We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in December”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Deadwood during December is a quiet place. We stayed here two nights for a day of snowmobiling while traveling from Custer to Billings. This Holiday Inn has a good location right on the corner of Lee Street and Main. They offer free parking in a nearby garage. After checking out the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking, I knew to ask for an interior room on an upper floor. We had adjoining rooms on the third floor which were spacious and clean. The front desk staff were very helpful in recommending great places to eat and even provided us with menus. A hot breakfast was served each morning in the lobby consisting of biscuits and gravy, eggs and sausage, hot cinnamon buns, muffins, pancakes, etc, Of course, everywhere you go in Deadwood has a casino, but in this hotel the slots are in a separate part of the hotel; unlike other places where slot machines line the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank famtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed at the HI Express in Deadwood and have many times...either the drains in the tub did not work...nice to stand in dirty water, then the hotel ran out of towles (this is what we were told...it is in the middle of town and easy to walk to many venues, but the staff was asked to provide an extra set of towels because of the previous days issue and upon return to the room we found a do not disturb tag in the key slot and entered the room to find sheets taken off of the bed and once again no towels. When confronting the front desk we were told the houskeeping staff had all went home and nothing could be done till the next day. We then asked to have them move us and was told they couldn't because of the managers policy not to move guests for small things like towels. We then asked to have a manager come see our room and was told the manager was not avaialable. We then asked to check out and was told that we would be billed for the time that we had reserved even if we didn't stay the length of time we booked for the rooms....totally unsatisfied and I know that coming home from Afghanistan on my R&R this was the bad choice of the time home...oh yeah, breakfast was nice and the lady preparing it was friendly...otherwise this would have been a totally unsatisfactory visit...no one from the Holiday Inn corporation ever contacted me about this visit and my comments.

Room Tip: no value when problems were pointed out and no one made even the appearance of wanting to make it ri...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

I apologize you we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. It is our policy to make sure every guest enjoys their time and I am saddened that we did not give you that. I will be talking to the staff and working on ways to improve service. Please email me at deadwoodhie@gmail.com so I can get a few more details from you. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have to agree on bad staff and -0- management. We were placed in a room where windows open to the lobby. No light at all in room. Everyone in hotel can see directly into your space if you lift a shade. We did not go near the "buffet". We asked for a move but were told none were available. (hotel was empty)
No hot water for showers or baths. It can get very chilly! My husband stays at a Holiday Inn Express at least 2 times a month. We were treated as last choice rather than preferred guests. We moved to the Holiday Inn Resort Mountain Grand which was fantastic! Night and Day!
That was the whole trip to Deadwood. People were either outstanding or rude, walking dead!

Room Tip: Stay at the Mountain Grand
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Kat5409,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation on customer service, shower experience and the lighting which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel during October 5 years in a row for a week each time. Staff and management were horribly rude and incompetent. They'd apparently taken their positions under the mistaken impression they were going to work in a prison, not a hotel. I observed numerous customers treated disrespectfully with an inexcusable condescending attitude over the years. Despite my loyalty to the Priority Club program and my status, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kinsey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Kinsey S,

I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations while staying at our hotel. We pride ourselves on our over the top customer service and I'm not sure why you did not feel the same. I would like to talk to you personally so we can learn what we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable and improve from your feedback. You can reach me at 605-578-3330.

Sincerely,
Amber Diers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

In mid-2012, we started staying at Holiday Inns & members of that Hotel Group. By and large, we are VERY satisfied!

Overall, the Holiday Inn Express in Deadwood is good; pretty clean, pretty quiet, pretty good breakfast spread. The prices go WAAAAAAY up during the "Black Hills Motorcycle Classic" rally ("Sturgis"), but all hotels in the area do.

When we stayed there, the hotel had no laundry facilities. None. No laundromat in the entire town of Deadwood. None. While we were there, the place was getting a bit of a facelift, and major renovations were in the works.

The Staff was very professional and friendly. So, pack a lot of clean clothes, and call the hotel before you click on "BOOK NOW". It's a good hotel in a great location, and they are truly trying to up their game.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, the Staff can tell you about the current renovations, amenities, and even s...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Jeff S,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.


Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

my husband and I spent 5 days at the holiday inn sd. What a wonderful experience the staff was great, the room was wonderful. ( we stayed in the king Jacuzzi suite a little more expensive, but so worth it and very relaxing.) The breakfast was good and filling not fancy but just what you need to start the day. It is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a relaxing time with your spouse get a sweet and just enjoy each other
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here about 3 years ago and it was good, and it still is. It is pretty much front and center of all the shopping, restaurants and casinos. If you are familiar with the Holiday Inn Express chain, then you know what to expect. It is extremely clean and comfortable. Good breakfast and best of all the atrium is connected to a casino. Indoor pool and hot tub is icing on the cake. Don't hesitate, it's an HI Express.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank digger-ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Address: 22 Lee St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#12 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £64 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deadwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Deadwood-Gold Dust Casino brings you the hottest action, the best location, and the coolest digs in Historic Deadwood. Our luxury hotel is literally the centerpiece of Deadwood's Historic Main Street, just steps from the famous Gold Dust Casino, where you'll find South Dakota's own Mavericks Steaks & Cocktails (featuring the best in steaks, ribs and pasta), plenty of exciting action at the blackjack tables, and the hottest slots in town. If you're planning a banquet, reception or business conference, we're ready to accommodate you with first class facilities and catering by Mavericks. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, hardboiled eggs, make your own pancakes, biscuits & gravy, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Deadwood, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Holiday Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing