We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place and the service of the staff is comparison to a 5 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Beresford, South Dakota
1 review
“Beautiful Place and the service of the staff is comparison to a 5 star hotel!”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Great place..Great Staff.. Great food! We booked for a quick getaway twice more this year.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room looking out over Deadwood and the Black Hills. How beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mybucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    129
    32
    15
    15
See reviews for
117
215
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. A beautiful facility. The suites have a great layout. It's a treat to have a balcony to sit and sip a drink while overlooking Deadwood. Also while we were there some hailstorms had hit the area. It was nice to have piece of mind concerning our car in the covered garage. We ate at the restaurant once and thought it was okay but it didn't compare to Oggies at the Deadwood Lodge in either quality of food or ambiance. The staff for the most part was great. Jerry one of the valets, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The desk clerks were very friendly. The only exception was a bartender in the casino who was talking with two female customers and not taking drink orders from the only other two at the bar (us!) My husband and I stood there, moved closer, spoke louder than normal to one another and finally my husband said, 'excuse me can we get a drink.' Half looking over his shoulder his response was, 'Yeah, I'll be with you in a minute.' Nice! Some of the improvements could be an iron in the rooms and an extra blanket in the closet and a few more hangers, a pen and pad and a booklet with hotel information including menu's. Also be warned that when you stay here you park in the garage, unload your luggage, walk down a path to the casino, walk through the casino and take an elevator up to the lobby then take a different elevator to your room. Coming and going gets a little old after doing this several times, especially if once you nearly get to your car and realize you forgot something and know the journey you have to make back and forth to your room. We have stayed in Deadwood eleven times since 2004 and if we return I think we'll go back to the Deadwood Lodge. Conventioners and couples seem to be on equal ground there. We got the feeling conventioners had their rooms ready on check in as well as their rooms cleaned before everyone else at the Grand. Also the restaurants at the Lodge can't be beat as well as the easy access parking. I don't think you can go wrong staying at either of these fine hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie60363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
First of all, thank you for your honest, candid feedback. With it, we are able to improve our operation and intend to address your concerns. We're glad to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay. Nevertheless, we, of course, share your disappointment in the customer service you received in the bar and plan to address those issues. As for the specifics you mentioned for hotel room improvements, believe it or not, those suggestions are currently in the works! Having been open less than one month, we continue to perfect our offerings and encourage you to stay with us again the next time you're in Deadwood. Both your business and your helpful suggestions are invaluable to us. We are grateful for both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Beautiful hotel, very clean, elegant rooms. The restaurant food was exceptionally well, cooked perfectly to order. Highly recommend staying here, the staff was also friendly and helpful. (TIP: Fill out the breakfast order, and place it on your door the night before, breakfast is served when you wake up...wonderful!)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellyCluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Couldn't have asked for anything else. Well, maybe a trashcan in the bathroom, but everything else was absolutely fantastic. Staff was great, prices were great, breakfast was AWESOME, the bed and the ammenities were perfect. I would highly highly recommend the Mountain Grand.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likethedirection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breckenridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We just spent April 20 - April 22 at the Deadwood Mountain Grand and our hotel room was perfect. The hotel staff were fantastic. The rooms are very high quality of finish. Our experience exceeded our expectations. Staying downtown was a bonus.

Room Tip: Try to book room 415 or one of the suites on the top floor. Super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel the second week it was open. The rooms are well appointed and they spared no expense in comfort. The negative was their trash cans and ice buckets hadn't arrived yet but they were very accomodating and found us an alternative to use. The hotel is part of their casino so they have plenty areas to gamble and it is within walking distance to downtown Deadwood. You have to walk through the casino and take an elevator to the hotel lobbby and then another elevator to your room. This makes for a lot of walking and may not be ideal for older folks that can't or don't like to walk alot. The lobby has three regular "desks" rather than one large front desk which makes for a more personal check-in. The staff was very accomodating and the beds are very comfortable. Hotel only has 98 rooms so best to book in advance. Will definatley make this our Deadwood lodging establishment.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fdr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you so much for such a positive review and your feedback so we can improve. Of course, it makes us ecstatic to hear you will choose us for future trips to Deadwood. The walk through the casino to the elvator of the hotel can seem a bit lengthy, but in the future please let one of our bellhop's carry your luggage and park your car. This service is conmplimentary to you as our guest and they are waiting to help! Looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCSD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I attended a "Retreat" at Deadwood Mt Grand this week. The Staff's attention to our Hospitality was amazing, the noon lunch was delicious, filling but not heavy. The Slots hosts catered to us on the floor. The food at the "Aught 6 Grille" is a Delight, great variety, cooked perfectly, and Service was outstanding (Colleen). Fine Dining at it Best. The Rooms were First Class, roomy showers, comfortable and the View -serene. The Decor is relaxing perfect for a getaway, business retreat or Fun. So much to see and do or kick back on the balcony. Thank You for Treating us like Royalty. Am looking forward to returning for Concerts and longer stay.

Room Tip: Corner room overlooking main street and the hills. Peaceful. Small coffee maker, fridge in each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nmay2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.3 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing