We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Casino in Lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Casino in Lobby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent one night in Deadwood and loved the hotel until I tried to shower in the morning. The shower head did nothing but trickle, so I basically took a sponge bath in the tub, I told the front desk and they said , they would take care of it. I can't complain because the penny slot more than paid for my room on a $10 bet. If you play use the penny machine called Blue Moon right next to the lobby door! Would probably stay here again, I am sure the shower head will be taken care of

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy1752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. Customer feedback is extremely important to us at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. We are grateful that you let us know about the shower head as soon as you did so that we could quickly correct it. We have used this incident to improve on our quality checks in keeping every aspect of our rooms in tip-top condition. Congratulations on your good fortune in our casino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    61
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
103
80
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The staff were all friendly and helpful. There is also a good casino and bar but we didn't get a chance to participate because of other plans. The morning breakfast was good. This is a good place to stay. Thanks Joe and Eileen Jorgensen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileeenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments about your stay at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. Our staff strives to anticipates the needs of all of our guests and offer them the best customer service possible. We look forward to having you stay with us again - and next time we'll be glad to introduce you to the fun we offer in our lounge and casino. Hoping to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

the staff of this hotel make it .. hit a home run i just cant get over how clean our room was and how everything at the hotel was fit for not only couples but family fun!!! but the staff made my trip .. the best ever .... see you next year ...wow

Room Tip: family friendly fun for all ages
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
We are so pleased that we met and exceeded your expectations. Deadwood Comfort Inn & suites features unique family fun all year round, with the Mickelson trail just across the street for walking, snowmobiling or cross country skiing, our outdoor miniature golf and indoor arcade and swimming pool. There is always plenty for youngsters and the young at heart to do while staying with us. Families also have easy access to downtown Deadwood using the Trolley that picks up right at our front door. We are glad you found all the treasures that The Deadwood Comfort Inn & Gulches of Fun offers. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I cannot say Thank You enough for the service and honesty of this Hotel and Staff. Not only a clean and nice Hotel but staff went beyond to help and accommodate. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone for comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your heart-felt comments about our facility and our staff. Honesty and personal attention in meeting our guests' expectations is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Deadwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, ND
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel, friendly staff, very clean rooms, a great breakfast area, great coffee which I really appreciate. The casino and bar area are worth hanging out in. It has a fun park for family's, this is a neat property with a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn. We strive to offer families activities that every one enjoys. Our staff's highest priority is to offer great service and clean rooms. And I have to agree with you that our coffee is one of the best in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had a Great time in Deadwood over Kool Deadwood Nites the end of August. The Comfort Inn and Suites was perfect! It was like a one stop shop with the Casino, Bar and all the amenities for the kids. The beds are super comfortable & the showers were perfect, which I believe are two of the most important components of a successful hotel. The price of the room was very reasonable. Cheryl Boe

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopyyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We appreciate your wonderful comments about your stay at our hotel. As a unique destination hotel, the Deadwood Comfort Inn and Suites offers fun for every member of the family.We also recognize the value of a quality bed and are pleased that this was an important feature for you as well. On behalf of the friendly staff at Deadwood Comfort Inn and Suites, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We checked in to this hotel with a tour group and our assigned room was supposed to be non smoking. Maybe the person in the room before us couldn't read because this room was disgusting with that awful smell. I went to reception who appeared to be aware of the smell but could not do anything about it until the tour leader got involved. They then offered to spray the room and change the bedclothes. I was very lucky to be able to change rooms with someone from the tour who was more tolerant to the smell, the new room was supposed to be refurbished but we could not tell the difference from the previous rooms, just that it smelt better and it was on the 3rd floor. The bar was quite nice, the casino we stayed away from, we decided to play mini golf in the amusement park attached to the hotel. It cost us $15 for one round of mini golf and that is with the 10% discount for staying at the hotel, WOW! We had a lovely time but that is the most expensive round of mini golf we have ever done, and we have played in many countries. The hotel is close enough to some nice restaurants and would be very good to stay at with kids who would enjoy a full day of bump cars etc. As for us, it was just ok.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank longtimetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Please accept our apologies with your room incident. While we strive to provide the best customer service to exceed our customers expectations, occasionally we fall short. We are grateful for the opportunity to improve. We look forward to you staying with us again on your next trip to Deadwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites
Address: 225 Cliff Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel right at home here at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Deadwood! Location, location, location; We're nestled in the center of the beautiful Black Hills and the hot spot with all the action! Make us the place to stay in Historic Deadwood, South Dakota. Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun is the nicest full-service hotel in Deadwood. With 69 deluxe rooms, each with coffee makers, hair dryers, 27" remote controlled TVs, wireless high speed internet, and more. Our deluxe suites offer a microwave and refrigerator for your convenience. If it's a pool, spa, exercise facility, or arcade for the kids that you are looking for, we have it all at the Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun and Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing