, but the room never cooled to our comfort level which made for several uncomfortable nights. No one really seemed to know how to fix the problem nor did they really do anything to fix it other than play with the thermostat.

There were positive parts to our stay, too. The best part of our stay was the welcoming and friendly breakfast room attendant and the very helpful shuttle driver. I never got either of their names, but they were both great - very friendly and fun to talk to. One complaint though is that the hot breakfast choices should have more variety. Five days of round egg patties, square egg patties, link sausages, sausage patties, gets a bit boring - a little variety would have been appreciated.

This was a disappointing stay for us, especially since we used up a lot of points to stay here and in all honesty, I felt like the staff didn't care because we were staying there with points. I should add that I complained to Comfort Services about our disappointment with our stay and the hotel has given us back 2 nights worth of points, which I appreciate. Our stay was disappointing, but regardless, this is still a nice, clean, comfortable hotel where most of the staff is kind, helpful, and accommodating. I don't know if I'll stay here again, but I will still recommend it to other travelers. By the way, the dryer still takes 3 cycles to dry a load of shorts and as I write this review, the wrong picture is still on the website.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTrip4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Let me take this time to express my sincere apologies. We truly appreciate our returning guests, and want to ensure that every time was as good as the last. I hope all of our actions to make this situation right were okay for you. Please come see us again and we will be happy to put you in one of our brand new suites. We have contacted choice hotels and they are in the process of changing their website so that their pictures and descriptions match ours. Thank you for taking the time to comment and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed at the Comfort Inn and Suites for 2 nights with family of 5. Very nice hotel, quick check-in, nice staff at front desk. We had a room with 2 queen beds (and a roll-away) it was spacious and clean. Our room was directly across from the vending and ice machine and elevators so it was a little noisy at times but not enough to bother us too much. Free breakfast was great, waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, fruit, yogurt, cereal, frosted cinnamon rolls, juice, coffee etc., it was never very crowded and the staff kept the items stocked and readily available, even made waffles for you if you like. Nice swimming pool (on the small side) and hot tub. Gulches of Fun amusement park is attached to the hotel (nice bonus) kids loved it (ages 6, 9 & 17) they had bumper boats, go karts, mini golf, bouncy house, train. Pay one price for a wristband and the kids can go on the rides as many times as they like (even got a $10 off coupon per wristband from the hotel). There is also an arcade and a casino but we did not use them. This place is a nice addition to Deadwood, not much else going on for families with kids. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNSweetPea_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our family friendly resort! We pride ourselves in all of the amenities we have to offer for our families. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.9 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites
Address: 225 Cliff St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#6 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel right at home here at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Deadwood! Location, location, location; We're nestled in the center of the beautiful Black Hills and the hot spot with all the action! Make us the place to stay in Historic Deadwood, South Dakota. Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun is the nicest full-service hotel in Deadwood. With 69 deluxe rooms, each with coffee makers, hair dryers, 27" remote controlled TVs, wireless high speed internet, and more. Our deluxe suites offer a microwave and refrigerator for your convenience. If it's a pool, spa, exercise facility, or arcade for the kids that you are looking for, we have it all at the Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun and Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing