We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best private campground in the area!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Valley Campground
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here for a week while visiting the area in a toyhauler trailer, we had full hookups. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The common area garbage cans were emptied at least twice a day. The restrooms/showers were clean and well maintained. No pool, but a small playground for kids, and a stream running down the middle you could wade/play in. It is located just off the highway, but far enough away that you will not be bothered with excessive road noise. There is a gas station/convenience store about a 50 yards from the entrance, as well as a pub and grub cafe (good food, but $$ for what you got). We also explored the other campgrounds that were in the area, this one was by FAR the most family friendly and cleaner of the bunch! Not to mention not as cramped, some of the other campgrounds the sites were stacked up on each other, we were far enough away from neighbors that you could have a private conversation. We also brought a OHV and there are alot of easily accessible forest service roads in the area, my son also did some mountain biking close by. Did not have any problems with services provided. I would recommend this campground with out hesitation and would stay here again. Oh yeah, it is pet friendly, our wiener dog gives it two paws up!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank erixun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

We had no recommendations, and picked this place based on website and conversations with Karen via phone. Karen and Bob, managers of the campground know how to rock hospitality. This place is beautiful. We were in tents near the babbling brook, under lovely shade pines. As other reviewers have stated, very clean and quiet. One of our traveling partners who have been rv-ing across states said it ws the "taj mahal of camp showers"! Would definitely return here. FWIW, it is also reasonable compared to other campgrounds in the area, although returning, price would not be an issue because it is just that awesome.

The managers will deliver fire wood if you've purchased. Never would have expected that.

Our friends who had the camper were across the creek from our tent sites. Their site had a deck/swing/picnic table overlooking the creek. We could easily get to them by crossing the creek via the walking bridge through the trees. Very idyllic. Can't say enough.

Room Tip: We were in tent sites 49/50. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplecj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Bob and Karen are the best, we had vehicle trouble and they helped us out. Last year our reservations were mixed up they gave us a special campsite for 2 nites until ours opened up. We loved the cabin, very clean. We love it during the rally. Awesome place to start your ATV trail ride. Clean bathrooms, clean campsites, awesome people, we have stayed there the last 3 years and are planning to stay during the rally again this year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingoftheRoad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This campground has the cleanest shower room ever. We stayed in a back-in site that backed up to a hill covered with tall trees which provided great shade. The playground area and creek running through the campground were great. Some of the sites along the creek have patios with swinging chairs. A great campsite. Is near the highway but was quiet for sleeping at night. The hosts were great. A friend recommended this campground and we were very impressed. Was only about 5 minutes or so from Deadwood. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuadRacers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

My husband, adult son, and I stayed here last year and were very pleasantly surprised by this campground. It is super clean! We stayed in one of the camping cabins, with a TV and DVD/VCR. The bathrooms, washing areas, picnic areas, landscaping, and cabins were superb. There is a small creek running through the property. The only possible drawback is that you are not closer to Deadwood--this is out in the country, although there are several other businesses nearby. It is a very quiet, peaceful place.

Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 110kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

This "hidden place' is off of Highway 385...about 5 miles from Sturgis and all the action. Perfect for what we wanted! After a long ride to Sturgis, we wanted a place that was clean and comfortable where we could relax!!! This place fit the bill. They were very welcoming of bikers and parking was plentiful and safe.

We stayed in one of the mini-cabins - very simple and comfortable. We were surprise to find a tv with cable and DVD as well! The campground store had limited hours, but had almost anything you could need. The bathrooms and showers were spotless and spacious - never had to wait, even though the campground was full. Laundry was available and there was a small game room.

This is a nice way to enjoy the craziness of Sturgis Bike Week, but also have a safe and quiet place to retreat to at the end of the day. Next door to the place is a restaurant/bar with very limited hours...pretty much just dinner. The food sucked, but there was a band and drinks and good company there with fellow bikers...and we could drink, since we were within walking of our cabin. :)

All in all, Hidden Valley Campground is a good value for the price. Probably NOT for people who come to Sturgis to party. VERY convenient to all of the great scenic rides around the area!!!

3  Thank AimeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
6.4 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
7 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
579 reviews
5.8 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#9 of 25 in Deadwood
271 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Campground

Address: 21423 US Highway 385, Deadwood, SD 57732-7313
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Deadwood
Number of rooms: 61

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing