We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bullock Hotel
Nearby Hotels
SpringHill Suites Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Iron Horse Inn(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deadwood Gulch Resort(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel by Gold Dust(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$221
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
187
121
40
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
121
40
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourhistoric hotelmain streettv seriesslot machinesantique furniturecorner roomold westhotel parkingoff seasonold buildingcasino downstairsstep back in timewater pressurejacuzzi tubstayed one nightblack hills
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My dad booked this room looking for someplace neat to stay for my visit to the Black Hills. The room was much larger than we anticipated which was a pleasant surprise. We were in a room with two queen beds. My mother really appreciated the a/c which worked to her expectations without a hitch. The shower was standard, no complaints. The breakfasts were excellent, well-priced and serviced well. We were attended to promptly when we sat at the slots one evening.

Location is walking distance to most places in Deadwood, we took evening strolls nightly looking for food and entertainment. It's driving distance to all sights in the area. Very ideal location.

The place was great, despite the age. We weren't sure what to expect and were very pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraAusSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us here in Deadwood, SD. Even though The Bullock is an older hotel it is very well maintained. The ghost of Seth Bullock keeps all of our employees on their toes and makes sure everything is working right!! We hope you decide to stay with us again on your next trip to South Dakota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Bullock and were extremely impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Also the location in Deadwood is fantastic and right in the middle of Main Street. We had a corner room that was very large and spacious. The room was very clean, had a little refrigerator, coffee maker, and they were kind enough to supply two free bottles of water in our room.

The lower rating is because the room was in need of some freshening up and minor repair. For example, there is a dent and hole in the bathroom wall near the bathtub. Also not all the blinds are working correctly and one slat wouldn't close near the bed and light poured in at eye level (BTW, unlike Florida the sun rises here at about 5:30 a.m.)

Overall it was a good stay, but could have been great if they give the room a little TLC.

Room Tip: Although it certainly wasn't the Bullock's fault, our room (313) was located in the rear corner of the hotel and we were awakened at 6:30 a.m. Saturday by a loud garbage truck that slammed and crashed things for several minutes. If you visit on a Friday night, keep this in mind when choosing your room. The best tip is that they allow you to choose your room, so be sure to pick one with a view of the main street if you can.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for your comments! We truly appreciate any and all comments, because it informs us of some things we may not have known about. We have since fixed the complications you faced in your room. We are happy to hear you were taken care of by our wonderful staff at The Historic Bullock. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Deadwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

a couple of friends and i were traveling through and we stopped by the hotel originally for the history with no intention of staying the night in the hotel untill we met an employee named Victoria who was really awesome. she gave us a tour of the hotel and gave us an education on the history of the area. she was warm and friendly and extremely educated and excited to share her knowledge with us. we got a room at a very reasonable rate and she said the room was haunted. sadly we didnt notice any strange happenings but we were grateful for the overall experience and we were extremely grateful to have met victoria. I work in the hospitality industry myself and I know its rare to meet such helpful individuals who really seem to love what they are doing. she even gave us some awesome places to visit on our way to Devils tower and we were glad we took her up on her suggestions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HoopSpiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

There is nothing better than to hear great things about our employees. I'm so glad you were able to learn not only the history of our hotel, but of the area as well. I'm sorry you were unable to meet the ghost of Seth Bullock, hopefully he will make an apperance next time you come to see us. Thank you very much for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It's hard to walk through the city of Deadwood and appreciate the history there because many businesses are so focused on attracting tourists that they'll make false claims. The Bullock Hotel, however, has a rich, legit history and it's incredible to be a part of. I felt like it was one of the few places in Deadwood where I really felt the history instead of a fake, modern representation. The quality of the hotel was good. It's historic so I wasn't expecting perfection, but the important parts were good. Comfortable bed, clean room, quiet for the most part. Great staff, reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likethedirection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Super Friendly staff Roberta was so helpful and welcoming. We stayed a few days and have nothing but good things to say. Family stayed in two period rooms. Very detailed period rooms, spacious and comfortable beds. Hotel is completely restored and beautiful. Location is perfect on main street and trolley runs at least every hour stopping two feet outside the front door. Trolley will take you around the town and help you determine what you might like to visit. Most things are within walking distance. Free parking outside the hotel. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are worth asking for as they offer more space than inside rooms. There is no pool, but kids did not miss it at all as there is so much to do, your days are full.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews