We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average hotel, great location”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We chose this hotel for it's central location in Deadwood. The location was probably the best thing this hotel had going for it. Parking for this hotel is in a parking area a few blocks away and loading, unloading is done in a narrow street in front of the hotel. It's a little inconvenient if you are the only one checking in or if you have a lot of items with you. The main lobby also includes serves as the breakfast area. The morning that we checked out, we went downstairs to have breakfast only to find that nearly everything was depleted and it took so long to be restocked, we ended up leaving and having breakfast elsewhere. The pancake machine was empty, egg and sausage pans sat empty waiting to be replaced and even the milk/yogurt cooler was bare. While the rooms were decent, the noise between rooms and the lackluster furnishings left something to be desired. The towels in our room were thin and we didn't have any shampoo or conditioner. The hotel has a pool (which we didn't use) but during our stay, we saw several bathing suit clad individuals walking through the lobby to the elevator. We thought the price for our room was fair, but taking into consideration the fact that we couldn't take advantage of the complimentary breakfast, the value didn't seem that great. Overall, it was a decent hotel with a few issues but if you're looking for a branded hotel in Deadwood with a great centralized location to the casinos/bars, this hotel is it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete your recent review of our property. I know parking is hard to find in Deadwood. We can sure help you with your luggage next time you are here, just ask at check in and we will be glad to help. I have talked to the breakfast bar attendent and they are working on having more food stocked when we get a big rush at breakfast to combat the issue from happening again. Thanks again for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    95
    42
    24
    15
See reviews for
88
123
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of the gambling/night life in Deadwood. It worked great for a girls night in Deadwood! Hotel was clean. Room was clean. Our room had a window to the hallway...that was about the only bummer, really. The "courtyard" is a little strange and the continental breakfast was very lacking, not good at all. Overall it worked for us!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Deadwood during December is a quiet place. We stayed here two nights for a day of snowmobiling while traveling from Custer to Billings. This Holiday Inn has a good location right on the corner of Lee Street and Main. They offer free parking in a nearby garage. After checking out the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking, I knew to ask for an interior room on an upper floor. We had adjoining rooms on the third floor which were spacious and clean. The front desk staff were very helpful in recommending great places to eat and even provided us with menus. A hot breakfast was served each morning in the lobby consisting of biscuits and gravy, eggs and sausage, hot cinnamon buns, muffins, pancakes, etc, Of course, everywhere you go in Deadwood has a casino, but in this hotel the slots are in a separate part of the hotel; unlike other places where slot machines line the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagram, Afghanistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed at the HI Express in Deadwood and have many times...either the drains in the tub did not work...nice to stand in dirty water, then the hotel ran out of towles (this is what we were told...it is in the middle of town and easy to walk to many venues, but the staff was asked to provide an extra set of towels because of the previous days issue and upon return to the room we found a do not disturb tag in the key slot and entered the room to find sheets taken off of the bed and once again no towels. When confronting the front desk we were told the houskeeping staff had all went home and nothing could be done till the next day. We then asked to have them move us and was told they couldn't because of the managers policy not to move guests for small things like towels. We then asked to have a manager come see our room and was told the manager was not avaialable. We then asked to check out and was told that we would be billed for the time that we had reserved even if we didn't stay the length of time we booked for the rooms....totally unsatisfied and I know that coming home from Afghanistan on my R&R this was the bad choice of the time home...oh yeah, breakfast was nice and the lady preparing it was friendly...otherwise this would have been a totally unsatisfactory visit...no one from the Holiday Inn corporation ever contacted me about this visit and my comments.

Room Tip: no value when problems were pointed out and no one made even the appearance of wanting to make it ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I apologize you we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. It is our policy to make sure every guest enjoys their time and I am saddened that we did not give you that. I will be talking to the staff and working on ways to improve service. Please email me at deadwoodhie@gmail.com so I can get a few more details from you. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have to agree on bad staff and -0- management. We were placed in a room where windows open to the lobby. No light at all in room. Everyone in hotel can see directly into your space if you lift a shade. We did not go near the "buffet". We asked for a move but were told none were available. (hotel was empty)
No hot water for showers or baths. It can get very chilly! My husband stays at a Holiday Inn Express at least 2 times a month. We were treated as last choice rather than preferred guests. We moved to the Holiday Inn Resort Mountain Grand which was fantastic! Night and Day!
That was the whole trip to Deadwood. People were either outstanding or rude, walking dead!

Room Tip: Stay at the Mountain Grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Kat5409,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation on customer service, shower experience and the lighting which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel during October 5 years in a row for a week each time. Staff and management were horribly rude and incompetent. They'd apparently taken their positions under the mistaken impression they were going to work in a prison, not a hotel. I observed numerous customers treated disrespectfully with an inexcusable condescending attitude over the years. Despite my loyalty to the Priority Club program and my status, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinsey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Kinsey S,

I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations while staying at our hotel. We pride ourselves on our over the top customer service and I'm not sure why you did not feel the same. I would like to talk to you personally so we can learn what we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable and improve from your feedback. You can reach me at 605-578-3330.

Sincerely,
Amber Diers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

In mid-2012, we started staying at Holiday Inns & members of that Hotel Group. By and large, we are VERY satisfied!

Overall, the Holiday Inn Express in Deadwood is good; pretty clean, pretty quiet, pretty good breakfast spread. The prices go WAAAAAAY up during the "Black Hills Motorcycle Classic" rally ("Sturgis"), but all hotels in the area do.

When we stayed there, the hotel had no laundry facilities. None. No laundromat in the entire town of Deadwood. None. While we were there, the place was getting a bit of a facelift, and major renovations were in the works.

The Staff was very professional and friendly. So, pack a lot of clean clothes, and call the hotel before you click on "BOOK NOW". It's a good hotel in a great location, and they are truly trying to up their game.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, the Staff can tell you about the current renovations, amenities, and even s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Jeff S,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.


Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Address: 22 Lee St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deadwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Deadwood-Gold Dust Casino brings you the hottest action, the best location, and the coolest digs in Historic Deadwood. Our luxury hotel is literally the centerpiece of Deadwood's Historic Main Street, just steps from the famous Gold Dust Casino, where you'll find South Dakota's own Mavericks Steaks & Cocktails (featuring the best in steaks, ribs and pasta), plenty of exciting action at the blackjack tables, and the hottest slots in town. If you're planning a banquet, reception or business conference, we're ready to accommodate you with first class facilities and catering by Mavericks. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, hardboiled eggs, make your own pancakes, biscuits & gravy, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Deadwood, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Holiday Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing