We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Celebrity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed September 27th and loved the hotel and our room. We came without a reservation so we could check things out in town fell in love with the location. Heather at the front desk gave us room 219, a king mini suite which over looked Main Street. Beautiful room. Nicely decorated. Free wine and beer while we gambled. Great bed. Need better lighting at the vanity in the bathroom. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Nursusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Celebrity is absolutely a fantastic place to stay. Love the room 204 Elvis Prestley Room. We love the deck which overlooks Main Street Deadwood. The staff are fantastic. This was our 2nd time here (brought my brother and sister in law) they loved it also. We will defininately be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

What a wonderful time we had again. This hotel is excellent. We love the staff and the service is great. We stayed in Room 203 (John Wayne Suite), the rooms was very clean and spacious. Loved the warm towel in the bathroom. The only thing missing was Wi-Fi. Looking forward to our next stay at the Celebrity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germangirl12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Celebrity Hotel for 4 nights. When we made our reservations, my husband mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary. This was obviously noted by the reservation staff, as we were greeted by champagne chilling in our room upon arrival! The care and service we received by the staff continued throughout our entire stay. The housekeeping staff was phenomenal, the wait staff offered us free drinks as soon as we entered the casino (and continued to refresh our drinks), and the hotel staff was knowledgeable and helpful. It was a great extra bonus to get free Nathan’s hotdogs each evening! Overall, our stay was wonderful, and we would definitely stay at the Celebrity again. I do believe that is the highest compliment you can give to a hotel!!! The staff at the Celebrity certainly made us feel like celebrities!

Room Tip: Be sure to verify that you room is "in the hotel" rather than at the "Branch House!&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karensue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked this hotel months in advance of our stay after reading favourable reviews on Trip Advisor. After a lovely day in the Black Hills we arrived in Deadwood parked up and found the hotel. We gave the receptionist our details and she then informed us that our room was NOT in the hotel but across the road above some shop called Madame Peacocks. We were not happy but despite our protests all the receptionist kept saying was "you will love this place". NO WE DID NOT!!!. There was a narrow staircase which went through a door straight off the pavement (sidewalk). The apartment was right at the back of the building with absolutely nothing to look at but roof tops and air-conditioning units. It was depressing. To be fair it was nicely furnished but after looking forward to staying in a hotel we certainly did not relish the thought of being stuck here on our own. After lots of ringing round and searching we did eventually secure a room elsewhere which I will review. We certainly did not like the attitude of the receptionist who thought she knew what we would like better than we knew ourselves. If you book the Celebrity Hotel make sure that is where you will be staying as they also have another annexe called the Branch House. There was never any mention on any correspondence we received that our room was not in the main building. To be fair to the hotel we did receive a full refund.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank WaltzingMatilda06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G, General Manager at Celebrity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for your input on Room 302. Both Room 302 and the Branch House are located off site. I checked your reservation because my Front Desk personnel are trained to inform the customer that those rooms aor located off site. Since you booked through the internet I checked the web site and it clearly stated that the Branch House is off site but it did not state that Room 302 was also located off site. I have since corrected that web site. It was unfortunate that the main street location of the Room 302 was not to your liking. I do appreciate you telling me that the room was very nice and that the front desk clerk handled the situation the best way she could.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Four couples met in Deadwood for the weekend. We actually stayed in The Branch House behind the Celebrity. The Branch House only has eight rooms, four on the ground level, four upstairs. The rooms are beautiful! The rooms are Clean! The building is quiet. We were just behind the main hotel, which is on main street, downtown where all the action is. And parking is just outside the Branch House, in a lot that has an attendant. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherryG888BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Well...the room was pleasant. We stayed in room 210 which had direct access to the sun deck. That was great but the glass doors/windows to the sundeck only had room darkening curtain and no sheers so there was little privacy when other guests were out on the sundeck. The sundeck was nice. Especially when watching the gun fight. We had a private deck outside our room on the sundeck. Which was nice but we never took advantage of it.The room itself was decent. We had a separate living room and huge bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. The towels were scented. Not too bad. Our daughters were in room 104. that room was perfect for them as their room was in its own little corner. So they could be as loud as they wanted. Both rooms for the most part was clean. The head board on our bed was a bit worn and spotted with stains. And a couple of our pillows had stray hairs on them. One of our daughters was slightly disgusted with the bed linens. Apparently one of the pillow cases was stained on both sides. why housekeeping would even put anything stained on the beds is beyond me. Our patio had an ashtray and it was dirty with old cigarettes. It was as if no one ever bothered to empty the ashtray. The hotel as whole is ok. They offer continental breakfast which our daughters made sure to get every morning. No room service at least I don't think there was any. The location is perfect, right on Main street and easy to find. The layout of the hotel is a bit odd. We were on the 2nd floor and our girls were on the 1st floor. But in order for us to get to their room we had to go thru the casino to the opposite side. The check in staff was great. no problems checking in or out. if you're looking for a 5 star hotel with room service, gym, spa, concierge desk then this isn't it and you probably won't find that within Deadwood or in any of the surrounding areas. But if you're not picky, want nice looking rooms and a hotel with a good location then this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassnsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 25 in Deadwood
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity Hotel

Address: 629 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: £38 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celebrity Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the famous Celebrity. A beautiful hotel located on historic main street. Elaborate grand lobby with massive crystal chandeliers, carved mahogany woodwork and gilded ceilings. Our Victorian rooms have quality reproduction antique furniture,while our luxury rooms feature marble and granite bathrooms, separate glass showers and bathtubs,fireplaces, whirlpools, hot towel warmers, safes, free Wi- Fi, free continental breakfast bar, on-site parking, courteous staff and spotless accommodations. Casino and over 75 movie memorabilia displays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celebrity Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing