We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for four nights , the Sturgis Bike Rally had just finished. My wife and I rode my harley to Deadwood, and to see all the other bikes was really cool. Anyway, back to the hotel. The hotel room was large, it had nice furnishes and comfortable beds. The hotel is located at the start of the hotels on Main St. The maid service was fantastic , they would either leave us two cookies or two chocolate pieces each day. The other hotel staff were very nice as well, good job to all. The hotel also has a steak house, GEM. We did not eat there though, it is located on the second floor. The slots were loose as well, my son- in - law won almost $200 in one day, with $ 25.00.
The only negative is, there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. After a shower, you can not see your self in the mirror.
They do have covered parking, and it was great to have with all the rain there was. As other people have stated, your car and motorcycle will be safe, the staff uses the back area for a smoke and lunch breaks. Overall, just a great place to stay, I look forward to going back .

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank RUDRIDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We are excited to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us over the Sturgis Bike Week. Thank you for taking the time to comment about your enjoyable experience. On behalf of everyone at the Mineral Palace we cannot wait for your return!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had reservations in other hotel but arrived 1 day early, we booked on line at Mineral ...we paid 300 a night..the room was smelly with cigarrette and at the front desk we were told was the only room avaiable...we only got and air freshener and I couod barely sleep....at 6.30 am I was awakened by people walking on the upper floor...Noisy..room looked as needing refurnish...the bed cover erinkled....NOT breakfast at 300$ a night ...and I guess neither a smoker could stand the smell.! We moved to The Lodge at Deadwood...less price and great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginiaush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We are sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations; however, we would like to thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience at the Mineral Palace. The Gem Steakhouse and Saloon is located on the second floor of the casino; we serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Our rooms are non-smoking and smoking, we try to meet all requests of each guest. Each of the three floors can be noisy at different times; however, we will also do everything we can to meet our guest requests on specific floors. Please notify the front desk at time of booking. Thanks again for your comment and we hope you will give us another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Have been stayed here for many Sturgis rally's and the location ,parking and facilities are great. Secure parking and walking distance to main street is great for going to bars and other hotels while having you bike parked and not having to worry about riding back to the hotel after indulging....Great staff (Barry mgr. always helpful) Nice restaurant and clean big rooms with a gift basket with lots of goodies waiting each year....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hdsteve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We are excited that you had a great stay! Thank you for taking the time to comment about our facilities and staff. Glad you enjoyed the gift basket and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A great place to stay and relax. Especially commend this property for those bikers coming to the Black Hills for the August ralley. They have covered secured parking reserved for bikers.

Gem restaurant on property has good food,and excellent bar with 2nd floor patio to sit and view the parade of people and bikes.

Welcoming desk staff, and friendly maintenance and service folks give this place a good vibe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Everyone at the Mineral Palace is excited to hear that you had a wonderful time during the Bike Week. We agree; our location is great to sit and watch everything that is happening on Main Street. Thank your for your excellent comment about our services and staff. We hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

but our bathroom was dirty - and when i called the front desk about it they weren't especially sympathetic or apologetic. also, the beds and pillows here are very firm - so if that's your thing you'll be in heaven.

the one redeeming experience was the breakfast - amazing pancakes, huge fresh eggs, crispy bacon and a fantastic mimosa.

next year I'll stay at the Bullock.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lc_Coyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for your honest comments about the way our front desk handled the situation of your room. We will use this in better training for everyone at the front desk. We agree that the hotel is centrally located in Deadwood and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to prove to you our customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel is definitely accomodating for motorcyclists. They had covered and special area parking for motorcycles, with a bike washing area. The desk clerks could be more friendly. Both clerks seemed to be short and annoyed with having to wait on customers. However the rest of the staff were very friendly and accomodating. The hotel is in a great location to access the old downtown section and was clean, with comfortable rooms. The price is better than other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Does have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

It is always good to hear from our customers and we are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience at the Mineral Palace. Thank you for notifying us in regards to our desk clerks and their overall moral while helping customers. We will be sure to use this to better train our staff. Thanks again for your comment and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The staff was nice and efficient. The rooms are large, and so are the bathrooms - which is nice. The beds were comfortable. The amenities were good, bit the coffee maskin a bit difficult to work. There was some sort of a timer on it, and it took me some time to get it to work. The WIFI was free - but the network was so bad that my iPhone and iPad didn't find it in my room - just in the reception, which was a bit annoying. The location on Main street is very good, and the valet parking is free. The restaurant had wonderful food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

On behalf of everyone at the Mineral Palace, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities at our hotel. We have been working on updating our network system in order to receive better WIFI connections throughout the hotel. Thank you for your comments on our location and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming

Address: 601 Historic Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range: £39 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mineral Palace Hotel & Gaming: Located on Deadwood's Historic Main Street. Try your luck in our 12 Casinos. Enjoy Deadwood's Best Steaks at the Gem Steakhouse & Saloon. Pamper yourself in one of our 13 VIP Suites. All 75 recently remodeled rooms have in-room safes, iron, & ironing board, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Handicapped Accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing