We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value.”
Review of First Gold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Gold Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Pleasantly surprised by our accommodations at the First Gold Hotel. Two queen beds, upper floor, facing out the back of hotel (so as to avoid the street noise). The room was appointed with basic necessities as far as toiletries and coffee pot, etc. Shower and toilet were updated. Beds were done in very nice updated blue decor. Our stay was for one night, mid-week in May. The hotel was not crowed, so we were able to enjoy a quiet night for much needed sleep. At first I thought this was one of a few big gambling places in town; then we walked to the old town area and realized that virtually every place had gambling and lots of slot machines. Not being a gambler, I was able to ignore this and enjoy the cute town anyway. This hotel was exactly what we were looking for -- clean, quiet, reasonable. I would definately recommend for someone wanting a very decent, well priced hotel.

Room Tip: Reading other reviews I was forewarned about street noise so deliberately asked for a room in the ba...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheeryOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your review - we're glad you found the hotel to your liking and hope you'll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for First Gold Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

My granddaughter and I stayed at the First Gold Hotel on June 29th for one night. Our room wasn't fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. The only thing that needed improvement was the wifi signal - it went in and out which to a 16 year old is annoying. Then again, what isn't to a 16 year old? (haha)

Check in was easy as was access to our room. Deb (I think that was her name) was very helpful in letting us know our food options. I got food at the deli of the casino and was pleased with the large portions. There is a shuttle available to the casino (down a small hill) but it was a nice little walk in the cool air.

The beverage service at the casino was also wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your review! Sorry to hear that the wi-fi was spotty; there are repeaters for each building and on each floor which ordinarily makes for a strong signal everywhere, but we'll be sure to check the signal strengths to make sure coverage is optimal. Very glad to hear every other part of your visit was to your liking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great nights stay, away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown. Just on the outskirts of town. Easy check in and out. Casino was clean, staff helpful . Great breakfast buffet. Stay in main building if possible, that's where all the action is, but they do have a shuttle that runs between the buildings, didn't have to use it, but heard the staff call for the shuttle several times.

Room Tip: If possible stay in the main bldg.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HobbsRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review! We do have carts that run between the buildings - including a new 6-person cart (with some pretty terrific lighting) that we just started using today!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a late check in and it was nearly impossible to get checked in. When getting our room number we asked the clerk how to get there only to find it was in another building, and to get there you had to go outside, up and down stairs, through corridors, etc. It was not very pleasant with children dragging the outside to what is technically a motel with outside access to your room. The room itself had a small TV, hard beds, thin walls and doors, and smelled bad. The breakfast buffet was ok, but the atmosphere was less than desirable in the dark basement. I was not overly impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunterwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Very sorry to hear you did not have a top-quality experience last year. First Gold does include three buildings for the hotel rooms, and we do try to make sure we let guests know the most efficient way to get to their room. We do hope you communicated your concerns to the front desk, because we pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Gaming hotel. Fairly new and very clean. Somewhat disjointed with three buildings. Very good location on the edge of town. Great town with an abundance of charm. The casino is very clean and the service is great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your comments - we definitely want to provide clean rooms and friendly service, and we're glad you experienced both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very wonderful hotel in Deadwood. First Gold is at the north end of town away from a lot of the hustle and noise. Very quiet comfortable room. Very friendly staff. Check in was easy and check out was fast. A real good place to stay in Deadwood to enjoy and you are only 1 hour east of the all the Black Hills attraction, Rushmore,Custer State Park and Crazy Horse. Food was excellent and casino was fun.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed every part of your stay with us - we definitely pride ourselves on every part of the team that works to make the lodging, dining, and gaming parts of First Gold work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were given a prize that was a complimentary stay here. We liked the hotel a lot. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We had a great view of the mountainside from our room. The location of the hotel was convenient to a lot of tourist attractions. Staff that we met were all very friendly and helpful.
We tried the dinner and breakfast buffetts. They were pretty good. The Prime Rib and Crab Legs were a nice treat.
Good choice when visiting Deadwood.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Congratulations on winning a stay in Deadwood - we're very glad it was with us and that you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
720 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
535 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#8 of 24 in Deadwood
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Gold Hotel

Address: 270 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £46 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Gold Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Gold Hotel & Gaming- "It's Where Deadwood Begins". Largest hotel property in Deadwood with 195 deluxe hotel rooms and 5 luxurious suites. We serve 3 Buffets everyday, featuring made to order omelets for breakfast, daily lunch specials and USDA Choice Prime Rib nightly. 11 Casino's filled with all your favorite slot machines and live blackjack table games. Free on-site parking including a covered parking garage, Free beer, wine and cocktails to players, Free Wi-Fi internet and Free Gold Club Players Card make First Gold Hotel your First Stop In Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your First Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Gold Hotel
First Gold Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing