We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic site, great location, elegant rooms for a good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Historic site, great location, elegant rooms for a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This historic site is the 1906 "Homestake Mine Slime Plant," where gold was refined. It's one of Deadwood's newest hotels, with a casino and show/concert hall. It has a great location for walking around historic Deadwood. Its rooms are elegant rooms for a good price. And its restaurant has excellent serving staff, and the food is great and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    125
    32
    15
    15
See reviews for
116
207
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

From beginning to end, this was a grew experience. The woman who opened the good escorted us up to the hotel lobby, including helping us store our luggage until our room was ready since ewe had arrived early -- she then greeted us each time she saw us. Generally, every staff person we met was friendly and helpful, with one exception in the restaurant, where we put the 10-minute rule into effect and left when no server appeared. We had a 3rd floor king room overlooking Deadwood, which was lovely. Having a porch to relax on was such a bonus so that we could enjoy the view high above the town. The amenities were high-end, but it would have been better for the housekeeping staff to replenish them each day. I do recommend that they find a place to put a fitness center. But it is a lovely hotel where you feel comfortable and pampered.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveMyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanish Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at DMG {Deadwood Mountain Grand.} The hotel is beautiful, new, clean and still smells brand new. I felt like we were the first ones to stay here. Everyone was super nice. One of the front desk girls switched our rooms to a Main Street view, and she was happy to do it. The beds are super comfortable, and I loved the toiletries in the bathroom. The hotel entrance is through the casino, but in the back by itself, we loved this because it felt separate from the casino. There was always a doorman at the front door to casino to let you in. Everyone was super friendly and nice. The location is at the top of everything. We ate the 25 cent happy hour wings, they are huge and delicious. You can get them at the bar. Wish we got them every night. We didn't eat in the hotel other than that, but I do suggest Lee St. Station for breakfast, hands down best breakfast we had.
All in all a perfect stay at Deadwood Mt. Grand, can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Main Street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshandJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is so nice to hear we have lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponca, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel and casino are beautiful. The rooms (we stayed in a king standard room) were lovely and the beds very comfortable. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and accommodating. We ate in the restaurant and the food and the wait staff were wonderful. It was nice to have covered parking at the casino. The short walk to main street made the location perfect. Now, for the negative part. The first morning we hung the sign on our door to have our room serviced. You know it was one of those signs that has "do not disturb on one side and please clean on the other". Well, when we got back to our room around 7:00 pm the room had not been touched. They said that there were about 2 rooms a day that weren't getting cleaned because the staff said the signs which were hung by a ribbon would turn sideways and they couldn't tell if people wanted service or not. Well, they brought clean towels, more coffee and shampoo etc. Second day we were out all day again and left the sign off the door so as not to confuse anyone. We got back and our bed had been made (with same sheets again) and new towels in the bathroom and that was it.. Bathroom had not been touched as my husband had dropped the bar of soap and it was still on the floor of the shower. Also, no new soap or shampoo (guess we were suppose to use the one on the floor of the shower). The used glasses and coffee mugs were still there and had not been replaced by clean ones. The trash had not been dumped. The ice bucket had the liner removed but no new one in its place. No bath mat left in the bathroom. And on and on!!! Then to top it off they were out in the hall vacuuming. Wish they would have spent a little more of their time in our room. Sorry but when we pay $150 a night we assume that part of what we are paying for is the wages of the people who service our room. We go to Deadwood a couple of times a year and have stayed in several of the hotels. This is our first experience like this. We are the type of people who usually don't complain. We just don't return. We own a small business and would be totally embarrassed if our staff provided such poor customer service. I'm not saying I wouldn't give the hotel another try but I would think long and hard about it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scraplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your candid, honest and open feedback. We value your input and have used it to develop and implement stricter guidelines for housekeeping. Although you experienced sub-standard room cleaning service, we’re encouraged to hear your compliments regarding the beauty of the hotel, casino and positive review of the room accommodations themselves, including the comfort of our beds. Please accept our sincere apologies for service that should have been far greater. We are a relatively new hotel property and with that comes growing pains. We hope you will understand and give us another chance to show you the high caliber of room service that the other 99 percent of our guests experience. Thanks again for sharing your concerns. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife, daughters, and I had two rooms here for one night last week. The property is very new and is very nice. All the staff treated us like we were the most important guests we ever had. The valet/bellperson (I think her name was Julie or Sally) parked our car, took our bags up the room, and coudn't have been a better ambassador for the hotel. Our kids enjoyed the lovely pool (although we couldn't believe that other parents allowed their children to climb on the handicap lifts that are available for both the pool and hot tub). The rooms were beautiful, and the soft goods (particularly the towels) were great. Although we didn't gamble, we did have to walk through/near the casino. We appreciated that the casino was either smoke-free or so well ventilated that we didn't stink of smoke after making that walk (unlike some other casino/hotels). If I were to return to Deadwood, I'd definately stay here again. Kudos to this nice additional to Deadwood!

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing room. We didn't and were stuck with ones facing the rocks. Not a big de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

The room accommodations were top notch. Julie Ventnam went out of her way upon our arrival as she guided us to the check in area of the hotel. We found out later that she was the supervisor of the restaurant so she went above and beyond what most places would do. The beds were super comfortable and the room was tastefully decorated. The service and the food were great in the restaurant and we would definitely recommend anyone to try it. The whole staff from the valets, the check in personnel, maid service, bar staff, restaurant staff and dealers were very friendly and made our stay a wonderful experience. Our only complaint was that the dealers kept getting better hands than us and took our money but that's why it's called gambling!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you want to see the beauty of the hills and Deadwood
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14TracyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel on June 2nd and the next day I went to shower and the door was lose. After my shower I opened the door and it shattered into millions of pieces. Good thing is that my step-daughter was in the room and heard my scream. She was able to cover up all the glass so I could step out of the bathroom. Once dressed we called the hotel front desk and they sent up five housekeepers to clean up the mess. Luckily I only had minor cuts but one of the housekeepers did help me with some cuts. After that the manager came up and we talked and completed an incident report, Some one was to call a few days later to see how I was but no one did. They did give me a free night. However when I opened the bill to my charge card they had charged me. So I called the hotel and the one manager that was to call me is no longer working there and the other manager got my bill cleared up. However I have not been offered any other free nights which I think I should have gotten a free weekend. The new manager and no idea what had happened the previous weekend. The housekeepers told me that this was the second time it happened but it happened when the housekeeper was cleaning the door. When I mentioned this to the manager he told me that was not true. MMMMM interesting.

Room Tip: Do not pick room 326 that is where the shower door shattered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Please know that a letter addressing these issues further and offering our apologies is on its way. We truly regret that it doesn't seem to have arrived prior to this posting. While we are particularly unhappy to hear of the shower door shattering, we are happy to hear that five members of our housekeeping staff responded to help and that a former manager attempted to remedy the situation. Enter communication break-down -- our bad and we'll own it. Please accept our sincere apologies for the incident. We have taken precautions to prevent the same type of accident from occurring for future guests. Your business and feedback are truly appreciated and will be used to improve future operations.We hope that we can soon count you among our valued guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing