We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is nice, but breakfast service is poor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Hotel is nice, but breakfast service is poor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nice location and rooms are spacious. Swimming pool is fairly small, but adequate. View from the outdoor pool deck is very nice. Breakfast service is very slow. Seems very disorganized. Food is ok, and the staff is friendly, just very slow, even though both times we ate there it was not busy. Dinner service was better, but still not great. Hotel has potential to be great, just needs a few improvements in restaurant service.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand, a Holiday Inn Resort as your host during your recent visit. We are disappointed to learn that your visit was not a complete success, and apologize for the challenges you experienced in The Grand Grille. I understand that there are many travel options when visiting this great city and we hope Deadwood Mountain Grand can continue to be your resort of choice when visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    125
    31
    15
    15
See reviews for
116
205
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here one night. Being in the hospitality business it was painful to watch the attention to detail missed here. Clocks in the room and fitness area were not set correctly. Our bathroom had no working fan, and the coffee pot was missing from the room. When we arrived I was promptly greated at the door by a man that looked like he just stepped off his motorcycle. This hotel has an odd layout, getting to the lobby is a chore. The restaurant was the biggest failure as our server had the worst BO, when questioned on a dish he choose to argue as to what was in the dish, and during the order he just walked away in the middle of it. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmgirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your stay with us. Please know the items you brought to our attention have been addressed and measures put in place to either improve or prevent them from happening in the future. We apologize for what, unfortunately, seems to be a series of uncommon/atypical customer service issues that arose during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Deadwood Mountain Grand. We were only able to be in Deadwood for one night but we really enjoyed our time at the hotel. We will return. First, we pulled up to the hotel and were greeted by the bell person/valet, Jerry. He was great. He immediately greeted us and walked us into the hotel. He directed us to the check-in area and then took care of our vehicle. We were impressed by Jerry and felt he really serves the hotel well. Next, check in was easy, friendly,and we found our room to be very nice. We upgraded to a patio room and were glad we did. The room offered a great view of Deadwood. Both the evening and mornings were very nice on the patio. The room was clean, modern. The bathroom very nice as well. My wife and I both thought the bed was very comfortable. Before going to the concert that was at he hotel that evening, we went to the Slime Plant bar/restaurant. The atmosphere was very nice. Service was excellent. We had some appetizers and drinks and enjoyed our time in the bar. Food and drinks were great. The bar area offered a fun, lively environment as the crowd was starting to arrive for the concert. The hotel offers a few other restaurants and we regretted not having the chance to visit the patio area, which looked like a nice place. The hotel also offers another patio area with live music on weekends. The concert area is upstairs and is located in a unique, cool setting. It is a great venue. Plenty of space, several bar areas, and just a great atmosphere. Lots of fun, friendly people of all ages. After the concert, we returned to the Slime Plant. They had live music and the dance floor was going. The casino area is nice and spacious. We had the chance to order room service and again, the Deadwood Mountain Grand scored well. Friendly, courteous service and great food. In the morning, we enjoyed the patio and called valet to give them a heads up on our vehicle. Again, saw Jerry. He had our car ready and provided the same friendly service. We also enjoyed the coffee shop in the lobby area! Also, we liked the location of the hotel. The hotel is located within walking distance to downtown historic Deadwood. We did not have a chance to spend any time at the pool or in the fitness room so we cannot comment on those areas of the hotel. In sum, if you are planning to go to a concert at the Deadwood Mountain Grand, are traveling through the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota, or just want a night away, we do highly recommend the Deadwood Mountain Grand!

Room Tip: If the weather is nice, we recommend the patio rooms. Offers relaxing, nice view of Deadwood and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunTravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your WONDERFUL comments about your stay with us. We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed our property and offerings. I will make sure to share your nice comments with our staff. We re are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the concert and the live music in the lounge. We take pride in providing great entertainment, and love hearing feedback from our guests! Come back soon as we have a great line up of entertainment coming to the Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel from the internet based on location and rooms available. It was a great place to stay. Clean and comfortable. Small pool for adults but great for kids. Layout is a little odd as you enter the casino floor and have to head back to find the elevators to the hotel. Considering it's an historic building I guess that's ok. More signage would have been helpful. Front desk was great but housekeeping knocked on the door at 8am. A little early considering we were at Rushmore until very late. Second strike was no coffee in the lobby as we left at 9a.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cd-seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for trying us out -- we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are constantly striving to improve upon our offerings and certainly appreciate your comments about areas you perceived as challenging. We will use your remarks to further perfect our operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of a road trip in early June, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As it was mid-week, and the prices were reasonable, we chose a suite with a balcony and it was great. The room was comfortable, clean, well equipped (hate those plastic cups) and the bed and seating area was comfortable. The location of the hotel is very good and you can walk easily to the Main Street with shops and restaurants. You also can catch the shuttle for $1 and ride anywhere in Deadwood. We had both breakfast and dinner in the Restaurant and found the food to be simple but tasty and well prepared. Service in the restaurant was good one day, poor the next-but no big deal. We found most people we encountered to be friendly and helpful. We had a drink in the bar and were pleasantly surprised by the prices. I curious about the comments from people not knowing the hotel is part of a casino complex as this information is not hidden. As far as walking through the casino to get to the hotel...you walk through a corner of the casino to the elevators and it is not a long walk or unusual for such an establishment . We enjoyed it - give it a try!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diand11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for such a glowing review. It is so nice to hear positive remarks about our property and staff, as guest service is a priority on our property. Again, thank you, and we hope to see you again when to travel to historic Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

A note about Deadwood in general: we did not realize it was little Vegas. There are slot machines EVERYWHERE. This hotel was clean and well located, but you have to walk your family through a casino complete with slinky bar maids to get to the hotel portion. Not great for people with a moral compass. Hated taking the kids through there. There is a tiny indoor pool (3.5 feet deep) and a hot tub (slightly smaller than the pool). I am still giving this hotel a very good rating because it had wifi, was clean, was within walking distance of fun stuff and was reasonably priced. Cool historical building with metal siding. Not for us, but worth a gamble if you do not mind this type of atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for your open, honest feedback. We appreciate your candid comments. They have assisted us in the quest for constant improvements on the property. Your business is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,139 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,515 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a nice hotel in Deadwood. We were there for the Ron White (comedian) show and enjoyed it. The seating was fine. Do give yourself some time to find your seat ....it's a tad confusing for first timers (or at least it was for us) to find your seat due to the number of beer concessions, etc. you need to navigate through to get to the seating section. Beyond that, its a good place for a show.

Slot area has a variety of games; after the show, there was a good band that played which we enjoyed listening to.

Parking is fine (but note - part of the garage is also for the government workers and not part of the casino parking.) Once you figure it out, we were fine fine with the parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing