We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History comes alive, even in a cemetery”

Mount Moriah Cemetery
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small cemetery dating back to the time of cowboys, deputies and the old West.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“History comes alive, even in a cemetery”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had planned to spend a short time in the cemetery, and ended up spending a few hours. Of course, the main attraction is Wild Bill Hickok and Calamity Jane graves, but there is so much else to see. The Civil War fallen, the young children graves, the view of Deadwood. It was a wonderful experience and one that I won't soon forget!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    512
    172
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautiful cemetery, difficult to navigate, but beautiful and worth a tour of it. Wild Bill and Calamity Jane's graves are easy to find. You need to be able to navigate stairs and steep climbs. We took the Kevin Costner's tour to the cemetery. It was worth it as the guide gave us more information than was available in the flyer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Savannah38372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Uphill”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The history is interesting. Don't pass it up but pay close attention to the signs cause I got lost and had to turn around. Its an uphill climb in your car right thought a neighborhood so don't be so surprised when you have to go past several house. Don't just go to see wild bill and Calamity Jane look at all the other graves to take a couple of rocks or buttons to put on some of the graves to show respect. It was a breathtaking (literally) cemetery. Its uphill most of it but when you leave you get to walk downhill so it works out. I liked it but we didn't go up to Bullock's grave just cause I was tired from all the walking. Go take it in and have respect their is a small fee for the map its a dollar a person but worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkerbsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Up hill”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The cemetery is near the top of a mountain, but the view of the valley below is worth the hike. There is a lot of Deadwood history there and not just the famous figures such as Wild Bill or Calamity Jane. It shows what a diverse group of people settled and kept the town alive since 1876.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Took the bus tour to around town”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Cemetery was pretty interesting... as was the discussions of the legendary Deadwood heros. We would have liked to have gone all the way to the top to see Bullock's grave too but that turned out to be a hike not included in the tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brewbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Moriah Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Mount Moriah Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing