We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best valet in the state!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best valet in the state!!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Jerry Smith is genius! Ask him anything! Great service with a smile, was warm and charming. His knowledge of the hotel to the hills was amazing. Even down to the photos in our hotel room Perfect first encounter at a top notch casino and venue.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your grand review! We are especially pleased that you recognized Jerry's unmatched guest service. We are very proud of our staff, and love to hear such kind comments. We are also pleased you enjoyed our property, and your stay with us. Thank you again for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    129
    32
    15
    15
See reviews for
117
215
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We really like how they've reused the original structure for the casino. The hotel rooms are nice, clean, and daily service was good. We went to Deadwood with 10 others to celebrate a retirement. The quoted nightly rate was so high, everyone else in our party stayed elsewhere in town. Our rate was low on Thurs and Sunday, but the Fri/Sat rate was $300+/night. This hotel is definitely not a $300/night property. What's strange about the high rate is the fact that Oct/Nov is a very slow time and the hotel was not even close to being full.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner 3 times each. The food was excellent. The chicken fried steak was the best I've had in years, and the ribeyes and burgers were excellent as well. Kudos to the kitchen. Waitress had no clue what a Bombay Sapphire, up, extra dry martini was, but the bartender knew, and an excellent drink was delivered.

The casino was not kind to any of our party of 12, and the group gambled all over town for 3 days. Everyone had bad luck at this place, though, which is odd. You'd think someone would've been lucky. This was also one of the least populated casinos in town, meaning the locals may know this place as unlucky also.

Staff was friendly and attentive.

All in all, the hotel gets a good rating, the restaurant an excellent rating, and the casino a poor rating. Since we use casino comps to offset our hotel and food charges, we'll look to stay at one of the more friendly hotel/casinos, like Cadillac Jacks or the Hampden.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks about the hotel and for sharing your great dining experience at the Aught Six Grille. Unfortunately, we apologize for any confusion you experienced with our rates, as we have our rate set for standard rooms at a much lower rate than the $300.00 mentioned. Perhaps, the rate you paid included additional room charges? Again, I have forwarded your comments to our hotel management for further review. Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand; we do hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Wednesday, October 16th for our anniversary. We were given a free upgrade to a room with a balcony which was fantastic. While we went to get our luggage from the vehicle they had a staff member bring a bottle of champagne on ice and two glasses to our room. They even took the time to hand write a card congratulating us on our anniversary. Needless to say my husband and I were beyond impressed. We travel out to Deadwood at least twice a year if not three times and were very excited to find out that this had become a Holiday Inn property as we are IHG Reward members. Keep up the good work! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for the awesome review! We are very pleased with the high level of satisfation you experienced at Deadwood Mountain Grand, a Holiday Inn Resort. Hopefully we can build on this review and use it as a benchmarck for the way we would like all our reviews to look. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us on your special day. Happy Anniversary! Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a year ago and came back this year.
My room is very clean,updated and does not give the feeling of a casino hotel room which I appreciated. The casino is smoke free,service is good
But I recommend eating at other restaurants. I feel the food is below the quality it could be.I rate the hotel more on the room then the food.
My king bed was very comfortable flat screen and modern fixtures.

Since it is now a Holiday inn resort,you can use your priority rewards for upgrades as well.

Why Stay here? Clean affordable and updated. Free parking including free valet parking as well

Why not? N/A

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand, a Holiday Inn Resort hotel, as your hotel of choice during your recent business trip to Deadwood. We are pleased to hear we provided the same great experience you received on your previous stay with us. Yes, we are pleased to announce as of October 1, Deadwood Mountain Grand is now part of the Holiday Inn Resort Brand family! We still have the same great ownership, however, our affiliation with the Holiday Inn Resort brand, only brings bigger and better offerings for all our guests, such as the IHG® Rewards Club, the world’s largest hotel loyalty program you mentioned. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our restaurant; I have shared your comments with restaurant management. Again, it was a pleasure having you here, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were there 2 and 3 (blizzard) October.

Pros: The room was very nicely done. The gift shop is pleasant, small, mostly accessories (jewelry and purses) with typical souvenirs.

Cons: We were promised a room with city view at time of reservation months ago. Upon check in we were given a room at the back of the hotel facing a dirt wall. The reception staff would be happy to upgrade at a significantly higher price.

It is not a pleasure to drag luggage through the casino to reach the elevator in order to get to reception, three flights up. From reception you have to take another elevator to the rooms. Hotel staff is friendly as long as you don't complain about anything.

This hotel is not particularly handicap friendly. If power is lost (which it was), it is extremely difficult to use the stairwells. Backup emergency lighting was poor and in some places nonexistent. My husband is handicapped, using the stairs was painful and tiring for him. There is not a direct exit from the lobby to the outside.

It seemed the hotel was ill prepared for the blizzard even though it had been forecast for days in advance. Water and snacks were put out in the lobby sparingly. There did not seem to be a lot of management present and staff was doing the best they could with what they had.

We chose not to use the restaurant. Having a drink the first night there we witnessed the waitresses behavior as they came back to the bar. They were very immature and had attitudes.

The Grand does not strike me as a boutique hotel. The corrugated metal cladding on the exterior is not attractive, I felt like I was entering a factory. The casino is dingy due to the color choices for the walls and carpeting. This facility does not appeal to me as a place I would want to spend all of my time as advertised in their write up.

Room Tip: Make sure you are perfectly clear on what you would like, king size suite, or room with a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eqlizr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and fairness by prefacing your remarks, taking into consideration your stay occurred during the most destructive and devastating blizzard in South Dakota history, with thousands of people and properties left without power for days.

While there are many policies and procedures we can anticipate and set in motion during unplanned and unpredictable disasters such as this, unfortunately controlling the power company and encouraging employees to risk their well-being to come to work are not two of them.

With that in mind, we offer our sincerest apologies that your husband experienced challenges getting around without the help of our elevators. We also share your disappointment on the mix-up of your room view and less than satisfactory customer service you experienced. Measures have been taken with the hotel and restaurant staff to help prevent those types of misunderstandings in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the appointments in your room, as well as the gift shop. You might not know it, but we are housed in a historic building, and Deadwood’s Historic Landmark designation dictates that we preserve the historic integrity of the exterior, which is just as it appeared when the building was erected in 1906.

We pride ourselves in providing a highly unique experience in the highly historic town of Deadwood. We only hope that you would return to experience the GRAND when it is running at full power.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed there about a week ago (before the blizzard). Parking in the deck was easy, then you walk thru the casino and up elevator to get to hotel lobby. Once there the lobby is lodge like, the staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were very nice with all amenities. Very quiet and restful. Thanks to the hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Suspect all rooms would be fine as always stay away from elevator shafts and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review! We appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights during our last US trip. The hotel is separated from the casino although you have to walk through it before you can enter the hotel. As the hotel is just a few years old, the rooms and the whole look and feel are good and clean. Nice rooms, and nicely located very close to the city Main Street. Nice restaurant on site which we only used for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FransHeijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read Deadwood Mountain Grand exceeded your expectations and provided you with unmatched service and accommodations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Grand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.3 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing