We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and Busy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodge at Deadwood
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Deadwood is bustling with Casinos,The Lodge is large ,busy and well worth a visit.Only a few minutes from town,the bars and gambling area are great.We did not stay here but it is in a wonderful location,and we would definitely stay here on our next visit.The lunch we had at"Oggies Sports Bar" was one of the best we have had in town.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank otanghunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to here that you enjoyed our facility. I hope that the next time you visit the Black Hills that you will think about staying at the Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My parents and I went on a short road trip to see Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse memorials, and chose to stay at the Lodge at Deadwood for a couple of nights - it was great! We booked a two-bed bedroom and expected just the bare essentials...we got a pleasant surprise...a two-bed suite. The room was so comfortable, we spent a great deal of our afternoons just lounging...felt right at home. The casino was fun...a decent selection of slots and table games...the poker room offered a very comfortable atmosphere. All the staff throughout the Lodge were very friendly and accommodating.

The real highlight of our stay was the Deadwood Grille - OMG!! The food was incredible! My favorite main courses were the whiskey sirloin and the chicken & shrimp fettuccini...I know they sound plain and ordinary, but this was a case where simple was spectacular...y'all have to try them for yourself to see what I mean. And the prices were a steal...entrée came with appetizer and bread, and the appetizers were amazing...very flavorful and refreshing. The staff at the Deadwood Grille haven't just set the bar high for the other restaurants in the area, they've thrown it out of reach!

The Lodge At Deadwood, as far as I'm concerned, is the only place to stay when visiting the area. Thank you so much for your hospitality - my folks and I hope to visit again soon :)

Room Tip: No room tip necessary :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. It is great to hear that you and your parents enjoyed your stay at the Lodge. We hope to have you and the family as a guest again on your next visit to Deadwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Lodge was good with the exception of dealing with the front desk and reservation staff.

When I called to reserve the room the front desk said they couldn't help me and I ended up booking through Booking.com.

We had problems with the A/C not working which created confusion with the front desk. At one point they just hung up on us when speaking with them.

The cleaning staff and service at the bar were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Naie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I apologize for the A/C not working and not receive the very best in service that you received during the rest of your visit. I assure you that we have addressed the issue and we hope to see you back at the Lodge during your next visit to the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Awesome!! Arrived on a Sunday was promptly greeted by Jimbo at the front desk. My husband is 1-1/2 years post transplant for leukemia and I had mentioned this was our first trip back to South Dakota in 4 years. Not only did they upgrade us upon making the reservations but Jim brought us a complimentary bottle of wine. We stayed in rm 301 and it was very spacious with a living area, full kitchen, outside balcony, and a huge bathroom with walk-in shower, jacuzzi tub and double sinks. I enjoyed my morning workout in their gym room which was very clean and had a nice variety of machines. Smoke-free casino was fun and waitresses were awesome and came around often. Especially enjoyed a young woman named Miracle. Ate late dinner at Oggies and food was great and inexpensive. Had the chili and half sandwich and the grilled chicken salad which was huge. Bought a shirt from the gift shop and had young lady hold it for me before casino. Got back and she had closed but opened door so that I could pick it up. Also ate dinner at the grill and had a spectacular whiskey sirloin and an outstanding Australian waiter. The hotel is located a short distance from the Main Street but it was an easy drive and we easily found available parking. The hotel does have a shuttle into town that runs frequently. Due to some unforeseen health issues we had to leave a day early and expected we would have to pay for the night. We were pleasantly surprised when we were informed that we would not be charged for the remaining night.

Room Tip: I had looked at previous ratings and for a view, the 3rd and 4th floor king suites have a very prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mszinger57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. We work hard to achieve a welcoming and enjoyable environment at The Lodge at Deadwood and do everything possible to provide services and accommodations that exceed our guest’s expectations. We look forward to seeing you at the Lodge again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is very beautiful, decorated like a mountain lodge- it IS in Mount Roosevelt. The room was spotless, long and narrow, with two queen beds and a pull out sofa bed. Bathroom is small, sink/counter outside of the bathroom. Fridge and microwave and flat screen tv. Pool is good for small kids, but not very deep, so my teenagers weren't thrilled. Hot tub was working fine when we were there. Room service was convenient, and the waitress that brought it up was very pleasant. Casino was clean, waitresses were attentive with drinks- but the slots were extremely tight. No one I spoke with (even several folks on an afternoon bus tour) won any money (not even a little bit) so that was disappointing. The hotel is outside of the main area of Deadwood, can't walk downtown, but a trolley travels each hour on the :05 to pick people up and drop people off downtown($1 charge per person- can't pass that up!)
The gift shop was nice, had necessities and some cute clothing.
Overall it was a good experience. For the room rate (which was quite steep) I think there should have been some credit in the restaurant/ free breakfast/ something as an incentive. Probably would not stay there again, due to the high rate of the room vs. what I received for the money (Didn't have much of a view even though we were on a mountain top...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review of the Deadwood Lodge. I am sorry you did not have very good luck in the casino during your visit. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you on a return visit to the Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good value and if u like amenities, this is the newest hotel in the area....only complaint was hot tub didnt work and for old people on bikes, well, we need the hot tub to work lol. Would have liked to have gotten some compensation for that, even a free breakfast,,, as it was one of the things we asked about when we booked out 2 nights but otherwise, it was very nice.

Room Tip: if u want downtown deadwood dont do this one...otherwise great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hiplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. I apologize the hot tub was not operational during your visit. It gets a lot of use and we drain it from time to time to maintain the quality of the water. Hopefully we will see you at the Lodge for the 75th Sturgis Rally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed for one night. Room was very clean and spacious. We are not typically gamblers, but found we really enjoyed the casino roulette table! Large casino! Lovely hotel, would stay there again and for sure, the best in deadwood! We enjoyed dinner at the grille/ bar. Couldn't ask for a better stay, except maybe a small breakfast to be included.....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review of our facility on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge. We hope to have you as a guest again on your next visit to Deadwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
735 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 25 in Deadwood
268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Deadwood

Address: 100 Pine Crest Lane, Deadwood, SD 57732-7372
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#2 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £59 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Deadwood 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Deadwood brings you some of the best lodging, dining, and casino entertainment in the Northern Black Hills! Explore the million-acre recreational playground right outside our doors. Then stay, dine, play, and experience everything this historic town has to offer. Visit us year-round in Deadwood, South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lodge at Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Deadwood Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing