We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Deadwood Mountain Grand. The atmosphere, the location, the food, everything was fabulous! We attended the Rodney Carrington show and the event center was so impressive, we plan on attending many shows there. The hotel rooms are very, very nice and feel very high end. We had a great time in the Slime Plant, and your bar tenders are so awesome! Just a great experience and will be telling everyone about it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay. We love to read reviews and print them for our staff to see also. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we get to see you again in the near future. Have a good day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay because of location and cost. Lots of entertainment on site. Really nice rooms. One block off Main Street. Use deadwood.com to book. Best rates there. The gaming at this hotel is reasonable with many options. Free drinks while gambling.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for the great review of Deadwood Mountain Grand! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you stay with us again (and have dinner!) next time you are in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here. We found the hotel to be unique in that it is constructed using some of the original gold mining buildings. We found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the casino and played the slots quite a bit. The restaurant is very good and the service is excellent. We were on our 43rd anniversary tour. We drove 8,614 miles over 5 weeks. We found this to be the best of the places that we stayed. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you very much for the awesome review! We take great pride in our accommodations, and we always appreciate hearing what services and rooms our guests enjoy. We hope that you will return to Deadwood Mountain Grand for any lodging needs you may have in the future. Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Deadwood Mountain Grand was a very nice hotel. Our room was fantastic. Was not fond of the casino. Mostly slot machines and few tables. We did learn 3 card poker there and found the dealers to be very nice and helpful in teaching the game. Met some nice people at our table that made the evening a blast. Food in the dining room (breakfast) was okay. Food and drinks in the bar were better and our bartender was very nice. The upstairs bar connected to the event room wasn't open which was a bummer. Nice location to the town. We were there at the end of September and the town was pretty empty. Would like to experience it during a busier time of the year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to rate your Deadwood Mountain Grand experience. We're so glad to hear your positive comments about the hotel and were thrilled you managed to have a good time in the casino! A very important component of our service mix is guest service and it sounds like our personnel delivered -- from your positive experience at the gaming tables to your food and drinks in the bar. We do hope you'll join us again if you choose to return when Deadwood is hustling and bustling. We truly appreciate your business and your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The Deadwood Mountain Grand is a beautiful new hotel in Deadwood. It definetly looked like the best hotel in town. We got a great deal $89 + tax for a Monday night...about $30 less than the Hampton Inn. Free internet and parking. Seemed really empty/quiet, but this is the end of season, so I am assuming that's why. The reason it received 4 out of 5 stars, it really is a trip from the entrance to the actual check-in/rooms. With all the luggage, kind of awkward. Would be great if they had extra valet guys to take luggage to the room. Also, there were hardly any outlets in the room. Had to unplug clock to charge cell phone. Room itself is very beautiful and I loved all the pics of what the town used to look like. Pool is nice and disability friendly with chair lifts. Exercise room has no equipment yet :) (9/25). Deadwood itself involves mostly casinos and I wouldn't recommend the city for people with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALWAYSTRAVELWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Thank you so much for sharing both the challenges and positive experiences you encountered at Deadwood Mountain Grand. You were able to take advantage of our "Rates Are Falling" promotion, which offers great room rates at one of the most beautiful times of the year in Deadwood. Believe it or not, we are taking a closer look at our valet staffing and hope to have exercise equipment in the near future. We appreciate you taking the time to weigh in on your stay, as we take this feedback seriously when developing and amending policies and procedures. Please come back and visit us some time in the near future and thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent two nights at the DMG. Rooms were excellent, beds were comfortable, and the room was quite. We ate two meals in the restaurant and were extremely pleased with the food and the service. The hotel, casino and restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful. The only thing that would have made the trip better was winning at gambling.
We will stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking Deadwood's main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay. We love to read reviews and print them for our staff to see also. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we get to see you again in the near future. Have a good day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My wife's family lives up here, so we've been coming to Deadwood for many years. This has been the best new asset to the community. It's very well decorated, rooms good size and the mattress and pillows I want at our house. We stayed a full week. Three of those nights though, the people above us came back to their room after midnight, waking me up. Between the refrigerator humming, the upstairs hot tub and adjacent room air conditioner running, it was hard to get back to sleep. Maybe it was just my problem? Every night before bedtime, we would run the A/C down to 68 degrees, then adjust it to 75 so it wouldn't run overnight. But hotels aren't built to be sound proof. I would stay here again but ask for a room on top floor. The staff was exceptional as well as the food served in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Shut off refrigerator and A/C before going to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6mark0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
576 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.3 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range: £78 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing