We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Line Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Deadwood
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
South Dakota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top of the Line Hotel!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

After staying at the Lodge I will never stay at another Deadwood Hotel again. The whole hotel is spa like! Everything about it is top of the line as far as luxury and comfort. The entire hotel is spacious and clean. The rooms are tastefully decorated, nice sized and clean. I truly felt like I was in a spa resort. We didn't eat at the restaurant but others in our party did and spoke highly of it. The casino was large and well kept, the pool area was clean and the kids had lots of fun using it. The rooms allowed very little sound in so that a good night's rest was possible, housekeeping did a wonderful job and the entire atmosphere was relaxing. We paid a little under $99 because we got a special price for our basketball team and I felt that was a steal. I would have paid more for the accommodations and not felt the least bit cheated. Wonderful place to stay! If I were going up with just my husband I would stay at the Lodge where I could go into Deadwood and enjoy the fun but then go back to the Lodge where the surroundings are quiet, beautiful and the hotel relaxing rather than the noise that I would hear staying in downtown Deadwood.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvgoofy4064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is greatly appreciated to hear feedback from our guests. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    128
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
159
186
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We began our stay on 3/24/12. The hotel is nicely decorated. Employees are friendly. The reason that I booked this hotel mainly was for the kid splash pool. I have young children and an area that appeals to the 2 yr old up to the 12 year old works very well for our family. A lot of the other hotels in the area had basic pools that my 2 year would not be able to fully enjoy. Also other hotels with waterslides drop you into deeper water so that also would not work for my younger children who cannot yet swim. The drive from here to Mount Rushmore was beautiful & peaceful. The hotel sits atop a mountain and the views are great. The rooms are comfortable and modern. I really have no complaints. We had a double queen with queen size sleeper sofa. We also had a microwave & fridge which worked out really well. We did not have to eat out for every meal as we brought food in a cooler fo home. If I planned to come to this area again, I wouldn't think twice about booking again. Also the rate was very reasonable. Do not gamble so I cannot comment on the casino, but it is smoke free and looked very well kept/clean.

Room Tip: A lot of the surrounding businesses are closed as this is the off season. Most do not open up until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Julie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
The staff and management at The Lodge At Deadwood would like to thank you for your comments. It is greatly appreciated to hear feedback from our guests. I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the only indoor water playland in the area with features like a huge whirlpool, basketball area, killer whale slide, and Lil’ squirt play features. Thank you again, and we hope to see you at the Lodge again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here March 18 & 19. After hiking, camping, 1200+ miles of driving, fast food, sandwiches we needed a place to rejuvenate. We did not have a reservation not knowing when we would arrive but had checked prices online. The hotel prices were different but they did happily match the online prices. Brittany and Sean were friendly and was able to check us in early so we could shower and relax.

Most impressive is how everyone that works here has pride in their establishment. I saw EVERYONE pitching in to straighten up, pick up glasses, help customers, AND friendly. The place was immaculent!!! A little slow on drink service but I don't think they have many working off season. I have never walked into a hotel where the rooms looked just like the photo but this one does and so very clean. Comforable beds! ALl non smoking.

The hotel/casino is spacious, not tons of tables or slots. We didn't win here but is/was a nice stay. Food was good. It was a slow time since we came off season but had a great time chatting with the locals as well. If we ever make it back to this area would definately stay again!! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Unless you plan on sitting outside, save the extra money and don't get the rooms with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanandMelania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
The staff and management at The Lodge At Deadwood would like to thank you for your comments. It is great to hear that you were able to relax and rejuvenate yourself during your visit at the Lodge. Our staff at the Lodge takes great pride in the beautiful facility and we believe it shows. Thank you again for your comments and I hope that you return to the Lodge of Deadwood in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My recent stay here came at the end of a 2500 mile road trip through Montana. I was more than ready for something other than Best Western or Holiday Inn Express, which seem to consume most of Montana. I was impressed with this hotel more than anticipated. The staff were all nice and courteous, the casino was extremely large and uncrowded; I even won enough $$ to pay for the entire week-long trip. When I booked the room, I was asked if I wanted a balcony. I got the balcony, but it wasn't worth the extra cost considering the balcony only overlooked snow removal equipment in the side parking lot. From what I could ascertain, the only reason to get a balcony was to go outside and smoke; that didn't interest me.
The room was extraordinarily comfortable and quiet and the downstairs bar served excellent food by professional staff. The one hitch I incurred the entire stay occurred requesting a table in the main dining room The place had one table, 4 adultd three kids. The hostess sat me right next to their table. The kids were running amuck and the floor surrounding the table was covered in child thrown food. Not wanting to have dinner in a McDonald's atmosphere, I asked if she could reseat me at the adjoining bar. She seemed surprised that I asked to be move
Next time I'm in this area of the country, I'll stop and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for taking your time to respond on Tripadvisor about your experience at the Lodge. We strive to make every guests experience their very best that they have ever had while on vacation. If you are every in the area again Thank you again for your comments and I hope to see you again on a return visit to The Lodge At Deadwood in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed two nights for the Mardi Gras celebration - Feb 10-11-2012. Wonderful rooms. Excellent food. Casino was fun but not real lucky for us. Plenty of parking and the shuttle will pick you up if you want to go downtown. Overall an excellent experience, and we will be back.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
The staff and management at The Lodge At Deadwood would like to thank you for your comments. It is greatly appreciated to hear feedback from our guests. Hopefully your luck will change on your next visit to the Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We're local, so we have no need to stay at this property. However, we have seen ALL the different room categories and they are very spacious, quiet, and pretty plush.

The bar is a great place for drinks and eats. Ambience is what I would call sports bar contemporary meets wood-panelled chic.

Service was attentive and polite.

My wife and I shared the Buffalo nachos made with kettle potato chips... yum. We were still hungry, so we then ordered a single order of Walleye sliders (prepared mini-hamburger style)... they were excellent!

Cocktails were reasonably priced and contained generous pours of alcohol.

Lively crowd across several demographics, everything from gaggles of greying Baby Boomers to families with young children.

We've been here a handful of time since the place opened. Food and service have always been great.

There is a more formal dining room adjacent to bar which is a little more quiet.

Plenty of free parking.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SamKephart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of all the Lodge facilities. It is a great benefit that we have ample free parking and a little bit of everything for all ages. We look forward to your return visit to the Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Rooms are beautifully decorated, staff was very helpful. The bar and grill was very busy and the staff said to just walk around and stare at people until someone gets up. Would have worked better with a hostess. Otherwise very nice!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for taking your time to respond on Tripadvisor about your experience at the Lodge. We strive to make every guests experience their very best that they have ever had while on vacation. We greatly appreciate the feedback and would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
1.4 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Deadwood

Property: The Lodge at Deadwood
Address: 100 Pine Crest Ln, Box 320, Deadwood, SD 57732-7372
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#2 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Deadwood 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Deadwood brings you some of the best lodging, dining, and casino entertainment in the Northern Black Hills! Explore the million-acre recreational playground right outside our doors. Then stay, dine, play, and experience everything this historic town has to offer. Visit us year-round in Deadwood, South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Deadwood Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing