We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Historic Hotel”
Review of Bullock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bullock Hotel
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed two nights at the historic Bullock Hotel in room 302. The whole hotel exudes elegance, and the staff were always on their toes. Our room was charming, and spotless. The bed was dreamy to curl up in. We didn't see any ghosts, but our window kept closing by itself. Staying here added so much to our enjoyment of Deadwood. It is amazing to just wander around the hotel and feel the history. They also offer ghost walks. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Deadwood. Spend the money and take home the memories, it is so worth it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncjillrossmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

The location of course is great, as is the fact that it's historic, and possibly haunted (which is why other family members wanted to stay there). It was nice but I expected the beds to be a little more comfortable. They seemed old and chea and we didn't sleep very well. Otherwise, the room was good and seemed to fit to its historic nature.
We didn't see or hear any ghosts unfortunately, but a family member says she caught "orbs" in some photos. We did have a few problems with the water pressure and the shower shutting off (or was it the ghosts?!!) but I guess that should be expected in such an old building. It was a nice stay. The casinos on the other hand were pretty bad. I could sit at a slot machine for a long time and never even get one bonus. I did do best at the Tin Lizzy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Our family stayed overnight in July, 2010 in Room 303. We stayed in Deadwood for the history and the Bullock Hotel was the only choice for us. It's a smoking room, but we couldn't smell anything. It's a corner room, facing Main Street. The plus side is a bird's eye view of one of the shootouts. The downside is all the motorcycles are a little loud, but it's part of the ambience. The room and bathroom are good size. The room could have been vacuumed better. There was some trash on the floors around the baseboards. The bathroom was very clean. If you want new, this is not your place. The bedding is old, but the beds are comfortable. The TV is old, but it works. The staircase, doors and woodwork are beautiful. You actually get a real key, not a card. The ground floor is all slot machines. So is every other establishment in Deadwood. The hotel is quiet and interesting. There's a book by the front desk filled with letters and pictures of visitor's ghostly encounters. I would have liked to stay two nights so that we could do the ghost tour, because they only do it once per evening and it conflicted with the Trial of Jack McCall. Even though the kids "didn't believe" they wouldn't sit out in the hallway for 15 minutes by themselves at night. There's no refrigerator in the room. The front desk was very helpful with our medicine. They have their own parking lot behind the building, across the street. The curb was being worked on so no pulling up to the building for luggage loading/unloading. However, the parking attendant had our name even though we got to town in the morning. There are Marriotts and Hiltons everywhere. We chose to stay in a hotel with some personality and it was the right choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Bullock June 28th - July 1st. The room was a little small but it was clean and quiet. The staff was wonderful and were glad to answer any questions we had or tell us ghost stories of what the staff had experienced. We also took the ghost tour, which we enjoyed. The tour is led by a man dressed up as Seth Bullock and he takes you around the hotel and tells you about various stories and happenings in the hotel. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Bullock Hotel and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbruske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed in Room 313 (the most haunted). Can't say we saw or heard anything but the room was great! Even though it is a smoking room, couldn't smell it much. But knew that going in, 3rd floor is the smoking floor. Wonderful staff and nice beds as well.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickiePerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Two nights at the Branch House, an incredible value at $50 a night and a great cozy, romantic escape.

The Branch House is set off from the Bullock Hotel main building. It's quiet, cozy and very stylish. The staff were superb and the accommodations perfect. An extremely relaxing space in a very cool town.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MnKuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I love this hotel,my husband and i stayed in room 305 the bullock suite it was way nicer then i thought it was going to be the juccuzi was huge, yes the room had a few flaws like a couple soft spots on the bathroom floor but the building is from the 1800s the staff was freindly, this is NOT a place to stay if you dont like historic buildings, I loved the furnishings in the room very authentic. We will be going back but during the off season summer prices are way to high.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
#11 of 25 in Deadwood
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Suites
Hickok's Hotel & Suites
#18 of 25 in Deadwood
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bullock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bullock Hotel

Address: 633 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1123
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £40 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bullock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bullock Hotel is a Deadwood Treasure. Experience the history and elegance of Deadwood's first hotel located right on Main Street. All are unique and have been painstakingly restored to the original details that Seth Bullock first envisioned. We have the perfect accommodations for leisure guests or family weekend getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bullock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bullock Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing