We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff but needs some TLC”
Review of Bullock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bullock Hotel
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Blairsville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, staff but needs some TLC”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Bullock and were extremely impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Also the location in Deadwood is fantastic and right in the middle of Main Street. We had a corner room that was very large and spacious. The room was very clean, had a little refrigerator, coffee maker, and they were kind enough to supply two free bottles of water in our room.

The lower rating is because the room was in need of some freshening up and minor repair. For example, there is a dent and hole in the bathroom wall near the bathtub. Also not all the blinds are working correctly and one slat wouldn't close near the bed and light poured in at eye level (BTW, unlike Florida the sun rises here at about 5:30 a.m.)

Overall it was a good stay, but could have been great if they give the room a little TLC.

Room Tip: Although it certainly wasn't the Bullock's fault, our room (313) was located in the rear cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your comments! We truly appreciate any and all comments, because it informs us of some things we may not have known about. We have since fixed the complications you faced in your room. We are happy to hear you were taken care of by our wonderful staff at The Historic Bullock. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    111
    36
    18
    15
See reviews for
69
197
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

a couple of friends and i were traveling through and we stopped by the hotel originally for the history with no intention of staying the night in the hotel untill we met an employee named Victoria who was really awesome. she gave us a tour of the hotel and gave us an education on the history of the area. she was warm and friendly and extremely educated and excited to share her knowledge with us. we got a room at a very reasonable rate and she said the room was haunted. sadly we didnt notice any strange happenings but we were grateful for the overall experience and we were extremely grateful to have met victoria. I work in the hospitality industry myself and I know its rare to meet such helpful individuals who really seem to love what they are doing. she even gave us some awesome places to visit on our way to Devils tower and we were glad we took her up on her suggestions.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoopSpiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
There is nothing better than to hear great things about our employees. I'm so glad you were able to learn not only the history of our hotel, but of the area as well. I'm sorry you were unable to meet the ghost of Seth Bullock, hopefully he will make an apperance next time you come to see us. Thank you very much for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It's hard to walk through the city of Deadwood and appreciate the history there because many businesses are so focused on attracting tourists that they'll make false claims. The Bullock Hotel, however, has a rich, legit history and it's incredible to be a part of. I felt like it was one of the few places in Deadwood where I really felt the history instead of a fake, modern representation. The quality of the hotel was good. It's historic so I wasn't expecting perfection, but the important parts were good. Comfortable bed, clean room, quiet for the most part. Great staff, reasonable rates.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likethedirection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Super Friendly staff Roberta was so helpful and welcoming. We stayed a few days and have nothing but good things to say. Family stayed in two period rooms. Very detailed period rooms, spacious and comfortable beds. Hotel is completely restored and beautiful. Location is perfect on main street and trolley runs at least every hour stopping two feet outside the front door. Trolley will take you around the town and help you determine what you might like to visit. Most things are within walking distance. Free parking outside the hotel. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are worth asking for as they offer more space than inside rooms. There is no pool, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

my husband and i stayed here on April 6,2012 and had a great time. The rooms were very comfortable. We stayed in haunted room 211 and we did experience a few strange things such as we heard voices thruout the night and my husband felt his shoulder get tapped a few times and heard his name called a few times. he thought he heard the water turn on in the middle of the night. the bed was very warm sleeping in it almost as if there was a heating pad turned on. we felt very comfortable and another wierd thing was we both had the exact same dream that night. we captured a few orbs and when we went on the ghost tour we captured a "A" in one of their mirrors. I also captured a mist in our room that looked quite a bit like seth i am hoping to get it printed so i can send a copy to the hotel.their casino staff is very friendly and very accomodating. we loved this hotel and had a great time would definently recommend it to anyone traveling thru or vacationing in deadwood.

Room Tip: if you are looking for a very fun comfortable yet exciting experience stay in room 211 we had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff n sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed for one night as there were no RV parks available and we were glad we did. As it was the off season we got a room for $56 tax included..great price. We had a lovely room in this quaint hotel, the staff were great. It was located in the middle of town with parking in a lot. Over the road at the rear of the hotel. They provide us with a number of vouchers...10% off food and if you spend $20 in the gaming area they give you $2. If you use the slot machines you get free beer wine. You must have breakfast as it is very cheap and the chef did the serving and cooking and did a fantastic job, he was very friendly and joked a lot.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowhowtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed there and was charged $150 for what was described as the housekeepers smelling smoke in my room. I was only one in the room and I don't smoke. Management refused to reverse the charge.

Beware!

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bullock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bullock Hotel

Property: Bullock Hotel
Address: 633 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1123
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bullock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bullock Hotel is a Deadwood Treasure. Experience the history and elegance of Deadwood's first hotel located right on Main Street. All are unique and have been painstakingly restored to the original details that Seth Bullock first envisioned. We have the perfect accommodations for leisure guests or family weekend getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bullock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bullock Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing