We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love the Mineral Palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
St Paul
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“love the Mineral Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is the fourth year I have stayed at the Mineral Palace in Deadwood. I love staying at this place just because of where it is, so my reviews are probably generous. The rooms are clean, although, could use some new decor. The Gem resturant is always good. Most of the staff is helpful there is one rude person at the front desk who in past years I have always had at least one confrontation with, but this year even she was pleasant. The location is great for walking to other sites in Deadwood. The greatest treat is the turn-down service and wondering if you will have a cookie or a chocolate. Also can't forget the duck, after four years I think I am starting a collection.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosekej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    54
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
44
66
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

Came to Deadwood just to experience the town and history with a one-night stay. We chose this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor; we were a little iffy on it, but we chose it.

We initially thought we made a mistake when we checked in. First, as mentioned in previous reviews, parking is atrocious. But its just not this hotel; but there is no clear direction for where or how you park.

My wife went inside to check-in and see what was needed for parking. The lady was rude and unhelpful. My came back outside and had "the look" (guys, you know what I mean). She was ready to leave; thank goodness for Josh the valet! He was friendly and helpful, and redeemed our business.

The room was average, but was clean and comfortable. Good bathroom and shower! This was the first shower on our trip that I didn't almost break my neck in!

We were even more suprised when we came back after dinner, and there was turn-down service, with chocolates and a card left on the pillow.

The staff for checkout were very friendly and helpful, and apologized for the issues during check-in. I asked to speak to Diane, the manager, but she was not in yet; I did leave a comment card.

First impressions are everything, especially in this business. Luckily, the staff redeemed themselves. The casino staff were friendly, and it was very clean. Aside from parking, good location for walking everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yallaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I loved staying here and we will be back for sure! The rooms are great, the price is right, the food is great, and the casino was very nice. We really could have stayed in this establishment all weekend, but we were in Deadwood, so ya have to go sight see. The employees were great too, very nice, helpfull, and informative. We will be back!! Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or third floor room! Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern sask
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I just want to say this Restaurant/Hotel did an outstanding job to make my meal the best possible gluten free meal. Our waiter was excellent!!! Glad we stopped for lunch. Need a gluten free meal just tell the staff and they will make sure it is!! Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sask62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This being my 2nd time at the Mineral Palace, I recommend the King suite over the standard King as your have way more room. The Hotel is located on Lower Main, away from the noise of the Jam, and I prefer Lower Main for it's "character."
The rooms are modern yet the hotel maintains it's Deadwood feel and attitude. Staff are very accommodating, as long as you understand this this is S. Dakota, not Vegas.
The beds are pillow-tops.
Gambling rooms are excellent along with their excellent service.
Inside the Palace is the fine dining GEM Restaurant. The steaks are best in town.
A good value for the money in Deadwood, if you prefer a nice, modern room.

Only complaint, and it's a BIGGIE: Hotel parking is an absolute joke. It must be improved.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivebeeneverywhere55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Everyone was so friendly. Great service and great food. When I go back I will for sure be staying here and telling all my friends and family the outstanding service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina,Sask.
Level Contributor
227 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stay at the Mineral Palace once or twice a year. Love the location - on Main Street, walking distance to other casinos and shops. The trolley stops right in front. The staff is very friendly -- some have worked there for years.

We prefer to stay on the third level so there is no one above us.We have stayed on the second floor a few times and found it annoying to hear people above us pacing back and forth at all hours. The rooms facing main street are not as noisy as the rooms facing the highway/road. But you still can hear street noise and traffic. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms have large bathrooms, a digital safe, a coffeemaker and flat screen tv. Coffee, hot water and baskets with tea, hot chocolate and apple cider packets are right by the front desk. Like most places in Deadwood, the rooms are pricey.


The Mineral Palace has a large casino. The restaurant (Gem Steakhouse) serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food there is great!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jgluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for choosing the Mineral Palace as your destination hotel when you come to Deadwood. We love to hear from returning guests! Many guests do enjoy the rooms facing Historic Main Street as they have a wonderful view of downtown Deadwood. We also appreciate your mentioning the amenities in each room as all hotel rooms have been updated over the last two years. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Gem Steakhouse & Saloon – we agree, the food is great! We will be sure to share your kind words about our staff with our team too. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Deadwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming

Property: Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming
Address: 601 Historic Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mineral Palace Hotel & Gaming: Located on Deadwood's Historic Main Street. Try your luck in our 12 Casinos. Enjoy Deadwood's Best Steaks at the Gem Steakhouse & Saloon. Pamper yourself in one of our 13 VIP Suites. All 75 recently remodeled rooms have in-room safes, iron, & ironing board, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Handicapped Accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing