We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Run Down Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location, Run Down Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

For location you could not ask for better... of course Deadwood has several hotels with good locations. We used points for the stay so the value could not be beat, but if I were a paying customer I might be looking elsewhere for my nights stay. The room itself was not bad and the beds provided a good nights rest, however the common areas needed some work. Primarily the carpeting the the hallways was threadbare and coming up in places. The staff was adequate and the breakfast was HI Express quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear CTParks,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We are pleased our location suited you well. I am sorry our property did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate your comments and these will shared with our management team to reconsider improvements needed. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    90
    41
    22
    13
See reviews for
82
116
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We had decided to get a suite over Thanksgiving and was very disappointed with the quality of this hotel. The suite itself is very dated and not very clean. The carpet in the hallway is coming up from the floor and has bubbles all over it just waiting for an accident. My son actually woke up the next morning with a set of falsh eyelashes on his cheek. How gross!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hofhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Deadwood is a great hotel for those that want to be in the middle of the historic buildings nad casinos. This hotel, unlike some others in downtown was built new. It is not a remodled historic building. As with most Holiday Inn Express's you will get a great breakfast to start your day. This hotel is pet friendly and is one of the few Deadwood hotels with an indoor pool. We stayed in the off season on a Wednesday night for 65.00 plus tax.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeriStarTransport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

It was a very nice location and very clean hotel. Hot tub broken for part of our stay which was annoying. the casino is small with only one blackjack table. the service was slow in the casino with the bartender working both the cashier counter and bartending.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cklizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This property has some very good points. They include a very nice staff and a fabulous location, right in the middle of everyting in Deadwood. Now to the bad. Although we were on a bus tour, we managed to upgrade to a suite, partially in order to get the TV out of the bedroom. Guess where the TV is? In the bed area instead of the nice, but small sitting area. The staff agreed with me that this is not a good arrangement. The property has 78 units on four floors - serviced by one very slow elevator. Try this when a bus load checks in. I don't think this property could be opened in very many places in the country. The windows looked out...into the back part of the hall, not outside. The stairs were at the opposite end of the hall. What happens in case of a fire? Think about it. Then there is the breakfast area. The pictures really do not do it justice. It is small and very cramped. If somebody is making toast, the entire end of the breakfast bar is blocked. The variety was, however, quite good with scrambled eggs, hot biscuits, hot sweet rolls, hot ham and sausage gravy along with the usual cereals, etc. The pancake machine (see my pictures) was useless, however. Even when it 'worked', which it did not very often the three mornings I was there, it put out burnt crumbs in large quantities and often a torn up something came out instead of a pancake. Get rid of that thing and install a couple of do-it-yourself waffle makers. The room was very clean and spacious, with not a hint of smoke.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flutepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Deadwood so you can park the car and walk almost everywhere. The rooms were clean and well appointed. I didn't like the fact that our window faced the lobby - but we didn't spend that much time in the room anyway so no big deal (there wasn't any noise coming from the lobby). The breakfast was fine - we like to "grab-and-go". The pool wasn't anything special but it was fine - we were the only people taking a swim before dinner. The staff was very friendly and helpful finding restaurants, etc. I would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Specifiy if you want a room with an outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenT7224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I called to confirm my reservation they informed me they had two reservations for me and it was too late to cancel one that I would be charged for two I stated I had NOT booked two rooms it was just my husband and I he said there was nothing he could do... called the hotel the manager said she had one reservation for me no apologies nothing

At the hotel they put us in a handicap room the door we did not request one! the was open when we arrived the heat was on 80 the toliet seat was loose told the front desk three days in a row never was fixed I told the manager she could have cared less about any of it! I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Myra B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am deeply sorry for the overall issues you had during your stay. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Deadwood, SD.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Address: 22 Lee St, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deadwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Deadwood-Gold Dust Casino brings you the hottest action, the best location, and the coolest digs in Historic Deadwood. Our luxury hotel is literally the centerpiece of Deadwood's Historic Main Street, just steps from the famous Gold Dust Casino, where you'll find South Dakota's own Mavericks Steaks & Cocktails (featuring the best in steaks, ribs and pasta), plenty of exciting action at the blackjack tables, and the hottest slots in town. If you're planning a banquet, reception or business conference, we're ready to accommodate you with first class facilities and catering by Mavericks. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, hardboiled eggs, make your own pancakes, biscuits & gravy, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Deadwood, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Holiday Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing