We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST WAIT STAFF :)”

Lee Street Station Cafe
Ranked #9 of 56 Restaurants in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST WAIT STAFF :)”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Tammy and Deon....the best! We ate breakfast here every morning and the food was fabulous and the wait staff was the best! Thanks for taking care of us :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Zee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    91
    34
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richland Center, WI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We keep coming back again and again!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We come to Deadwood for an extended stay a couple times every year and this is our favorite place to eat, hands down. Whether it's breakfast, lunch or dinner, we just always find ourselves back here, rather than any of the other restaurants in Deadwood. (When TripAdvisor makes you select why you were here - breakfast, dinner, drinks, etc..., they need to add the option "All of the above"!) The food is so delicious - generous portions and so reasonably priced, but we enjoy the people here most of all. Tami and Janine are so fun! If they can't get you to smile and laugh, then I don't think anyone can. The breakfast burrito with green chile sauce is still my favorite and the pancakes are enormous.

We're so glad they're open for dinner on the weekends, and really hope that can be expanded to include weeknights too. The bacon-wrapped tenderloin steak dinner was fabulous and Carl made sure it was done perfectly as ordered - medium rare for me and medium for my husband. I believe it was $9.99 - how can you beat that?? We had this same dinner several nights because it was just so delicious.

We love to sit outside on their patio, either to eat or just have a few drinks with friends. It's certainly an ideal location for everyone to gather and you're guaranteed to meet new friends here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank #17fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platteville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and energetic staff with amazing food!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This café provides everything from a hearty breakfast to a perfectly cooked steak for dinner! Everything is fresh and homemade. The orange juice is even freshly squeezed! The environment is fun and the staff has always been amazing to us. This is no fast food place where you can expect processed food out of a box or bag in 30 seconds. You can also relax and eat out on the patio which has large umbrellas at the tables. The wait staff and cooks both keep you entertained and taken care of here! I would highly recommend this place to those looking for amazing homemade meals and great service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food Was Good...”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I thought our food was good and our waitress was very kind. We just weren't all that impressed with the actual environment. It was kind of one of those deals where you wonder how clean everything really is.

Helpful?
3 Thank Chdeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Lee Street Station Cafe, responded to this review, 29 January 2015
We are probably the cleanest restaurant in Deadwood, always getting the highest ranking by the Health Department. In the middle of summer, after being open since 7 am, there may be some surface dirt on the floors from all the hundreds of people we serve each day, but I can guarantee that the tables from which you eat have been bleached between each group and our food is prepared under the strictest standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed - suggest travelers go elsewhere”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We went here based on pretty good reviews on Trip Advisor. I was pretty grossed out. The place doesn't look clean. Our server was very nice but service was really slow (could be the kitchen, not her). My dinner salad consisted of nasty-looking dried up bagged lettuce, a few bits of OK tomato and one ring of raw onion. Got the filet mignon special and my meat wasn't cooked as ordered and the garlic bread was cold. The restaurant is next to a casino. My husband asked where the restroom was for the restaurant and was told that their restroom wasn't very nice and to use the one at the casino. (They are a restaurant and they don't want people to go into their restroom because it's too gross? So how clean is their kitchen?) Travelers, I'd recommend giving this place a pass.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Owner at Lee Street Station Cafe, responded to this review, 29 January 2015
I think you may have misunderstood our waitress when she explained that we have two restrooms with 4 stalls each within a few steps of the restaurant. They are both in the casino areas, giving you a choice, all under one roof. They are also extremely clean and very nice.

We are also very proud of our $9.99 filet mignon special which includes a baked potato, sour cream and butter, garlic bread and a salad of romaine and spring mix. We are sorry if it did not meet your expectations on the day you visited us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lee Street Station Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing