We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in the Black Hills”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fish 'n Fry Campground
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for a month at the Fish N Fry and had a wonderful time!! During our stay we had family and friends visit, they loved it also. Met many nice people we hope to stay in contact with. Michele and Gary are FANTASTIC hosts, make you feel right at home. Camp workers were great, friendly and always helpful. We just LOVED it and plan to visit again. The camp is a great location for 'home' base while touring the Black Hills. Great clean facility.

Room Tip: We were in our 5th wheel. Didn't stay in a cabin, but the cabins are very attractive/cute!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we enjoyed meeting you even more! We are looking forward to your next stay here at Fish N Fry, and until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Fish 'n Fry Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our kids & grandkids stayed here. Great for younger families. We loved the friendly atmosphere, place for firepit, lovely little stream with a couple bridges. My grandkids loved to walk up and down & wade in the stream, a great quiet place to sit and drink coffee in the morning. The pool was so clean & nice for younger children, and they had a small playground. Easy access to trails for 4-wheeler riding. Across the highway was a clean gas station/quick stop, and good restaurant. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stopped here as a last minute stop on our way home from Yellowstone. We wished we could've stayed longer!! The owners are extremely friendly and helpful!! The grounds are clean, well kept, and decorated with a fun rustic flair! A great place to stay when visiting the Deadwood area!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chervRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

It was our pleasure and we are glad to have met you.....I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and that you can return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here in May of 2013 for a few days while driving across the country. We arrived in Deadwood area in the pouring rain and cold. We were so excited to stay at the Fish 'n Fry because of the fishing pond, pool and location close to Deadwood. Although it rained the ENTIRE time we had an excellent stay! Upon arrival, a staff member helped guide my husband into our lot so I didn't have to get out in the rain! And when we had a mini flood in our trailor, he came running over with a bucket of rags to help clean up. They even let my two little girls fish in the rain!! They caught their first fish here! It was very memorable! If we didn't live across the country from this campground it would be a regular place we would go!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BinMcKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We wish that you lived closer so we could see you more often! I hope you are able to get back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was our first visit to South Dakota, when we pulled into the fish n fry, we received a very friendly greeting from the owner, and showed promptly to our campsite, (#40 or 41). We were right up against a hillside and we were able to park on an angle which gave us some extra privacy and lots of room.
The sites on our side were nice, level grass sites with all of the expected hookups, we did not have sewer hookup, which wasn't an issue for us. Some of the other sites on that side does have sewer as well.
The area is well cared for, there is a stream running through the grounds with 2 bridges which provides a tranquil, natural atmosphere as opposed to the "parking lot" feel you get at many campsites.
The bathrooms were a bit dated, but kept very clean. I didn't use the showers, (mostly because I forgot to bring quarters and then decided just to shower in the rv instead) it was only 25 cents for 7 minutes or something like that, nothing really.
The fishing pond is small and shallow, and have lots of rainbow trout, not a challenge to catch fish by any stretch, but entertaining just the same. We had them cook and prepare ours, very tasty meal, and $34 for both of us including 2 beer, we thought was quite reasonable.
All of the staff were extremely helpful in pointing out things to do in the deadwood and surrounding area during our stay.
Wi-fi was about $1 a day, and a bit slow in the evenings when I'm certain it was getting a lot of use, but we were there to get away, not surf the net.
Cost for the site was also quite reasonable, about $32/day, much less than the site we stayed at in yellowstone and much nicer atmosphere.
All in all, a very pleasant experience and we recommend this site to anyone in staying in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. It's important to us that our guests have a wonderful vacation experience, and we are always happy to help! Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I camped at Fish n Fry with my family in June, 2012. The campground is centrally located with good access to local sites. It was very clean and well maintained. The owners and staff were very freindly and helpful from the fishing for the kids to suggestions for things to do in the Hills. You can tell they love the area. The kids played in the pool (which is not too deep and was very clean) and had a great tine catching their first trout. We had a fun and relaxing family vacation, and we felt like family when we were there. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We loved meeting your group, and if you left feeling like part of the Fish 'N Fry family, then we met our goal! Please come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Everything this place lists on their website is either NOT accurate or and out and out lie.
I have never been to a camp ground that you have to pay by the minute to take showers and pay by the day for wifi. The fishing is not free either. You pay to fish, you pay to have it cooked and you pay to eat it. We caught two fish and paid around 40 dollars for our meal. I feel sorry for people who bring a family to this place they will pay a fortune. The fishing is a joke, it’s a 10x20 ditch filled with trout. You could catch them with a net.
The pool is also in very poor condition and has a nice green tint to it.
The bathrooms were terrible, dirty, cramped and in need of repair.
The campground is super tiny they stack one site on top of another. It’s also right next to a busy highway, so you get to enjoy road traffic noise all night.
Needless to say we left this dump two days early with no refund.
Anyone who gives this place a good review does not have a lot of experience with nice campgrounds. The Mountain View in Sundance and the Horse Thief in Hill City put this place to shame.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank russ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele S, Owner at Fish 'n Fry Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

We are sorry that you did not have a good experience here. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction. The showers do cost 25 cents for 7 minutes as a way to conserve water. You will find many campgrounds locally and in parks that also charge. When you fish with us, you are catching the entree for your meal in the restaurant (or you can take it to go). It's the same as ordering a fish dinner anywhere, except you get to experience the thrill of the catch too. The swimming pool is cleaned daily and is tested by the State of South Dakota Department of Health weekly and has never failed. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, and we sincerely hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deadwood
6.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
6.7 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
561 reviews
5.7 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
261 reviews
5.1 mi away
Whistler Gulch Campground & RV Park
11.0 mi away
Days End Campground
Days End Campground
#3 of 13 in Sturgis
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish 'n Fry Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish 'n Fry Campground

Address: 21390 US Highway 385, Deadwood, SD 57732-7312
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Deadwood
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly campground and cafe' providing RV sites, Tent sites, Camping Cabins and Full Service Cabins. Trout fishing on site. Close to ATV trails, casinos, golf and hiking. Full service cafe' and fee fishing is open to the public. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing