We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adams Museum

Adams Museum
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Adams Museum is the Black Hills’ oldest history museum. In 1930 pioneer businessman W.E. Adams founded the Adams Museum in downtown Deadwood with the purpose of preserving and displaying the history of the Black Hills. The Adams Museum is home to some of the Black Hills’ greatest treasures including Potato Creek Johnny’s gold nugget, beloved American illustrator N.C. Wyeth’s pencil sketch drawing of Western legend Wild Bill Hickok, the mysterious Thoen Stone record of the Ezra Kind party’s discovery of gold in the Hills in the 1830s and a one-of-a-kind plesiosaur (marine reptile). In addition to exhibits on all three levels, the Adams General Store is located on the main floor.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Informing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Enjoyed the educational part of the tour and it was only for a donation and the person that told you a little about the Adams house was very informal

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 562Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodRose1892, Public Relations Manager at Adams Museum, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are glad to read you found your visit to the Adams Museum informing. We hope to engage our visitors with a variety of exhibits on the history of Deadwood and the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    161
    32
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So-so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I'm a history teacher so that might color my view a bit. The museum is clean, well marked, well lit... But even as a history lover I found it really boring :( I believe more focus on gambling, prostitution, etc... Would have added a bit more excitement to the place?? Just sayin' I wouldn't go back and you could kick it out in 30 minutes easily so if you have time to kill...

Helpful?
2 Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodRose1892, Public Relations Manager at Adams Museum, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are sorry to read your review about the Adams Museum being so-so. Our exhibit staff has been discussing adding more information about the history of gambling and how gaming proceeds work in Deadwood and throughout the state of South Dakota. Currently our Risky Business exhibit hosts the history of prostitution and gaming in Deadwood. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
170 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It may look small but it has impact!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

WOW! The Adams Museum looks and is, small in size, but it really has a multitude of artifacts. You can get a tour but it really was fun to look at my own pace and then ask questions. The exhibits are numbered and beside the exhibit displays are what each are/ represents. You will be fascinated with all this small museum has to offer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jannfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodRose1892, Public Relations Manager at Adams Museum, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Adams Museum. Yes, it is small in size, and we are happy you enjoyed all the artifacts and stories in the museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panora, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deadwood history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great history of Deadwood, interesting memorobilia of the area in the late 1800s. The ethnic diversity was kind of surprising in that day. Life must have been pretty rough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodRose1892, Public Relations Manager at Adams Museum, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Adams Museum. Life was very rough in the early years of Deadwood, and ethnically diverse. I found that interesting myself when I began working for the museums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Minnesota
Level Contributor
152 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for the whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Fun we got to see the gold nugget that potato creek Johnny found which was good. We have been here before and will more than likely go back again and again. Its a nice place to visit plus you get to step back in time. Great for all ages.

Helpful?
Thank Jodi56257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodRose1892, Public Relations Manager at Adams Museum, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Adams Museum. Especially your kind words about the museum being family friendly. It's good to read you enjoyed seeing Potato Creek Johnny's gold nugget. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adams Museum also viewed

 

Been to Adams Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing