We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but.. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The staff in the arcade and gulches of fun was so so rude it was almost unbelievable. The room was very nice but honestly the staff was so rude that it sticks out more than the beautiful room. Only about half of the arcade games even worked and when we went up to get our prizes they acted annoyed. Go carts were really fun so it's a shame how rude they were.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback while you were atGulches of Fun. On behalf of the entire staff at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suties, I apologize for the poor customer service of our Fun Park staff during your stay. I sincerely regret that the service overshadowed your entire stay with us. I value your feedback and it provides us an opportunity to make corrections for the future and offer additional training for our staff.

I certainly hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and give us the chance to provide you with an extraordinary stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a bus load that spent 4 days. Each day we left at 8:30 am. The breakfast lady was so pleasant and worked hard to keep up with us and make sure we had plenty to eat. She started our day with a smile. All the staff were very pleasant. The room was comfortable and roomy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. Our staff works very hard on making every guest's stay an excellent one. We are pleased to hear they were helpful to you and your family. Having a great breakfast experience is the best way to start the day! I will be sure to share your kind comments with Donna - I know it will make her day and help your continue to realize the importance of her attention to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed during the later part in March 2014. we were getting our belongings out of our home to move to Fl. we had no water as the pipes were frozen and the City couldn't do anything until the spring. We had forgotten some or all the necessities that fortunately the Inn had a supply. The employees were very understanding as we had long packing days, had to buy tire chains to get our truck up the hill and other difficulties. Thanks to all making our stay a memorable experience..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memphismemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. Our employees try very hard to make every guest's stay a memorable one. We are glad that to have been helpful to you during your stay. Sometimes providing the little necessities that people forget can take the rough edges off of a day impacted by other challenges. We hope that everything is now working well in your home and that we will have the opportunity to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My family and I had a great time. The staff was wonderful, they all worked very hard and were always wiling to help us when we needed it. Donna the breakfast gal worked so hard to make sure all the guest's had plenty to eat in the morning as well as made sure to help those who needed it. She was always smiling and willing to help (what a great way to start our mornings). We have traveled to many places and I can honestly say that the staff at the Comfort Inn in Deadwood were the best. The room was comfortable and roomy enough for my family of four. We would for sure stay there again. Thank you all for treating us so good.

The Utah Family

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff really puts their heart into helping to make every guest's stay a memorable one. I will let Donna and the rest of them know they hit a homerun with your family.
Our hotel rooms have all been recently remodeled with new furnishings, carpet, and bedding that is so luxurious. Our other unique offering is the many things that will hold the interest of every member of the family - Gulches of Fun Family Amusement Park, (featuring bumper boats, go-karts, miniature golf and and extensive arcade), casino and lounge, indoor pool and spa, and a brand newly outfitted exercise room.
Our shuttle and trolley make it easy for our guests to get to downtown historic main street, where the rich history plays out every day with shoot out re-enactments and tours to the many sightseeing attractions.
We are so glad you had a great time, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were very pleased with the facility. Across the street was a nice little snack restaurant for sandwiches etc. We talked with Judy there and she had all of the answers to questions we asked.

The casino was not exciting as all of them in Deadwood, SD. They are all NO Smoking and the machine payouts were very small. Deadwood has changed and not for the better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briansmrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you kept busy with several of our amenities. Deadwood Comfort Inn does offer activities for the whole family. We have a Family Fun Park with go-karts, bumper boats, and miniature golf. Our arcade offes two rooms of games, prizes and fun with an adjacent snack bar. And our casino is open 24 hours with lounge service 'til 2 am. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My visiting relatives from Germany and I stayed here June 11 for one evening. Rooms were fine and service at front desk.
The morning's breakfast, especially after the night at Creekside Restaurant (which turned out to be not good at all and I've reviewed that) could be changed. The sausage links didn't quite taste right and the "faux scrambled eggs" were terrible. Not sure how those egg things are made, but they're disgusting to say the least. I would definitely take those off the table. Other items were acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pandora50p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. On behalf of the entire staff, I apologize that the breakfast did not meet your expectation. We firmly believe that the best way to start your day is with a balanced and nutritious breakfast. I will personally look into the quality of our sausage and eggs, and use your feedback as a training opportunity for improvement.

We sure hope you will give us another chance on a memorable stay the next time you are in Deadwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here one night. It is only about one mile from downtown Deadwood. The rooms were nice and clean and my kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We didn't have time to do the miniature golf or go carts but did play games in the arcade. Breakfast the next day was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10ecJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. We are pleased that you enjoyed our rooms. They have all been recently remodeled - new carpet, furniture and the bedding is so luxurious. We also think the best way to start each day is with a balanced breakfast - that is why we offer a deluxe line-up on our buffet: homemade cinnamon rolls, biscuits & gravy, and eggs and sausage.

Next time you stay with us, we hope that you will have time to turn the kids loose in our Gulches of Fun Family Fun Park. They can wear themselves out on our go-karts, bumper boats, bounce house, new Traxxus Remote Control car track and miniature golf.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Address: 225 Cliff St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £49 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel right at home here at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Deadwood! Location, location, location; We're nestled in the center of the beautiful Black Hills and the hot spot with all the action! Make us the place to stay in Historic Deadwood, South Dakota. Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun is the nicest full-service hotel in Deadwood. With 69 deluxe rooms, each with coffee makers, hair dryers, 27" remote controlled TVs, wireless high speed internet, and more. Our deluxe suites offer a microwave and refrigerator for your convenience. If it's a pool, spa, exercise facility, or arcade for the kids that you are looking for, we have it all at the Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun and Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing