We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay but not within close walking distance to town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of First Gold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Gold Hotel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
170 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay but not within close walking distance to town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

First Gold is a very nice and clean hotel. We enjoyed our stay and Terry was very prompt with communication. There were around 10 in our party who are older and not quite up to the walking aspect, even though First Gold has a shuttle, the shuttle only goes between the hotel's properties. To catch the Trolley one must walk down to Cadillac Jacks, which is quite a distance for some people. Walking downtown is for those who are used to walking and don't mind the distance. The meals offered were good and are buffet-style which gives everyone a nice variety. The hotel also offers a Players Club for those staying at the hotel. This is a free service. Terry was great to work with and met our group with cookies and cases of water on our departure. The staff was both friendly and courteous. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel - and Terry is definitely one of the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    93
    57
    25
    13
See reviews for
51
116
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The king bed was the most comfortable bed in any hotel I've slept in for a long time. The bath room is quite small, no tub, only a shower sized for one. Very quiet however, I didn't hear a sound all night though there were kids and babies on our floor. The AC was great. A must in summer.

There are no amenities like a breakfast most popular in other chains now. You can go down the hill about 100' to their breakfast buffet for $11 / Person. There is the traditional tiny coffee maker in the room.

The WiFi reception was not possible in our room as advertised. If you need WiFi, go to the room area they assigned you and check first.

For $100 a night for my wife and I, I'd have selected another hotel quite honestly.

Room Tip: If you need the WiFi, I think closer to the main office area may have been needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review - glad to hear you had a comfortable, quiet stay! For the wi-fi, there are repeaters in each building and on each floor so there should be a good signal but as noted in a previous review, we will check the signal strengths to make sure all rooms are covered properly - we appreciate your letting us know there was an issue. While there is no dining in the upper building, there are carts meant to bring people from one building to the next so everyone staying at First Gold can enjoy our buffets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Pleasantly surprised by our accommodations at the First Gold Hotel. Two queen beds, upper floor, facing out the back of hotel (so as to avoid the street noise). The room was appointed with basic necessities as far as toiletries and coffee pot, etc. Shower and toilet were updated. Beds were done in very nice updated blue decor. Our stay was for one night, mid-week in May. The hotel was not crowed, so we were able to enjoy a quiet night for much needed sleep. At first I thought this was one of a few big gambling places in town; then we walked to the old town area and realized that virtually every place had gambling and lots of slot machines. Not being a gambler, I was able to ignore this and enjoy the cute town anyway. This hotel was exactly what we were looking for -- clean, quiet, reasonable. I would definately recommend for someone wanting a very decent, well priced hotel.

Room Tip: Reading other reviews I was forewarned about street noise so deliberately asked for a room in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheeryOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review - we're glad you found the hotel to your liking and hope you'll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My granddaughter and I stayed at the First Gold Hotel on June 29th for one night. Our room wasn't fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. The only thing that needed improvement was the wifi signal - it went in and out which to a 16 year old is annoying. Then again, what isn't to a 16 year old? (haha)

Check in was easy as was access to our room. Deb (I think that was her name) was very helpful in letting us know our food options. I got food at the deli of the casino and was pleased with the large portions. There is a shuttle available to the casino (down a small hill) but it was a nice little walk in the cool air.

The beverage service at the casino was also wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review! Sorry to hear that the wi-fi was spotty; there are repeaters for each building and on each floor which ordinarily makes for a strong signal everywhere, but we'll be sure to check the signal strengths to make sure coverage is optimal. Very glad to hear every other part of your visit was to your liking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great nights stay, away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown. Just on the outskirts of town. Easy check in and out. Casino was clean, staff helpful . Great breakfast buffet. Stay in main building if possible, that's where all the action is, but they do have a shuttle that runs between the buildings, didn't have to use it, but heard the staff call for the shuttle several times.

Room Tip: If possible stay in the main bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobbsRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review! We do have carts that run between the buildings - including a new 6-person cart (with some pretty terrific lighting) that we just started using today!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, ND
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a late check in and it was nearly impossible to get checked in. When getting our room number we asked the clerk how to get there only to find it was in another building, and to get there you had to go outside, up and down stairs, through corridors, etc. It was not very pleasant with children dragging the outside to what is technically a motel with outside access to your room. The room itself had a small TV, hard beds, thin walls and doors, and smelled bad. The breakfast buffet was ok, but the atmosphere was less than desirable in the dark basement. I was not overly impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunterwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Very sorry to hear you did not have a top-quality experience last year. First Gold does include three buildings for the hotel rooms, and we do try to make sure we let guests know the most efficient way to get to their room. We do hope you communicated your concerns to the front desk, because we pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Deadwood hotels

Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Gaming hotel. Fairly new and very clean. Somewhat disjointed with three buildings. Very good location on the edge of town. Great town with an abundance of charm. The casino is very clean and the service is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGustafson, Affiliate at First Gold Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your comments - we definitely want to provide clean rooms and friendly service, and we're glad you experienced both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Gold Hotel

Property: First Gold Hotel
Address: 270 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — First Gold Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Gold Hotel & Gaming- "It's Where Deadwood Begins". Largest hotel property in Deadwood with 195 deluxe hotel rooms and 5 luxurious suites. We serve 3 Buffets everyday, featuring made to order omelets for breakfast, daily lunch specials and USDA Choice Prime Rib nightly. 11 Casino's filled with all your favorite slot machines and live blackjack table games. Free on-site parking including a covered parking garage, Free beer, wine and cocktails to players, Free Wi-Fi internet and Free Gold Club Players Card make First Gold Hotel your First Stop In Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Gold Hotel
First Gold Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing