We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Deadwood
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

On a quick trip through The Black Hills our family needed a place to stay one night. The Lodge did not dissapoint. It's beautifully decorated...like a mountain cabin. Being from Colorado I have seen my share of mountain cabin decor and this hotel had it down! Even the rooms and elevators stayed within the theme. The artwork throught the hotel was also beautiful. We only had a chance to eat dinner at the restaurant, but the food was delicious. The swimming pool/play area was crowded with young children. It's definitely not for older kids or adults wanting a quiet swim, but ideal for young families. Aside from the hotel being a bit overpriced, it was a pleasure to stay there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoCo154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is greatly appreciated to hear feedback from our guests. We look forward to having you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

We spent several days here while sightseeing. We travel some for business and several times a year for pleasure. This hotels was very clean - not just in the rooms, but also the halls, elevator and public areas. The outside area, grounds and parking lot, were impeccably clean also. We enjoyed being out of the downtown area and with the shuttle service ever hour it was convenient to get downtown if we wanted to. The food in the grille there was very good and breakfast was very reasonable.

The last night of our stay we were awaken by the fire alarm just after midnight - which can send you into a panic. We had to spend two hours outside in the parking lot as there was a malfunction in the alarm system and while there was no fire they couldn't get it off. I would say that the staff was not really well prepared for this type of situation - but I am sure they will be if it should ever happen again.

While we expected some type of discount for the inconvenience, To our surprise in the morning when we checked out they had credited the entire day on our bill, which we felt was very generous and we appreciated it very much.

The staff not only front desk, but service people around the hotel were so friendly and you could tell they take great pride in their work - which is refreshing. We will for sure stay here again.

Room Tip: I would ask to be on the 4th floor - and a room without adjoining doors (felt that we could hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stamper2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

At the Lodge at Deadwood, the staff prides themselves on making every guest’s stay the very best they have ever experienced in the hills. We offer unmatched hospitality and customer service throughout the facility. We deeply apologize about the alarms going off during you last night’s stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Deadwood and we are looking forward to you coming back and visiting us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This was our home base for 3 days while vacationing in S.W. South Dakota area. This hotel/casino complex is a few miles out of town; nicely landscaped grounds and good views of the Black Hills are a plus. The complex includes hotel, casino and two very good restaurants...all new, nicely designed, and very good service. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is greatly appreciated to hear feedback from our guests. We look forward to having you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I rarely write reviews except to complain but I have to mention the food at the restaurant here. I had the pork chop with a pear and brie crepe and fried onion stack on the top. Wow!!! What a creative chef...I still think about that meal. The next morning we ate in the restaurant again since there is no continental breakfast provided. We had oj, bowl of fruit and an enormous, delicious cinnamon roll for only $5...cannot beat that. This was a very pleasant surprise and probably the best meals we had in our 2 1/2 week trip out west. Wish I had the chance to go back :-(

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Jamie110505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is greatly appreciated to hear feedback from our guests. The Lodge at Deadwood sates its guests' appetites with first-class dining at the Deadwood Grille and Oggie's Sports Bar. Catering to both traditional and informal dining preferences, the Lodge offers the best of both for ultimate taste satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments and I hope that you return to the Lodge of Deadwood in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Very nice hotel/casino/resturants. Awesome pool area for kids and hot tub! Room was nice but had no view except the other side of the hotel. I guess that was extra!! Would have been nice if they had continental breakfast!! Even if it was something small such as coffee, juice, muffins or donughts. Breakfast had the hotel restaurant took awhile and was just ok.

Room Tip: I guess if you want a view or the balcony's some rooms have pay the extra $15 or whatever it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleeptight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for the review. Sorry we do not offer continental breakfast, but we do hope you enjoyed our two beautiful restaurants. We do offer complimentary coffee/hot chocolate/tea in our lobby as well as on the casino floor for our guest’s enjoyment. Again, thank you for being our guest and taking the time to review our facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Very clean and nice but overpriced. No breakfast or anything included...no flavored creamers. Water park nice but really for kids under 8 or so.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is greatly appreciated to hear feedback from our guests. We truly believe that we have the very best in service and product that the hills have to offer. We also feel that we are always very competitively priced with other facilities in the area. Thank you again for your comments and I hope that you return to the Lodge of Deadwood in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here Memorial Day weekend at the end of a motorcycle tour. After +1100 miles of riding the Lodge was a great place to relax, swap stories, pictures and recharge before heading home. The front desk folks (and all the staff we met) were friendly and very helpful.

Room was roomy, well appointed and clear with very comfortable beds. Wifi connection included in rate. The hotel/casino is spacious, not tons of tables or slots. We didn't gamble but it was a nice stay. Bars and restaurants on property were very good with more friendly service. Lodge is not near downtown but there is a bus available for small charge to get you there and back. Good value, plenty of parking, easy access only downside us the distance from Deadwood,

Room Tip: Ask for balcony but ground floor rooms have exits to parking lot making it easy to pack and unpack c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

The staff and management at The Lodge At Deadwood would like to thank you for your comments. It is always a quick trip to downtown Deadwood on the city trolley. It stops at the resort ever hour to take guests to any of the city attractions. We also have a free shuttle during non trolley hours to accommodate our guests at the Lodge. Thank you for the great review and we look forward to visiting with you on a return trip to the hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 25 in Deadwood
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
743 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Deadwood

Address: 100 Pine Crest Lane, Deadwood, SD 57732-7372
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#2 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £58 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Deadwood 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Deadwood brings you some of the best lodging, dining, and casino entertainment in the Northern Black Hills! Explore the million-acre recreational playground right outside our doors. Then stay, dine, play, and experience everything this historic town has to offer. Visit us year-round in Deadwood, South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lodge at Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Deadwood Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing