We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked two rooms (adjoining) for 4 days. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We loved the friendliness of everyone. Our rooms were clean and very comfortable. The trolley into town stops twice an hour and saved us from having to drive into town. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff tries very hard to make meet the needs of every guest - so I am very happy to hear that we hit the mark with your group. One of the neat featurs of the Deadwood Comfort Inn is our location. We are a little bit away from historic Main Street and the setting is just fantastic. Our shuttle and trolley makes it so handy and convenient to see all of the sights and not have to drive and find parking. We sure hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    63
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
111
86
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent two great days here on our trip to S Dakota! The staff was wonderful from the moment we checked in. The hotel has a fun casino and lounge, and we really enjoyed chatting with the very friendly bartenders when we came in to relax after a day of sight-seeing. The rooms were very clean and attractive and included a microwave and mini-fridge, and the beds were extremely comfortable, with nice linens. The pool area was also very clean, and they have a nice hot-tub.The breakfast was quite good, very fresh, and the staff-person was a sweetheart. The location of this motel is also a plus - it is just up the hill from the bustle of old-town Deadwood, but there is a cute little trolley that runs down to the main street twice every hour, up to 1:30 am!All this and the price was very reasonable. I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the low 100's are near the breakfast area and the lounge, also close to the laundry and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. We are so pleased that you took advantage of so many of our amenities: the Gulches of Fun funpark, the casino and lounge, and our indoor swimming pool and spa. There is definately something for every member of the family to do and provide our families and guests with a memorable stay! Our rooms have all been recently remodeled: new furniture, carpet, and the bedding is soo-oo luxurious. We have actually had people who fell in love with our bedding and wanted to know where they could buy them to take home with them. We are so glad that you enjoyed our new rooms as well.

We look forward to you staying with us again the next time you are in Deadwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff was outstanding first of all! I left a personal item behind and called the hotel in a panic! They immediately went to the room, located it and put it in the office for me to pick up. That was the best part about this hotel. Sadly. The water pressure is horrible. Taking a shower in a trickle with long hair is a painstaking process. The hair dryer died and was located so that I had to stand between the toilet and sink to use it! Thank goodness I brought my own. (Again, the long hair thing!) When placing people in rooms, try not to put kiddos above couples. We heard stomping and running for half the night so sleep was not exactly a good thing. The walls are very thin, so we heard every little thing that happened in the hallway. And last, the breakfast was so-so. Hit and miss with quantity and temperature on the hot items. The breakfast room is located in a strange spot too. People have to walk through it to get to the rooms!

Room Tip: Try to stay on the top floor. It may cut down on the noise factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoMorningglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for takin time to share areas of your stay while you were with us at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. On behalf of the entire team, we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. I am checking into the water pressure issue with our maintenance staff to identify the cause of this problem. It is important for us to understand our guest's perspectives fom their stay so that we can assign rooms to guests that best meet their needs. If there are any other further specifics regarding your stay that you would like to share with me, i encourage you to contact me at 605-578-7550. We would really love to have you stay with us again so that we can provide you with a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First as a smoker, I greatly appriciate the nice outdoor smoking areas with seating. So many places make you feel like you are a terrible person just because you smoke cigarettes. Loved the staff, Donna was great. Sorry I don't know the others names but the young girl at the front desk who recently moved to the area was very nice, everyone in the casino were great. Room was quiet and comfortable. Amusement park great for kids.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes great efforts to accommodate all our guests' needs and providing our guests who smoke with comfortable and scenic smoking areas is one of our priorities. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to "play" at our Family Fun Park and enjoy a little adult entertainment in our casino and lounge. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

There are nothing but compliments for this hotel; nice staff, new rooms, good breakfast. Our only disappointment was in the policy that upcharged our room if we elected to use a debit rather than a credit card. While we reserved with a debit card, nothing was said regarding this added cost until checkin.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WiTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I am so grateful that you shared your experience at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. I want to clear up the misunderstanding on the debit card issue. We do not have an upcharge for the use of debit cards. We do like to advise our guests that if they decide to use a debit card, the bank puts a temporary authorization hold on their debit card for an amount that can range from 15% or more for a period of approximately 10 days. This is done by the bank, not by our organization, and it is a temporary hold, not a charge. We like to advise our guests of thism because sometimes, people do not have a balance that can handle this additional temporary hold by the bank. I am sure glad that you enjoyed your stay and wish we had had an opportunity to clear this up while you were with us. However, I am reviewing with our check-in staff to make sure that they are correctly explaining this "hold" on funds that is done by the bank itself. Please let me know if this "hold" is not released within 10 days and maybe there is something we can assist you with in communicating with your bank. Thanks so much and we sure hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonganoxie, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Super clean, great breakfast! The dryers suck, so either start early and plan on spending some time and quarters, or don't use the laundry. Rooms are some of the cleanest I have seen! I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TongieAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suites. Wouldn't it be great to take a vacation and not have to worry about laundry! However, that aside, I am sorry to hear that our dryers were not operating efficiently during your stay. I will have our maintenance staff look into it. Please accept our apologies for this. We hope you were able to take advantage of all the activities at our resort, like the Gulches of Fun Park, Casino, Lounge, and outdoor creekside patio. There are so many things to do in the area - we could keep a family busy taking in all the attractins for several days. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The staff in the arcade and gulches of fun was so so rude it was almost unbelievable. The room was very nice but honestly the staff was so rude that it sticks out more than the beautiful room. Only about half of the arcade games even worked and when we went up to get our prizes they acted annoyed. Go carts were really fun so it's a shame how rude they were.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback while you were atGulches of Fun. On behalf of the entire staff at the Deadwood Comfort Inn & Suties, I apologize for the poor customer service of our Fun Park staff during your stay. I sincerely regret that the service overshadowed your entire stay with us. I value your feedback and it provides us an opportunity to make corrections for the future and offer additional training for our staff.

I certainly hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and give us the chance to provide you with an extraordinary stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.5 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
2.2 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites
Address: 225 Cliff St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#6 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel right at home here at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Deadwood! Location, location, location; We're nestled in the center of the beautiful Black Hills and the hot spot with all the action! Make us the place to stay in Historic Deadwood, South Dakota. Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun is the nicest full-service hotel in Deadwood. With 69 deluxe rooms, each with coffee makers, hair dryers, 27" remote controlled TVs, wireless high speed internet, and more. Our deluxe suites offer a microwave and refrigerator for your convenience. If it's a pool, spa, exercise facility, or arcade for the kids that you are looking for, we have it all at the Comfort Inn & Suites at Gulches of Fun and Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing