We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont read the bad reviews, awesome old style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dont read the bad reviews, awesome old style hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Im astounded by all the bad reviews here. This hotel is the most prominent in town with the best possible location. Its like a time-warp going back into the late 1800s or early 1900s. Everything is like it was but with some modern comforts. For the price I paid ($40) per night it was the best value hotel that I stayed in the whole of America. Rooms were clean and quaint and the hotel provided all the old style decorations. You wont be disappointed for the price, location and nostalgic experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris72Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    66
    42
    35
    60
See reviews for
51
118
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Richland, MN
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here in June of 2013. We wanted to experience something with character. The first floor is beautiful since it is a casino, but the rooms are not. We were not warned. Ask to see the room before you check it. There just are not the amenities for basic comfort. The bathrooms were very small and uncomfortable. Not worth the price or the character. We were there during the week, so finding a place to eat downtown at night was difficult. They must cater to the weekend crowd. There was a buffet across the street, but expensive. We are not gamblers, so that is the crowd they cater too. Not our cup of tea. Probably won't go back.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the chain hotel/motels and walk downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PABNewRichland_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deadwood hotels

Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

I read reviews on the place and they were not the best. I do not know what people are expecting. We went in the offseason and for 39.99 the place was great. The buffet was wonderful the staff was fantastic. If you like deadwood history stay here. If you are looking for a fancy place go to vegas. The hotel was everything I expected for a historic building tons of personality. It was clean the beds were comfy the casino was good. I will stay again when I come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Yellow1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Room smelled like urine. Woke up to find out it was on the bedspread. Comforting fact to know I was sleeping in someone else's urine all night. Discussed with manager at check out, and got a whopping $20 off my stay. I've stayed with The Franklin every time I've gone to Deadwood, including my wedding night. They have just lost a customer because I will never walk in another one of their rooms again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank justmelil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our first trip to Deadwood we stayed at the Franklin, before it was named Silverado and before gaming was available in Deadwood. It was such an amazing experience to walk down the old streets and stand on the veranda outside our room, the John Wayne room. This place had loads of character back then. Much of that has now been lost with the influx of gaming and we were not please with the way they turned the beautiful old lobby into a slot machine area. Sad as that was, the small rooms remained charming and clean. Minimal yet functional for the sake of gaming.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keegans_mom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We love all the historic buildings in Deadwood, and the Franklin Hotel is no exception. Beautiful old building, full of quirky character. Unfortunately, I don't believe the Silverado Gaming complex is managing this old beauty the best they could. The downstairs has been renovated in big-budget, Reno / Vegas gaudy casino style, which is flashy and eye-catching, and has a certain beauty, but resulted in the loss of the hotel's original historic features (massive fireplace, parquet floors, period appropriate lighting fixtures, old elevator, assorted other original architectural features). As for the hotel rooms, they retain a lot of quirky, historic character, but you can definitely see that all the renovation funds went to the casino, not to the rooms. The carpeting is tired and dingy, the furnishings sparce, paint is peeling, et cetera... the rooms could really use a freshening. Still, we enjoyed the quirky old room we had for our three night stay, and I am not bothered by old rooms or old carpet, none of that adversely affected our stay -what affected our stay was the rock hard, uncomfortable bed, and the complete lack of any hot water in the mornings.
Usually, I rate all historic hotels very highly as I enjoy all the quirks that come with vintage lodgings, but the uncomfortable bed and luke-warm to cold water in the mornings set this review to average..
That being said, we stayed on weeknights in the off season, and the rate for our Historic room with a view of downtown Deadwood and a window that opened directly to the upper veranda was only $39.99 a night. The room was definitely worth that price, regardless of shortcomings.

Room Tip: If you choose a smoking room, be prepared for a serious cigarette odor. As a smoker who can't al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty_bee_Wyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south dakota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The rooms are small but they were clean. We stayed end of Nov and didn't have to turn the heat on at all. All the staff was great, and its right on main street, this was big whoo hooo!!!!
It is old but that's why they call it "Historic." We had hot water every morning and also had good
water pressure for showering and what not. No complaints when our group got alittle loud either :) We will stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtb355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
#16 of 24 in Deadwood
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Dick's
Deadwood Dick's
#20 of 24 in Deadwood
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex

Property: Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Address: 709 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1011
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel and Gaming Complex is located at the Top of Main in the Historic town of Deadwood, SD. The Silverado & Franklin feature over 375 state of the art slot machines, 22-blackjack tables and 5 live poker tables in one of Deadwood's most elegant poker rooms. Callahan's Irish Pub and the Veranda (seasonal) serve all of your favorite spirits as does the lounge at the Silverado. All you can eat Crab and Prime Rib Buffet every Friday and Saturday. Deadwood's Premier Steakhouse - Legends Steakhouse serves breakfast and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel And Gaming Complex
Silverado Franklin Historic Deadwood
Historic Franklin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing