We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Way too expensive”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night 7/2/2011. Granted it was over the 4th of July weekend, but they charged $199.99 + tax for 1 night!! That was outrageous. I tried to use my Priority Club points for the stay; however for the first time I was told that I wasn't able to use my points because while they don't have "blackout" dates for points, they only allow so many rooms to be booked with points. I wanted to stay another night, but there was no way I was going to pay that much again.

I stay in these hotels almost every night of the year because of my job. In comparison, this hotel was nice, but it still wasn't worth that price. It has a great location but the street in front of the hotel is under construction. The clerk at the front desk told us to park on the side to check in and take our luggage into the room. We did as instructed and when we came out we had received a parking ticket. The hotel did offer to pay the ticket; however it was a hassle I didn't need.

The hotel was clean and has a cute design. I was on the 4th floor and when I opened the window for fresh air there was no screen.. It is difficult to explain but the window opens from the floor and opens up enough that a child could have easily fallen out that window down onto the street. This is definately something the hotel should consider fixing.

Overall, I would stay here again but I would never pay this price for this hotel again. It was insane.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyssak11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    95
    42
    24
    15
See reviews for
88
123
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Wanted to stay in walking distance to the casinos and Main St. This hotel is right in the midst of all the casinos as well as having one in the hotel (which is not noisy to the rooms). The other downtown hotels we checked either do not have parking or charge for parking. Parking here is free but it is in the public parking garage that they give you a pass to use--a short block away. Check in first and get your card to park. We ate in town and didn't move our car until we checked out.
The hotel itself was very nice for a Main St. hotel--comfortable, quiet and clean. The desk staff was pleasant and helpful and the breakfast good. Would stay here again if I go to Deadwood!
If you're lucky, maybe you can catch Yancey de Veer singing with his guitar across the street at the open restaurant. Very good entertainment while you dine. Bought his double CD and was very pleased (he sounds like Willy Nelson).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaStateTravelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The location of this place is right on main street. The parking isnt that great because you have to park in a parking ramp two blocks away but it is free. The wi-Fi is great. Clean beds, good breakfast, great beds, friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed here in April and had surprisingly great weather all week. The location was great for the area and the hotel offered a great Gamblers Package that was $79/night. That included breakfast for 2, dinner for 2, and $10 to gamble. Hotel was very clean and the staff were so helpful. The breakfast area was well staffed and the food was hot. I loved the pancake maker!! I would come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freckles2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

First parking is a problem - there was no signs to tell you what to do with your car as there are no parking signs along the street. You have to drop your luggage off and park you car in the parking structure down the street 2blks. Our room (301) overlooked the hallway, next to the ice machine & coke machine. The light coming in from the window shade did not block out the light in our small room. The noise from the ice machine and the coke machine went on all night, although the manager tried to compensate us the next mroning when we complained. If you have allergies, you might want to ask them not to spraythe room when cleaning. They did have alot of towels, but the breakfast was so so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highwaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a terrific hotel in Deadwood. You are right in the middle of the main street where most all the casinos and eating establishments are. You can walk to most any casino, so if you'd like to indulge in some "spirits" no driving needed. Hotel was very clean pool was nice. The staff was very accommodating. We stayed in a suite which had great views of the Black Hills and the people down below. Very comfortable beds and bedding. Would highly recommend if making a trip to Deadwood!! Great little continental breakfast also.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kotababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The Best of the Best!! My Husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn, and gambled at the Gold Dust for 3 days. The Best of the Best at both places! The food was great I had the buffet and my husband ordered a steak off the menu and he loved it so much the next three days he ordered the STEAK!! I loved the HUGE crab legs. They had so much variety to choose from you can order off the menu or have the buffet. We suggest you try them both. Everything was wonderful and the staff was all so pleasant. We can't wait to go there again. Our next vacation is going to be a replay at the Gold Dust and Holiday Inn in Deadwood, South Dakota!

Room Tip: All rooms are right on Main Street!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alva038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Address: 22 Lee St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deadwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Deadwood-Gold Dust Casino brings you the hottest action, the best location, and the coolest digs in Historic Deadwood. Our luxury hotel is literally the centerpiece of Deadwood's Historic Main Street, just steps from the famous Gold Dust Casino, where you'll find South Dakota's own Mavericks Steaks & Cocktails (featuring the best in steaks, ribs and pasta), plenty of exciting action at the blackjack tables, and the hottest slots in town. If you're planning a banquet, reception or business conference, we're ready to accommodate you with first class facilities and catering by Mavericks. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, hardboiled eggs, make your own pancakes, biscuits & gravy, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Deadwood, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Holiday Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing