We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but my dog wasn't happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

we were moving from Chicago to San Diego, stopping along the way at dog friendly properties. This was one of the few in Deadwood, and it sounded like fun. Unfortunately the 'dog' floor is also the smoking floor, and the cleaning crew forgot to remove a garbage can full of cigarette butts...we don't smoke, and the room smelled TERRIBLE. It took us about an hour to figure out where the smell was coming from.
The dog-friendly part of the hotel is a strip of cinder off the back of the hotel. My large dog would have nothing to do with it, insisting quietly on grass for her activities, LOL. There was a nice parkway and creek across the street, you just had to move fast to cross as it is the main street in town. Worked out okay, just not a perfect situation.
Parking is difficult: it's a casino, so the minimal parking is pretty full. We needed to valet park, and with a german shepherd dog in the car, this was a problem. The Valet was terrified, and there's no way we'd let him take the car/dog/car full of supplies to the underground parking.
The restaurant is good, the room was lovely. As frequent users of the hotel chain (Choice Hotels) we got coupons for the restaurant and for Starbucks, both of which we used. We were across the street from the rodeo, and got to see and hear bits and pieces. Since we couldn't attend (the dog), it was fun to see.
Deadwood is a really cute tourist town. I hope to get back some day. Next time my dog will stay home so I can fully enjoy the property!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonda60103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Cadillac Jacks June 18-21 and really enjoyed our stay. Our room felt luxurious and was very comfortable, quite and clean. The bed was very comfortable, which of course lent itself to a great nights sleep. Check in was ok, my husband and I felt a little confused over the two entrances... it was just after the Marriott opened, so the check-in at Cadillac Jacks almost felt like a back-side, less grand, ho-hum entrance. The new infinity pool and spa just opened and was fantastic and beautiful! The roof retracts and we got to sit in the hottub with a fresh breeze on a beautiful day and it was simply wonderful. However, walking through the casino in our swimsuits was a little awkward; so much so that on our way back to our room we walked outside and came in the Jack's entrance which was near the elevators to our room. We didn't want to walk through the casino dripping wet. We would have preferred walking through the hotel (like on the first level) to get to the Marriott side where the pool is but the doors at the end of our hallway said emergency exit only... however we later found out from staff that we could have went down the stairs. The layout between Cadillac Jacks and the new Marriott, made it feel like two separate hotels that are attached, when they are one hotel. So it was a bit odd and a little confusing walking/navigating between the two properties. I hope they eventually move to a single entrance which would help with confusion inside as well as with parking, valet and loading and unloading parking. Staying at Cadillac Jacks was very convenient and was an easy walk downtown, we walked most nights but there is also a cheap shuttle services that you can take for a buck a person (if I remember correctly). We enjoyed the gaming there also, we just played the slots... and ended up not 'winning', but overall really enjoyed the gaming floor too. Overall we loved our stay and would recommend C.J's to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Deadwood is the old west revisited, including the cemetery where Wild Bill Hickok and Calamity Jane rest side by side (don't miss it for the hilltop view). Cadillac Jack's has spacious, comfortably appointed, quiet rooms and a helpful, friendly staff not to mention a main-level casino and a fun mix of customers. There is an in-house restaurant which serves an expansive breakfast buffet and valet parking is available. A great stop between Rushmore and Sturgis or Devil's Tower or a worthy destination in it's own right.

Room Tip: If you need an extra quiet room, request one away from the elevators as this is a busy place well in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaB1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Have stayed in this hotel several times and never been dissappointed. Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and very nice. Casino always has fun events. Dealers are nice and helpful. Great place to stay if you are traveling to Deadwood, SD.

Room Tip: Beds in King Rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croland999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were on a 16 day trip out west, Cadillac Jacks was one of the first stops we made. We really liked the rooms, clean and large enough for four adults. Loved the make-up mirror and chair!! Also liked the location, easy to get to other attractions or just enjoy the town of Deadwood. Would definitely go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pammartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

“By far the best casino.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013
I have been visiting Deadwood for about 5 years. I am an avid black jack player. Here is what makes Cadillac Jacks my favorite destination. 1). Friendly dealers who remember your name.
2). Dealers who help players who silently offer advise by who is at the table by slowing the pace or hesitating the delivery of cards to match the players speed and ability. 3). Dealers who go the extra mile to help players. For ex I lost a screw my glasses and I did not want to go Spearfish or Rapid City. So during the dealers break the called around to find a place I go locally to get an eye glass repair kit. 4) . All staff were gracious, polite and neat in appearance. 5). Even though I do not play slots, they seem to always have excitement happening with hot seats where slot players get free money to play slots. 6). The older hotel rooms which was built In about 2002 were recently remodeled and are nice, but the new addition of the Spring Hill suites are awesome. You will not find a better hotel anywhere in SD. So try to stay in the new addition if possible but if not you will not be disappointed in the older rooms. 7). Cocktail waitresses are very attentive and hardworking. I hardly ever wait for a beer or my wife a strawberry margarita. 8). The Rock Bottom restaurant has excellent food. Especially the pizza and fries. 9). Valet parking is also nice. 10) . Downtown is just a few blocks away that is an easy walk and if you want, the city does have a shuttle bus that comes about every half hour. Just ask for times. 11). Oh my wife says don't forget the unbelievable pool and hot tub area. Hot tub can sit maybe 20 people and the pool is set up for laps as well as just goofing off. Also they have a handicap lift chair for the pool. 12) . They have a good fitness area and my wife will bring her work out clothes next time we go. 13) . Relax outside at the fire pit that is lit nightly. 14). Enjoy the free breakfast at the hotel for hotel guests. 15). SMOKE FREE at the tables because SD does not allow smoking so Cadillac Jacks built an enclosed smoking area without a door that is heated and air conditioned. 15). Lastly if you see the manager, Tim A. stop and let him know how you have been treated. His goal is to be the best and never be less than that. He is why Cadillac Jacks is the best casino around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vsblackjackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah R, General Manager at Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thanks for naming us #1 in your book! Our team works hard to be the best at creating an environment that folks will want to return to, and your loyalty is a testament to their success. I can tell you that when we are able to make your trip better, our team is having as much fun as you are. Thank you again for the compliments and praise. Your recommendation and kind words are sincerely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We would like to thank everyone at Cadillac Jacks Gaming resort. Everyone was so gracious and really helpful. Alyssia was our check-in person and she was so helpful. Answered all of our questions and suggested different places to go and visit. Rob was a great bartender very nice man. Megan and Whittney were our waitresses in the restaurant. They were both very good at their jobs. We would recommend anyone to stay at Cadillac Jacks.

Room Tip: The room was very clean. We had two queen beds. Very spacious. The view wasn't much to see out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah R, General Manager at Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with others. We strive to provide all our guests with excellent service with a smile. We hope to see you again on your next trip to historic Deadwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.9 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.6 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites

Address: 360 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1236
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#8 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#8 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#9 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £40 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaming is only the beginning at Cadillac Jack's! Book a room at Cadillac Jack's Hotel & Suites, then hit it big on a gaming floor that houses hundreds of state-of-the-art slot machines, plus many exciting live table games. You're also invited to enjoy a drink and a meal at Brown Rock Sports Cafe, our on-site full-service restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel & Suites Deadwood At Cadillac Jack`s Gaming Deadwood
Americinn Hotel And Suites Deadwood At Cadillac Jack`s Gaming Resort
Americinn Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Americinn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing