We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise but no ghosts”
Review of Bullock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bullock Hotel
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We decided to stay at the Bullock for one night since it is supposed to be haunted. We were assigned Room 214 and it was very nice. Large, clean and looked like it had been recently remodeled. I've seen apartments this size. The staff was friendly; front desk, cashier, waitresses. The old furniture on the first floor just made it look like what we might imagine it looked like back in the day.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnsilvertip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2009

yeah traveled like all day and night to get here. asked for a haunted room, the staff pretty much acted like i was stupid to ask for that saying they didnt have any. even tho theres a sign about 6ft from the front desk advertising the ghost tour. they put me in a room on the 3rd floor. it was clean, had a male prescence. everything was alright except i got woken up early morning hours to the trash people emptying out the dumpsters. not pleasant waking up after 4 hrs sleep after having driven 10 hrs to bang bang bang so loud as the dumspters bang down on the ground. uggh. other than that it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noghostsforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

The Bullock has a lot of historic charm. You really feel as if you've stepped back into 19th century Deadwood. Our room was very large and comfortable with antique-style furnishings, with a sink area in the room itself and another in the bathroom. The staff is great and very helpful. The hotel is located right on historic Main Street and is close to lots of casinos, shops, restaurants and historic sites. I'd certainly go back again. (Didn't see the ghost, though.)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyageur08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

My wife and I have traveled to Dead Wood annually since 1996 and have stayed in just about all the hotels and motels. We keep coming back to the bullock and just re-reserve the same room for the next year at check out . We have stayed at the bullock branch for three years and prefer this to the main building. We have never had a bad experience in Dead Wood and plan to retire there.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

This hotel is beautiful, elegant, and very fun. Just walking through the building is a breath-taking experience with historical photos and architecture everywhere. The rooms are right out of the Old West. But they are very quiet too. If you have a drink at the bar or breakfast in the restaurant, don't be surprised if you become involved in local conversation (reminds me of a Canadian Rockies lodge atmosphere). After two days we were sad to leave because we felt like part of the family. The only drawback to this hotel: when I tried taking a photo of a ghost my camera went dead.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GAW003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We made our reservation online and had them send us a confirmation. I had heard that you may have problems from other reviews. We arrived at the hotel and they did not have us as an arrival. They could not find us in the computer the front desk staff is very rude. When i showed them the reservation numbers they found us booked under a wrong date and then informed us that the rate was now going to change. Very unprofessional people. The General Manager of the property was no help. the resturant staff in the "resturant" was not very good our food was cold the toast burnt and you can not have dinner there. best of luck just stay elsewhere is my advice

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dollydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2008

5th trip to Deadwood. We like to stay downtown. This time we tried the Branch House which is a seperate property Behind the Bullock. Very quiet, nicely remodeled. Stayed mid-week, had the building to ourselves. Parked at the door. Same bennies as staying at the Bullock. Nice large room, comfy bed . As nice or nicer than main hotel. Great staff. Allways have fun in Deadwood. Stop and see the Bullock, even if you are just passing through. We live in So. Minnesota

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakeviewsrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
#11 of 25 in Deadwood
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Suites
Hickok's Hotel & Suites
#19 of 25 in Deadwood
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bullock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bullock Hotel

Address: 633 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1123
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £51 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bullock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bullock Hotel is a Deadwood Treasure. Experience the history and elegance of Deadwood's first hotel located right on Main Street. All are unique and have been painstakingly restored to the original details that Seth Bullock first envisioned. We have the perfect accommodations for leisure guests or family weekend getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bullock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bullock Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing