We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photos for kids”
Review of Days of '76 Museum

Days of '76 Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$8.00*
and up
Days of '76 Museum Admission
Ranked #10 of 44 things to do in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Live re-creations of the town's rich history started in 1924 through the Days of '76 celebration and award-winning rodeo. The celebration began as a way to honor Deadwood's pioneers - the prospectors, miners, muleskinners and madams who poured into the Black Hills in 1876 to settle the gold-filled gulches of Dakota Territory. Deadwood's newest museum documents the celebration and rodeo. The Days of '76 Museum features exceptional displays of carriages, firearms, American Indian artifacts and illustrates Deadwood's enduring friendship with Buffalo Bill Cody. The Days of '76 Museum is wheelchair accessible. The Mercantile gift shop is located on the first floor.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The self guided tour was interesting and kept my kids involved with taking photos of them in the some of the exhibits. They loved seeing the carriages. The staff was extremely nice and gave them samples of old fashioned candies and gum. The gift shop was cheaper than others in deadwood for the same items.

Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodRose1892, Public Relations Manager at Days of '76 Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you, Jackie. The Days of '76 Museum staff has worked hard to make the museum family friendly. The photo opportunities for the kids has been a big hit, as well as the old-fashioned candy in the gift shop. We are glad your family enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"stage coaches"
in 9 reviews
"large collection"
in 4 reviews
"lower floor"
in 4 reviews
"native american items"
in 2 reviews
"gun collection"
in 2 reviews
"high plains"
in 2 reviews
"we spent hours"
in 2 reviews
"own pace"
in 2 reviews
"interesting items"
in 2 reviews
"gold rush"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 6 reviews
"western history"
in 5 reviews
"main floor"
in 3 reviews
"old days"
in 2 reviews
"rainy day"
in 2 reviews
"black hills"
in 7 reviews
"local history"
in 3 reviews
Filter

122 - 126 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Newer museum. Some displays of old Deadwood but most displays were about the Days of 76 rodeo and parades, All the various buggies in the basement were interesting. I'd skip this one.

Thank sdgalMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodRose1892, Public Relations Manager at Days of '76 Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to review the Days of '76 Museum. Our exhibit staff continually works to change and update the exhibits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Best thing to do in Deadwood (as far as we could tell). Top floor of museum was very good. The lower floor transportation museum had an amazing display of many wagons and carriages.

Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodRose1892, Public Relations Manager at Days of '76 Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review, Jeffrey. The Days of '76 Museum is known for its dynamic carriage and wagon collection and we're pleased you enjoyed it. This area will be in transition in 2015 as improvements are made on the horse-drawn displays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This museum isn't in the main part of town but well worth the time. We spent more than an hour and didn't see all we wanted to. Displays are interesting and nicely arranged.

Thank USAwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodRose1892, Public Relations Manager at Days of '76 Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for making time to visit the Days of '76 Museum. We appreciate your review, and we hope you choose to visit Deadwood again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lots of rodeo history and pioneer history of the area! Nice displays. Enjoyed talking to the person at front desk. Very helpful. Fee was very appropriate

Thank Okieroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodRose1892, Public Relations Manager at Days of '76 Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We are so happy to hear you especially enjoyed the carriage and stagecoach collections on the lower level of the museum. Our staff likes to talk with our guests. Thank you for visiting Deadwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Days of '76 Museum also viewed

 

Been to Days of '76 Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing