We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fish 'n Fry Campground
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was our first visit to South Dakota, when we pulled into the fish n fry, we received a very friendly greeting from the owner, and showed promptly to our campsite, (#40 or 41). We were right up against a hillside and we were able to park on an angle which gave us some extra privacy and lots of room.
The sites on our side were nice, level grass sites with all of the expected hookups, we did not have sewer hookup, which wasn't an issue for us. Some of the other sites on that side does have sewer as well.
The area is well cared for, there is a stream running through the grounds with 2 bridges which provides a tranquil, natural atmosphere as opposed to the "parking lot" feel you get at many campsites.
The bathrooms were a bit dated, but kept very clean. I didn't use the showers, (mostly because I forgot to bring quarters and then decided just to shower in the rv instead) it was only 25 cents for 7 minutes or something like that, nothing really.
The fishing pond is small and shallow, and have lots of rainbow trout, not a challenge to catch fish by any stretch, but entertaining just the same. We had them cook and prepare ours, very tasty meal, and $34 for both of us including 2 beer, we thought was quite reasonable.
All of the staff were extremely helpful in pointing out things to do in the deadwood and surrounding area during our stay.
Wi-fi was about $1 a day, and a bit slow in the evenings when I'm certain it was getting a lot of use, but we were there to get away, not surf the net.
Cost for the site was also quite reasonable, about $32/day, much less than the site we stayed at in yellowstone and much nicer atmosphere.
All in all, a very pleasant experience and we recommend this site to anyone in staying in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. It's important to us that our guests have a wonderful vacation experience, and we are always happy to help! Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

I camped at Fish n Fry with my family in June, 2012. The campground is centrally located with good access to local sites. It was very clean and well maintained. The owners and staff were very freindly and helpful from the fishing for the kids to suggestions for things to do in the Hills. You can tell they love the area. The kids played in the pool (which is not too deep and was very clean) and had a great tine catching their first trout. We had a fun and relaxing family vacation, and we felt like family when we were there. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We loved meeting your group, and if you left feeling like part of the Fish 'N Fry family, then we met our goal! Please come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Everything this place lists on their website is either NOT accurate or and out and out lie.
I have never been to a camp ground that you have to pay by the minute to take showers and pay by the day for wifi. The fishing is not free either. You pay to fish, you pay to have it cooked and you pay to eat it. We caught two fish and paid around 40 dollars for our meal. I feel sorry for people who bring a family to this place they will pay a fortune. The fishing is a joke, it’s a 10x20 ditch filled with trout. You could catch them with a net.
The pool is also in very poor condition and has a nice green tint to it.
The bathrooms were terrible, dirty, cramped and in need of repair.
The campground is super tiny they stack one site on top of another. It’s also right next to a busy highway, so you get to enjoy road traffic noise all night.
Needless to say we left this dump two days early with no refund.
Anyone who gives this place a good review does not have a lot of experience with nice campgrounds. The Mountain View in Sundance and the Horse Thief in Hill City put this place to shame.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank russ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are sorry that you did not have a good experience here. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction. The showers do cost 25 cents for 7 minutes as a way to conserve water. You will find many campgrounds locally and in parks that also charge. When you fish with us, you are catching the entree for your meal in the restaurant (or you can take it to go). It's the same as ordering a fish dinner anywhere, except you get to experience the thrill of the catch too. The swimming pool is cleaned daily and is tested by the State of South Dakota Department of Health weekly and has never failed. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, and we sincerely hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Our large family camp out reunion was held in Deadwood at this campground. We made reservations months ahead to accommodate our large group. The location is beautiful with room for tents and RV's as well as cabins to rent. This campground is close to the Pub n' Grub restaurant, Trevino's leather shop, a convenience store, within and hour of Pactola Lake and 30 minutes from downtown Deadwood. WE can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank palenakamikale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your vacation.....and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! It is beautiful out here in the Black Hills and we hope that you will find time to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed stayed at Fish and Fry campground again this year. It was wonderful and we cannot wait to return again next year. We camped here during the Sturgis Bike Rally and chose to stay here for many reasons: location, location, location, cleanliness, friendly, helpful owners and staff, on site restaurant and store, lots of shade, spacious sites, babbling stream running through the campgrounds, etc., etc. We do not like the constant noise and commotion of the Chip and Glencoe but yet like to be around the bikers so this is a perfect place for us. It is mainly bikers during the Rally but other times of the year it has to be wonderful also. There is an outdoor pool and trout fishing in a pond. If you like the cook will prepare your fish you catch for dinner! We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Iambonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

And we can't wait to see you again! The Sturgis Rally is a fun time here in the Hills and we meet the neatest people then. Safe travels and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
5.1 mi away
Whistler Gulch Campground & RV Park
6.1 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
6.7 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 25 in Deadwood
269 reviews
6.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish 'n Fry Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish 'n Fry Campground

Address: 21390 US Highway 385, Deadwood, SD 57732-7312
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Deadwood
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly campground and cafe' providing RV sites, Tent sites, Camping Cabins and Full Service Cabins. Trout fishing on site. Close to ATV trails, casinos, golf and hiking. Full service cafe' and fee fishing is open to the public. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing