We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms! Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My boyfriend and I travel to Deadwood every summer. We try to stay somewhere different each time. Hickock's by far had the best room, anemities, location, view of downtown, and price of all the hotels. Minor downsides were that they advertise free souvenir slippers, but we did not get any. Upon request, they stated they ran out. Also, there is no parking at the hotel, but the ramp is centrally located in Deadwood, just a few blocks away. Great pizza as well!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

After looking through the choices in Deadwood, I decided on this hotel for our stay over "Deadweird" weekend (Halloween). We arrived on Friday evening, and stayed until Sunday checkout. The hotel was absolutely lovely, with the old west oozing from every corner. Very clean rooms, huge bathroom with jetted tub, and a most comfortable bed. The room included a fridge and a microwave, as well as normal amenities such as a coffee maker, hair dryer, etc. The room also provided bathrobe's for use during the stay, and slippers for guests to keep. Hickok's is located catty-corner to the Franklin where everything was happening on Saturday night. It's an amazing place and we will definitely be staying there any time we go to Deadwood!

Room Tip: They have suites with sitting areas that would be nice for relaxing, and some face Main Street which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Found by accident, but will use this hotel every time we return! The suites are large, clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. The location is perfect for walking around town yet quiet at night!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We chose the Hickok based on other reviews for our trip to So. Dakota. This was the best hotel of our trip! Great room, super bed, friendly employees, great location. Muffins and coffee for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazz426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Located on the south end of things on the main drag, 2 blocks from the new Deadwood Mountain Grand. Complimentary inside parking 2 blocks away. Huge rooms! Clean and nicely appointed. Will go back next time. Price was reasonable for the location. Close to everything. Take a walk off the main drag and explore some hidden treasurers for snacks, coffee and meals. There's an old gas station turned into a little coffee shop/collectors show case just a few blocks south east of Hickoks. Really cool place for morning coffee and a roll or muffin!

Room Tip: Some have a whirlpool tub in the bathroom,ask if you like. Ours had a sky lite above it as we were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We couldn't believe our dumb luck! Trying to get a room in Deadwood on the 4th of July?? My husband and I have been to Deadwood lots of times but this time we were on our way home from Montana with my sister. We wanted to save some $ by sharing a room and found Hickok's Hotel. We got an actual 2 room suite with a fire place (not really needed in July) and a huge bathroom. The price was pretty reasonable when split. And the decor was very nice, too. The bed and pillows were great. Our only complaint was parking. There is no on-sight parking. You have to park in the city municipal parking ramp. But the rental car was safe and secure. I would like to say we'll stay again, but we seem to find better deals elsewhere in the spring and fall. But you never know!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TerriStJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I had checked the photos of the place online, but for the price over Thanksgiving weekend..I doubted it would be as presented on the web. Well, I was wrong. Cheaper than a Super 8, but quality room like a upper class Bed and Breakfast. The decor of the room was right out of the old time westerns. It looked like a wealthy cattle baron's bedroom. The nice part was the bathroom, complete with whirlpool, beautiful tile floors, and marble counters. The bar downstairs, and the pizza they served were fantastic as well. Not a lot of slot machines, but they even had two card tables...which was surprising.

Room Tip: Book online, to get the best deal, and choose what your room look like, and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#15 of 25 in Deadwood
377 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#2 of 25 in Deadwood
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 25 in Deadwood
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickok's Hotel & Gaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickok's Hotel & Gaming

Address: 685 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £48 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hickok's Hotel & Gaming 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickok's Hotel and Gaming is centrally located in the Black Hills National Park and is within easy driving distance to Rapid City, Mount Rushmore, Devils Tower, The Mammoth Site, and is located on Historic Deadwood Main Street. The property is within easy walking distance to almost all of Deadwood's activities and attractions. Guests will enjoy the casino in addition to free wireless internet, and meeting room space is available. The hotel bar features beer, wine, and cocktails along with award winning hand made pizza. Well equipped rooms and suites offer a multitude of room configurations. All rooms have a microwave, mini-fridge, in-room safes, iron and boards and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hickok's Hotel & Gaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickok`s Hotel And Gaming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing