We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

After reading the reviews and previous stays at Comfort Inns, I felt confident booking this Inn. The first impression was dirty glass doors at check-in. The décor of the room was 1980s and the furniture very worn without a comfortable chair in the room. There were no sheers for privacy and light, just the black out curtains. The rest of the windows were filthy and there was trash by the exit door. The rate may have been inflated since this was the beginning of the Sturgis festivities. We had previously paid slightly less for a fantastic hotel in Sioux Falls. The linens, however, were nice and the beds comfortable. A rating of 4 minus 2 equals 3. (average.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smurfnmoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We're so sorry that your stay with us was not what you were expecting. We have looked into the issues you mentioned and are taking care of them immediately. We are in the middle of a major remodel at the hotel and will start doing rooms on first and second floor this fall. We hope you will come back and see our newly renovated and decorated rooms. Once again we are sorry for your disappointment and appreciate you taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

One of the best Comfort Inns we have stayed at. New, clean, quiet and conveniently located. You can take a trolly downtown for a $1 per person and leave you car at the motel......nice idea! Also a casino in the motel bar. for a small price there is even a fun park next door for the kids. Would definitely stay here again when in Deadwood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our Comfort Inn and Suites here in Deadwood! We appreciate the comments and were so pleased to hear your stay with us was great. Summertime in Deadwood can be fun for adults but kids as well with our fun park attached. We hope you come see us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

made our vacation a real treat. The facility was clean, had great free breakfasts and a staff that was all very friendly. The location was very convenient to downtown (we walked there all of the time during our stay ... probably 3/4 mile each way). Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We enjoyed having you here at the Comfort Inn and Suites! Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to walk the town and sight see. Deadwood is one of a kind and we are proud to have our hotel here. We hope you come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Looking for a place to stay and the Comfort inn was very nice, clean and the staff was very accommodating and helpful. The location was a bit off the main drag, but that is okay as we are traveling with family. Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burken20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are happy you found our hotel to be a great find! We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment and hope you come enjoy our rooms and breakfast again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were suppose to check into another hotel that of course he didn't check reviews, we took one look and left and found this hotel. We showed up with no reservations but they quickly found us a great room and were so very helpful. You must always check reviews because they work.

We loved this hotel. Very nice rooms and nice staff. Off the main road but not far at all from town.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your five star rating and your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear your stay with us was great and hope you decide to stay with us on your next trip through Deadwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to glacier national park for one night and I have nothing bad to say about it. Nice rooms, I think they remodeled since we were here last, and a good breakfast with many options, the lady at the breakfast place was very nice as well. Will return for a 4th time in the near future!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wewont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We can't wait to see you on your 4th trip through Deadwood! Thanks for noticing our renovations! We have renovated the breakfast room, lobby and all of third floor. We will start back up this fall, so on your next trip we should be completely done. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed in the large spacious family suite during a family vacation. Plenty of room for 4 adults and 2 pre-teens. Very clean, well maintained establishment. Family friendly gaming, arcade and amusement activity areas with go carts, miniture golf and water boats. Breakfast is the traditional "free" type fare with cereal, milk, juice, fruit, mini muffins, waffle makers and eggs with sausage. The casino staff was very attentive and friendly to those playing the electronic machines - there are no table or card games. The front desk personnel could benefit from some customer relations training. The Gulches of Fun staff were incredibly friendyly and helpful. The breakfast area manager was a very nice lady who dotted on her customers. Again though the front desk staff have no real customer service skills. The room furnishings, sofa sleeper, recliner chair, tvs, linens, towels, bed mattresses and pillows were excellent and exremely comfortable. It seems that the wasted open space in the living area of the suite could be put to better use with the installation of a kitchenette with sink vice the small refrigerator with micro wave sitting on top without cutting into the lounging area. The air conditioner was tempermental and had to be continually shut off to reset and turned back on to work, something the front desk knew about but didn't care about actually finding a fix for since they informed us it had been that way for a long time and other guests found a way to deal with it. The only real draw back is the constant noise from long idling tour buses in the parking lot next to the room windows at all hours and the inconsiderate loud visitors leaning on the room's window sills smoking and waiting to board those buses or shuttles. The hotel staff does nothing to police, or control, the ever present patrons who stop and congregate immediately outside the front hotel lobby doors to light up and converse in the area just feet from the suite's windows. It is nice to be off the beaten main drag but still within blocks of the downtown attractions. A bit on the pricey side but not out of line with other comparable hotels in the area.

Room Tip: We would recommend asking for a room away from the front lobby entrance. The rooms there are nice b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

On behalf of the staff and management of the Deadwood Comfort Inn and Suites we would like to thank you for the great review of our hotel. I would like to apologize for the unprofessional behavior you witnessed during your stay with the front desk. I would also like to thank you for bringing it to our attention so we can correct it. During your next visit to the Comfort Inn and Suites in Deadwood, I am sure you will see that we have corrected this issue. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 26 in Deadwood
590 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Address: 225 Cliff St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#6 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £43 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel right at home here at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Deadwood! Location, location, location; We're nestled in the center of the beautiful Black Hills and the hot spot with all the action! Make us the place to stay in Historic Deadwood, South Dakota. Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun is the nicest full-service hotel in Deadwood. With 69 deluxe rooms, each with coffee makers, hair dryers, 27" remote controlled TVs, wireless high speed internet, and more. Our deluxe suites offer a microwave and refrigerator for your convenience. If it's a pool, spa, exercise facility, or arcade for the kids that you are looking for, we have it all at the Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun and Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing