We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here early May and I was a little off put by the huge shape - size of the place however once we got over the "awe" of it, it was really great fun. Everyone was real nice and I think I gained 10 pounds from the great food since the weather was not the best we mainly stayed at the motel when we ran out of stuff to drive and see, but never ran out of stuff to do at the motel! We were not there while there was a concert going on, but it seemed like they had 2 or 3 scheduled a month with some pretty big names. Would definitely stay again! Thanks for a great last minute weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel! We are so glad you were able to enjoy so many of our services while you were here. Surveys such as yours mean a great deal to the staff and we will make sure to share it with everyone! We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

What a cool restored mine plant hotel. Rooms are beautiful, nice staff, did well on slots. Live music was poor. Coffee bar was nice. Perfect location for walking to downtown Deadwood. 10% off gift shop with room. $$$$

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimicasino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time here in Deadwood. We truly appreciate your business. We are very happy to hear that you had a good time while you were here with us. If you are ever in the neighborhood again we will have a room ready for you, and hopefully music that better suits your taste!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here on our way to Mount Rushmore over Memorial weekend. It was just by accident that we picked it. It was in the perfect spot to walk around Deadwood that evening and the next day - great place to park too! Walking through the casino was no big deal - the guest service was so helpful and took us right where we needed to go - even into the parking lot! The only bummer was the ac in our room - sounded like a 747 taking off. I would definitely check this first thing when arriving to switch if needed. The only sound from outside the room was when the guests were talking right outside our door, otherwise, the concert that was going on downstairs sounded no louder than a faint radio playing. Nice beds, nice shower, and the room with a view was worth the $$.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BozemanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review! We appreciate knowing that your first stay with us was such a nice experience. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just got home from another fantastic trip to the Black Hills. I took my 90 year old parents and a friend of theirs, they were SO impressed with this hotel/casino/restaurant! The whole staff was just so incredibly kind to them. They had a great time! Dad played cards, the dealers were so helpful and so enthusiastic to be dealing, everyone was in a great mood. Mom and her friend played slots and had a ball. We ate at the Slime Plant and the Aught Six Grille, the food was PERFECT! They loved their rooms, all three of them said it was the first time they stayed in a room with a bathrobe in it, LOL, so they were pretty excited!

My dads family is from this part of the hills, so he was impressed with how well the history was preserved and how well the displays of everything were. He told us lots of stories about the mining and how the gold washed through the river by the hotel. I can tell you he was very proud of what you did.

I can't thank you guys enough for being so kind to us, it was a memorable trip for all of them. I had a great time myself! :-) I absolutely Love your dealers, they are the BEST!!!!!!!!

Thanks again, see you all in a few months!

Room Tip: Take time to read about the history of the mining in the Black Hills. DMG has a lot of interesting...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. Our team loves their job and looks forward to hearing of reviews like these. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Deadwood Mountain Grand. We hope you will visit us again in the future so we can have even more GRAND experiences together! PS. We agree, we do have the best dealers in Deadwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights, room was great, unfortunately I was a cheapskate and booked a mountain view room, would spend extra next time. The entry through the casino was a pain the 1st day but you got used to it after a while. Agree with earlier review, they got the lobby badly wrong when they designed it.

Staff were absolutely great, from doormen to front desk, chambermaids etc. We did not have any issues, but it makes a difference to your stay to see happy faces.

Restaurant : ate once at the restaurant, was reasonable, not great but reasonably priced. They seemed a bit hassled a wanted to close the place down, our waitress was still very pleasant. A little way to go before they get to something resembling fine dining. Understandably so, this is a casino hotel.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you! Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Valet parking was free and they were fast and attentive. Getting to the hotel lobby was a little screwy going thru the casino and up two elevators, but not a huge issue. I didn't like the "front desk" as it was 3 desks and a couple of chairs. Seems a little lack luster, but the staff was gracious and prompt. Rooms were very nice, beds VERY comfy. The price I paid was a little high, but then I waited too long and to book for a Memorial day weekend when they were offering entertainment. I'd stay again in a minute.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padookahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you for the time you took to let us know how your stay was! While we always want to hear the best things about our property, we do need to know what areas we can make improvements in. It's our goal to create an unique and unforgettable experience for each guest. We do hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Fun place to stay in Deadwood!! We stayed here for 2 nights on our 3000 mile road trip. Our bags got brought up by Jerry, who informed us of the history of the Hotel and gave us lots of tips regarding the area. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff always said hello when you passed by and on our way to the rooms in the evening was fresh lemon and orange water. You can walk into town and lots of parking at the Hotel. Our room rate was great and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quadchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

We always appreciate hearing that our guests had a good rest after a long day of traveling. Please stop by again when you travel through or come and stay a few days. Deadwood has so many attractions to see and experience! Thank you for taking the time to write about your GRAND stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range: £87 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing