We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very moving”

Tatanka: Story of the Bison
Ranked #6 of 38 things to do in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Battle Creek Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very moving”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This museum is very well done. Created by Kevin Costner after he starred in Dances With Wolves. There is a short informative film and the bronze sculptures out in the field were incredible. Highly recommend. Reasonable price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NitaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    71
    23
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Kevin Costner, great job and love the story, We need MORE!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

You need to see if you are into Mountain views, Indians, Buffalo and even Kevin Costner. He did a wonderful job and all I can say is....WE WANT MORE!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cordale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conifer, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Wow. Some of the most amazing group of sculptures I have ever seen. They start you off with about a 20 minute video on some of the history of the Lakota people & Kevin Costner providing some background information on the movie Dances With Wolves. It also talks about the making of these statues which is pretty amazing in itself. The showroom had interesting history as well however I was a little disappointed that the big buffalo in the showroom was covered up with a clear tarp :( We were also very lucky to speak with Billy, a gentleman from the Lakota tribe. He made the experience even more fantastic with his stories. If you get the opportunity to speak with him you definitely should. If you are interested in the history of the Lakota people, learning more about buffalo & loved Dances With Wolves this is a must see attraction for you!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AK1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC Metro
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Small, but very good”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place was very neat. Lots of great information on the relationship between the Native Americans and the bison. Gift shop had unique items, especially books.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank soonerj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Give it a quick trip, it's cool to look at.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It's just up the hill from Deadwood or on your way to Spearfish if you're in the area. It does have a fee, I think it was $7 for me and $5 for my 8 y.o. Inside, are all the costumes from Dances with Wolves, a little history museum, a short 15 minute film, snack shop and gift store. Then take a walk outside to see the statues. less than an hour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tatanka: Story of the Bison also viewed

 

Been to Tatanka: Story of the Bison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing