We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place service needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place service needs improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is beautifully restored, clean and very well located. However, there is no free breakfast, which it indicated on trip advisor, thier wifi is very poor. We were told that for the iPhone you couldnt get wifi. Parking is free but it is 3 blocks away. Cindandy Alberta

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    29
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
51
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just got back from a 3-night stay at Hickok's - what a joy. It's my 3rd time there, and having stayed at other Deadwood hotels, I know Hickok's will always be my first choice. VERY clean, great bathrooms, beds and linens are very good quality. Rooms are very nicely updated. No breakfast (not a big deal to me), but parking is included, and if you know Deadwood, you know that parking is important. Parking structure is a couple of blocks away, but a good loading zone right outside the hotel lobby door makes it okay. The hotel location couldn't be better - right on the main street. Don't quite understand the comment about the hotel staff - I also met the desk clerk who obviously has smoked a few in her time but I don't consider that my business since she's not doing it at the desk - and she was VERY friendly and helpful. Had good control of the room temp. Only complaint is the same one I have for most hotels with nice linens - the pillows are too fat!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lainey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Thought this place would be fun--booked a VERY expensive suite the weekend before the 4th and just got back. I spoke with a man on the 800 number to book.
The man turned out to be a heavy smoking older front desk attendant woman who, like the entire staff, appeared to have come to the area for the Sturgis motorcycle rally and never left.
She was friendly in her way, but completely clueless about services at the hotel or even how to use the computer program to check in/out.
She led me on goose chases a couple of times for amenities that weren't available.
I had read on other sites that muffins were available with coffee and other breakfast items. Wrong.
Just some gas station coffee in styrofoam cups and nothing else.
Hotel itself is nice enough, but one of the staffmembers told me the place is under new ownership that is cutting back everything--THIS PLACE IS WAAAY OVERPRICED!!
The staff seemed like most of the folks in the area--biker types.
Nothing against bikers, I'm sure they're good people in their way, but this wasn't the atmosphere I had been led to believe Deadwood and this hotel had.
Most of the people in Deadwood vistors, residents, etc. were all of the same mold---tending to the biker lifestyle, heavily tattooed and constantly smoking.
Unless you've got a penchant for slot machines, cigarettes and Harleys, I'd stay away from this hotel and from Deadwood.

Room Tip: My suite was OK, but waaay overpriced---look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Clean, quiet, unique rooms, friendly staff (tho apparently they are short-staffed with the front desk person also covering the casino bank which made for a bit of a wait both arriving and leaving.), and conveniently located. No breakfast, but coffee available and just a short walk to the Bullock Hotel where we had a wonderful, very reasonably priced breakfast. Parking was in a ramp (free), also a short walk, but no problem using the loading zone right outside the hotel entrance. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdnoseWarmheart39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights in early June 2012. The hotel is right on historic Main Street. Most things to do and see are within easy walking distance. We had a queen room and it was very, very nice.. Very comfortable bed and the staff are all friendly folk. And the rates are great. If we have a chance to return to Deadwood we will definately stay and the Hickok.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is all non-smoking and we caught NO hint of smoke there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have stayed in over 10 hotels in Deadwood, and Hickock's is the best! The rooms are unique and have an Old West charm but are updated. The beds are super comfortable, and most rooms have jacuzzi tubs. The location is perfect - right on main street. My only wish is that the hotel had a continental breakfast or more food options besides pizza. Overall a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackHillsBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The rooms have to be seen to be believed.......
Price is excellent.
Perhaps a bit disarganized as to reception ( I had to go into the casino to contact anyone at checkin and had to return the keycards to the bar person!!) but It has character in bucketloads
Free parking at nearby multi-story car park

Room Tip: Best rooms anywhere each bed is in a seperate room and the beds are HUGE really clean and just ooze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nairb356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#15 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickok's Hotel & Gaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickok's Hotel & Gaming

Property: Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Address: 685 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#11 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hickok's Hotel & Gaming 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickok's Hotel and Gaming is centrally located in the Black Hills National Park and is within driving distance to Rapid City, Ellsworth Air Force Base, The Mammoth Site, and located on Historic Deadwood Main Street, is within walking distance to numerous casinos. Guests will enjoy the casino in addition to free wireless internet, and meeting room space is available. Well equipped rooms offer a choice of one king bed or two extra long full beds, microwave, mini-fridge, in-room safes, iron and boards and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hickok's Hotel & Gaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickok`s Hotel And Gaming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing