We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Deadwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Deadwood
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Didn't have reservations but chose this place from the Tripadvisor reviews and were really glad we picked here! Because we were there before the Memorial Day kickoff to their busy season, we got a great rate. Rooms are beautiful and the bathrooms are so nicely done! Had a fridge, coffeemaker and flat screen TV as well as nice views. Bed was very comfy and we slept great! No noise either! When we first arrived in Deadwood we debated on staying on Main Street or a little further out where the Lodge was located. So glad we chose the Lodge, it is just a really nice hotel! Plus there is a Trolley that picks up right in front of the hotel that you can ride down to main street for $1 a person so we did that and were still able to enjoy the Main Street casino's and bars. During the offseason, it only picks up once an hour at all of the places, so you just have to plan your time around that, during high season, it runs twice an hour.

Service at the hotel was excellent. We ate at Oggie's sports bar in the Lodge and the bartender was wonderful!! She was very helpful and nice! They have a great happy hour from 3 to 6pm and we had some cocktails and yummy wings before we gambled. We also ended up back there later in the evening and enjoyed a sandwich and salad and the food was excellent! Very convenient as well!

Had fun gambling, plenty of slot machines, hubby played blackjack and had a good time, very good atmosphere, nice and clean. Folk working there were very friendly as well!

Just a very nice place and would definitely stay here again! Well worth your money!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Lodge. Please keep us in mind if you are ever traveling to Deadwood again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    126
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
153
184
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This was our 1st time staying here will not be our last...rooms were beautiful nice flat screen t.v. mini fridge..coffee maker..huge makeup mirror.. in room safe. We loved our stay here and highly recommend. I can not say enough about how comfy the beds were..also room was very quiet we heard no outside noise! Staff was very friendly wish I would have got our check in lady's name.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyaW60471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beds and found them to be very comfy. We hear that a lot from our guest that stay with us often. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral Point, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stay on a wet and rain night, in the upper 40s. The beds that we stayed in was a queen, a sheet with a bed cover, no blanket, and none in the room.
Hotel/ casino, new place, just out side of Deadwood, on highway 85, on top of a hill.
The service is nice, the people are nice especially at the front dest, where we check in.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is greatly appreciated to hear feedback from our guests. I am sorry to hear that the weather wasn't better for you during your visit to Deadwood. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the Lodge at Deadwood May 14 - May 16, 2013. The room price was $71.10/night for an online reservation. We stayed here about a year or so ago. (we go to Deadwood about once a year) The room was very nice especially for that price. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable, bed linens smelled fresh and clean, a nice flat screen TV, wifi that worked well and the bathroom was spotless.

The first night we went to the casino before dinner to play a little blackjack. They had one $2 table, one $5 table, one $10 table and I think some higher denomination tables. All of the tables were empty except the $2 table and it was full with people waiting. Higher denomination tables had employees just standing there doing nothing. After about 20 minutes, one spot opened up and my husband took it. He played for about 90 minutes while I wandered around, went to the gift shop, bought a drink and then watched him play. A second spot never did open up, so we gave up and went to one of the in-house restaurants - The Deadwood Grille. (I'm not a very good blackjack player, but enjoy it occasionally. I'm sure they could have extracted $40 or so dollars from me, but instead they got nothing)

We had a great dinner experience at the Deadwood Grille last year, but not this time. There were only two other tables of guests in the entire restaurant. They seated us right next to a particularly loud one. We asked to move to a table further away from them and that really ticked off the waitress. And it just went down hill from there. Sabrina was extremely unfriendly, bordering on rude. She barely spoke to us and when she did, it was with an attitude. They have a limited wine selection. We ordered the tomato mozzarella salad. It was clearly pre-made and refrigerated ahead of time. It was so cold, I would say it was close to being frozen in the middle - not a good thing for tomatoes. It was still pretty good - they use a high quality balsamic. Less than half way through our salad, our entrees arrived, so they just sat on the side while we finished our salads. The manager wandered by, so we stopped him and told him our entrees were cold. He said it was because they had a "fast" kitchen. He took them back and warmed them up. The entrees were really good - halibut and walleye - prepared perfectly with delicious sauces. The side dishes were excellent as well. The manager gave us comment cards to fill out to report the rude waitress and instructed us to take them to the hostess desk, but Sabrina was the only person at the hostess stand, so we returned them to the manager. He did not seem empowered to do or say anything. It was quite disappointing to spend $80+ and receive bad service, plus it was my birthday.

Needless to say the next night we went into Deadwood for gambling and food. We ate at the Deadwood Social Club. We had a fantastic meal with great service. It was a very busy - lots of customers. The tiramisu was fantastic - even better than the ones we had in Italy. They have an extensive wine list and are quite knowledgeable and very friendly. They also have a separate wine and martini bar.

We found many $2 blackjack tables in downtown Deadwood casinos.

We also usually eat at Jakes, but it was not open yet. Jakes never disappoints. You really should try it when you are in Deadwood.

We may stay at the Lodge next time, but we will definitely eat and gamble downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking your time to respond on Tripadvisor about your experience at the Lodge. We feel that we always have room for improvement and we thank you for letting us know. I believe next time you stay with us you will see a vast improvement in the service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were site seeing through the Dakota's and tried to stay at The Lodge at Deadwood. Unfortunately they were sold out.
We came back the next day to gamble, drink, and eat. We were very happy with the way we treated. The waitress at the bar went above and beyond to help us with our next site seeing tour. The cocktail waitress were coming around the machines frequently asking if they could get us anything (Sadly I was driving and limited to one drink). We spent over five hours in this establishment and don't have one complaint. I
hope next time I go to Deadwood I make my reservations in advance so I get the chance to stay at the hotel.

Julie

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maesweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
The Lodge At Deadwood would like to thank you for your comments. We strive to maintain the highest level of satisfaction, and appreciate your kind response to our efforts. We very much hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I spent three days and two nights at this property. The view of the South Dakota countryside was BEAUTIFUL. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The bed was VERY comfortable and the bathroom was large. This may sound petty but the shower was great. Water pressure, shower head were outstanding and just what I needed to wake up.

The conference center was very nice. The audio visual set up was state of the art. The room conditions and chairs were very comfortable. The refreshments provided for attendees was excellent and the coffee was as good as any boutique barista could make.

The lounge, restaurant and wait staff were attentive without being intrusive and the menu was very good. The food was excellent and the portions were generous.

Although this was a business trip, I would definitely take family and friends there.

Room Tip: Meal at the bar was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John3692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the conference that was held at the Lodge. We hope to see you back at the Lodge for a vacation in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is a great place to great away. Everything was handled professionally and friendly right from the moment you walked in the door. Our rooms were great and the food was excellent. I would highly recommend this stop on every bodies list when you are in the deadwood area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinceen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! The staff and management at the Lodge truly believe the only way to measure our success is to hear directly from our guests. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.2 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Deadwood

Property: The Lodge at Deadwood
Address: 100 Pine Crest Lane, Box 320, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#2 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Deadwood 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Deadwood Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing