We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing time!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I had booked the Big and Rich room for me and my boyfriend as a gift from me for our one year anniversery. He loves the old west and has been obsessed with the history of deadwood. Were from pennsylvania and ive never been out west before. So for it being my first time i was absolutely amazed! The room first of all was gorgeous and the view was breathtaking, and the hotel is placed so close to everything. But what was so nice to see was how nice everyone who worked there was. We talked to quite a number of the staff and everyone was extremely helpful, kind, and genuinely asked how we were enjoying our time while we were there. Over the Mardi Gras weekend, we went to a lot of places, but were still amazed at how the sevice at the hotel excelled compared to other places. The food was amazing and the night club was a lot of fun! On our last morning there we sat at the bar and talked with the barteneder who told us of other events that happen durring the summer and other things to check out. We are already planning to come back durring the summer and stay at the Mt. Grand in the same room.

Room Tip: If you want a nice suit and your not entertaining. The big and Rich is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your great review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your words of appreciation. We are humbled to have received such thoughtful comments, for there really is no greater satisfaction, than receiving kind words from a valued guest. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    129
    32
    15
    15
See reviews for
117
215
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitewood, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We made reservations to be at the Grand for my son's birthday, which happens to be over Presidents day weekend. In total, we had 16 kids and a handful of adults. We rented the Mountain Harmony suite and the adjoining room. And we were a MOB. The entire staff, and I do mean entire staff, was amazing. They looked after us and pampered us. The kids left feeling like a million bucks! This type of group, on that busy of a weekend in Deadwood, could overwhelm ever the most seasoned professional; but they made it look easy. And if you stay at the Grand, you should ask for Jerry; trust me.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManagerIronHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you! Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My husband and I loved everything about our stay! The rooms were very clean and beds were comfy. Bathroom had a nice shower. Pool area was small but we enjoyed the hot tub - the pool and hot tub were both handicap accessible.
We ordered room service for breakfast and it only took 15 minutes. We loved the breakfast pizza!
The staff at this hotel was remarkable. Very accommodating and we were always greeted when we walked by.
The location was great if you dont mind walking a couple blocks to downtown area. The quality of the hotel made it worth it for us.
We would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
We are very appreciative of comments like the ones you posted here. It's our goal to provide not only a hotel room, but a relaxing, fun experience. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us! We hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The rates were excellent for this wonderful hotel. The rooms were decorated wonderfully and the bathroom was huge. The shower was big enough for a family of four. This hotel definitely has a luxurious feel to it. The bed was huge and had a nice warm down comforter. The only complaint I have is about the restaurant. After waiting for our breakfast for 45 minutes it was delivered to us ice cold. The waitress had no excuse and was not very friendly at all. I would definitely stay at this property again, but avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for the time you took to let us know how your stay was! While we always want to hear the best things about our property, we do need to know what areas we can make improvements in. It's our goal to create an unique and unforgettable experience for each guest. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

DMG hosted our 34th annual Ski For Light banquet and out of the 30 previous banquets I've attended (at other facilities), this was the absolute best! Not only did they accomodate our needs, they went way beyond our expectations. The meal was fantastic and expeditiously served, the PA system and video broadcast on the big screen were of the very best quality, and get this: it is my understanding that the bulk of the DMG staff VOLUNTEERED their time to host our event! I'm telling you, this is what South Dakota, Deadwood, and the Mountain Grand are all about. I live just outside of Rapid City and the "Grand" is always on my "must visit" list each time I come to Deadwood. If you visit Deadwood, you'd being doing yourself a dis-service not to visit the Grand.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you so much for this great review! Please know the staff at DMG enjoyed the event almost as much as your guests did. What a wonderful event. We are looking forward to being a part of it again next year. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

I recently organized a bus trip to Deadwood. Planning the entire trip was a great experience! Phylis at DMG was so helpful and made my job very easy. The staff was ready for us the moment we arrived. Check in went better than I had anticipated. We planned a meal for our guests in Bills Backstage Bar and the meal was excellent! There was plenty of food and the staff kept the trays full. No one went away hungry and I heard many compliments from our guests. Several of our guests commented on the beauty of the rooms and the casino. Overall, we had a great stay. DMG is on the top of the list for my next stay in Deadwood! PS. Be sure to have a Bloody Mary in the Slime Plant Bar......excellent!

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
What a great review! We really appreciate your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. Please know how much the staff at DMG enjoyed having your fun group as our guests. We look forward to your next visit at the Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

my husband and I stayed for 2 nights..finding the hotel through the casino was a little annoying, the parking on weekends isn't the best but the valets are very helpful...we found when we entered that the glass hadn't been cleaned and food items were left on the balcony. on our last morning room service came in without knocking and startled us...we stayed in the big and rich suite...I suppose I was just expect more for what I paid...the view was amazing though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyred88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for giving Deadwood Mountain Grand hotel a try. We truly appreciate your business and apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. As we have opened relatively recently, we continue to learn from customer feedback such as yours and take it seriously in improving our operation. We apologize for the breakdowns in customer service you experienced. Thank you for choosing the Grand. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.3 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing