We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The price was right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The price was right”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The room was $29.99 a night, great price. The room was small , a very old feeling. I had a nice view of the street. It's a room you don't want to spend a lot of time in. I felt a sense of Gloom, for some reason. The Casino was nice. I would go back again and stay there. It was a lot Fun. Free Drinks, Cheap room in Deadwood. What else do you want?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    64
    40
    34
    59
See reviews for
46
116
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

First of all, the hotel itself is stunning. Absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Mary Hart Suite, which was two separate bedrooms and a sitting room, an blessing for a family with two pre-teens. I can't speak for the other rooms in the hotel, but before you stay here, you should know that there is an attempt to keep the rooms as authentic as possible while still offering modern conveniences. Each room had a flat screen television and multiple outlets for phone chargers, laptops, straighteners, etc. The room had an amazing view of Deadwood and we were able to watch the daily shootout from our hotel room.

What we enjoyed most about the hotel was that it was old fashioned. Tall ceilings, antique furniture and lighting, mosaic tile floor in the bathroom (which was small but acceptable). I understand that "old fashioned" isn't for everyone. But it is for us and we were very happy with our stay. Friendly staff, great casino and the veranda is a fun way to spend a Friday night. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing downtown, or else you're just staring at other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoffBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We just spent four nights at the Franklin Hotel. The main floor--Casino was great. The room we had was dated, had huge cracks in the walls, very crooked floors and old furniture. The staff were great and the casino experience was good also. There is so much they could do to the rooms that would make them a little more attractive. Hopefully they plan to continue renovating for there is much work to be done.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harleydude2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deadwood hotels

Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

*** CASINO REVIEW ONLY ***

My partner and I stopped here the first night in Deadwood as we had a positive experience the last time in town over 7 years ago.

While the casino was very quiet (it was later on a Sunday night), the wait staff was very attentive and asked us if we wanted a drink within 5-10 minutes of sitting down at a machine. She was very friendly and kept tabs on us the rest of the night as we moved around the casino.

Machines seemed to be a bit tight, but we still had a good time.

Definitely will be back to this casino the next time we visit Deadwood!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazmaniandvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselton, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here for our first anniversary. Retracing some history, we stayed here for our 25th. We were able to get the same room! Things haven't changed and that is what we liked. Make sure you enjoy a cold one on the Veranda!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I have to agree with the person who titled their review, "“Historic, in all the BEST ways.” I was looking for authentic and old and I found it. Sure there were some cracks in the walls. What else would you expect in an historic building? We also had a corner room and claw-foot tub. We stayed 2 nights. I understand that a lot of the old parts have been torn out and redone. That is a shame.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kscdlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerson, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

You have to appreciate history to enjoy the Franklin. if you like unique, historic, and character you will like the Franklin. I do not like what they have done to the down stairs..it actually used to have an elevator operator. a front desk with cubbyholes and several little hidden rooms all over the downstairs very quaint and historic..now it is all slot machines. I guess it is all about the dollar. But the upstairs has been left original.

Room Tip: I like the "front" rooms because I like to look out over the street; however they are a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julesvanhalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
#17 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Dick's
Deadwood Dick's
#20 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Martin Mason Hotel
Martin Mason Hotel
#15 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex

Property: Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Address: 709 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1011
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel and Gaming Complex is located at the Top of Main in the Historic town of Deadwood, SD. The Silverado & Franklin feature over 375 state of the art slot machines, 22-blackjack tables and 5 live poker tables in one of Deadwood's most elegant poker rooms. Callahan's Irish Pub and the Veranda (seasonal) serve all of your favorite spirits as does the lounge at the Silverado. All you can eat Crab and Prime Rib Buffet every Friday and Saturday. Deadwood's Premier Steakhouse - Legends Steakhouse serves breakfast and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel And Gaming Complex
Silverado Franklin Historic Deadwood
Historic Franklin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing