We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Rooms were large and clean. Location was central in the downtown area, easy walking to casino' and restaurants. The only negative is parking. You have to use the city parking garage, but it is only a short block away and once we were parked, we didn't need our vehicle again until check-out. Would stay again. Lots of breakfast options.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emmcadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

The positive things that I experienced with this hotel is that it is near everything and it was quiet at night. The room was comfortable. Breakfast was so-so. The bath products provided were very nice.

Unfortunately, there were also a few negative experiences. Waiting on the elevator took a long time and I never found the stairs. I asked for a wake up call the two mornings of my stay. On the first morning, I did not get a call. The next morning the call was 15 minutes earlier than I had requested. I cleaned hairs out of the room's shower when I arrived.

The people in shops in town were so nice but when I asked the bartender in the casino attached to the hotel a quick directional question about the casino, that could have been answered in one or two sentences, she treated me like an interrupting child because a group of customers had just arrived before me. But I was also a paying customer of the hotel, and as noted, the question I asked could have been answered very quickly without taking time away from her work. Little rude experiences like that take away from a hotel stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 57513Steph12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeadwoodHIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

I'm glad your room was comfortable and you were able to relax! However, the other parts of your stay are not satisfactory on our part. I will be working on ways to improve the issues you had. I have also talked to the Casino General Manager about the service you received so they can improve also. Thanks again for your feedback, we hope you will come stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

While downtown Deadwood has several hotel options, most are aging and not particularly appealing. The Holiday Inn, with its recent renovations, located in an historical building is a great find. The comfort of the Holiday Inn chain and the charm of Old Deadwood rolled into one. So glad that we found it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for a week and slept great every night! The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us feel comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast, the staff works hard to keep everything full and HOT. Being on main street Deadwood, its a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lobby side if you are there during late July - early August and you wake easil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Sits in the perfect place right in the middle of city. Breakfast was was stocked and typical. Room was very clean and comfy although was not ready two hours after check in time. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Turtle2571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place just needs to try a bit harder, nothing spectacular nor horrible. But for 200 bucks on a Sunday. Should get better. Plus my room window was to the front desk in the lobby. Gym typical. Older gear. Holiday inn express should mandate better gym gear for all there regulars. Very inconsistent. Marriott chains do that much better

Room Tip: Get outside facing rooms. Not ones that face the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngryBirdMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear AngryBirdMSP,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was really good. Loved the pancake machine, need one of those at home. A nice lady continually brought out fresh foods. The parking was not convenient but we managed (that's why I only gave it a four) Staff was very friendly, gave a great recommendation for dinner!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 25 in Deadwood
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Address: 22 Lee St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#12 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £51 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deadwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Deadwood-Gold Dust Casino brings you the hottest action, the best location, and the coolest digs in Historic Deadwood. Our luxury hotel is literally the centerpiece of Deadwood's Historic Main Street, just steps from the famous Gold Dust Casino, where you'll find South Dakota's own Mavericks Steaks & Cocktails (featuring the best in steaks, ribs and pasta), plenty of exciting action at the blackjack tables, and the hottest slots in town. If you're planning a banquet, reception or business conference, we're ready to accommodate you with first class facilities and catering by Mavericks. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, hardboiled eggs, make your own pancakes, biscuits & gravy, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Deadwood, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Holiday Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing