We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel!”
Review of Celebrity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We actually won a gift certificate at a fundraiser for this hotel. We live in a town close to Deadwood and decided to spend our anniversary there. It was great. The rooms are small but the attention to detail was amazing. It was immaculate, quiet, the linens were great, the decorating was upscale, the staff was wonderful... you get the idea! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Deadwood.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    187
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
119
410
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartley
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Over the last 17 years we've stayed a variety of places in Deadwood but we always come back here. And honestly, we've looked at other hotels of late but for the last ten years we have stayed exclusively here. The staff is helpful, personal and in general just awesome. They make you feel like you're at home only without the hassle of home. It is clean, clean, clean! It's got a wonderful main street location so everything is within walking distance. On Friday and Saturday nights they open up a couple of black jack tables and the dealers are just another reflection of how friendly and efficient this place is. I can't say enough good things about The Celebrity. Really!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We have been staying at the Celebrity Hotel in Deadwood for a number of years for our annual snowmobiling trip in Mid-February and the stay is always great. The hotel is always VERY CLEAN from the lobby and casino area to the rooms and the adjoining parking lot. Parking can be a problem in Deadwood so having their own adjoining parking lot is a plus. When we stay in the winter we have three couples with trucks and snowmobile trailers and they also have a parking lot across the street on the back side of the hotel which is just a short walk to the Hotel.When we arrive our rooms are always ready to check in to and the housekeeping staff is always very helpful to any of our needs. The rest of the staff always knows us by our first names year after year and take very good care of us. They have a very nice beer and wine bar in the hotel which is great for a wind down beverage after a day snowmobiling. They also have an outside deck on the second floor of the hotel that faces main street which is very nice in the summer to watch many of Deadwood's street events and parades that they have.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Place has a neat vibe, but what separates it is the customer service. Corey in the bar is great, we always stop to visit him even if we aren't staying. This trip we forgot a phone charger and a clothin item. we called and asked them to look. they did, and tried to phone us but had an old number. so they emailed us telling us the items were both found. we are headed back in 2 weeks so they said the items would be waiting for us. and, i am sure....with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seahawx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My 30th year attending Black Hills Regional Ski for Light and My 8 or 9th year staying at the Celebrity. My stay here is always enjoyable and convenient. Pretty much the same staff over the years which says a lot. I always get the same room so it's like "coming home for a visit." Parking couldn't be any more accessible especially considering this is Deadwood. Unlike some hotels in Deadwood, there are no noise problems from people walking down the street after bar-closing banging on the windows and the like. The rooms are clean, well-kept, and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you get there early in afternoon, there is a parking lot right next to the hotel. This fills qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Rented a room in the main hotel for the first night and it was nice and cozy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking for my bike and trailer was convenient. The rest of our stay we were able to stay in a condo across the street. The condo was huge and it overlook the main drag in Deadwood.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What a find! The MLK holiday gave us the opportunity to head to Deadwood for the weekend. We normally stay in Rapid City when we’re in the area but decided to give one of the historic hotels a try.
Making our reservation was easy enough and we able to get a room in the hotel proper.
We arrived before the check-in time of 4:00 p.m. but didn’t have to wait too long before we were able to get into our room. I felt the front desk staff was accommodating regarding getting us settled as quickly as possible.
The room was lovely. The king-sized bed and armoire (which has space for hanging clothes and then a large closet for other storage and houses the ironing board) take up most of the room but there was still enough comfortable space to sit at the small table. The bed was comfortable and I loved the pillows! The heat and AC is thermostatically controlled and a bit loud but, the room maintained a good temperature and the heat rarely came on.
On to the bathroom. It was beautiful! The vanity had plenty of room for two people to stash their toiletries. The complimentary bath products were a step above the norm and nicely displayed. The tub and shower are separate units and both were well maintained. The whole place was very clean, probably the cleanest hotel room I’ve stayed in for a very long time. There was a hint of fragrance after the housekeeping visit but it was not overpowering and it was not used to cover up any unpleasant odors.
There is a small coffee pot in the room but no refrigerator or microwave.
When we made our reservation we were told we would be in room 101. That made me a bit nervous. The hallway to the first floor rooms is separated from the casino by a door and we were the first room through the door – now I was even more concerned since I am a light sleeper and easily disturbed by noise. I was astounded! There was very little noise! I later asked how many guests had been there during our stay and was told the hotel had been full! There really wasn’t any noise from outside, and only minimal sound from the casino and adjoining rooms. The only problem I noted was from a door that seemed to be upstairs – it slammed. My guess is the return wasn’t properly adjusted and I made this known when we checked out. As we were walking away from the front desk, I heard a conversation regarding the issue being addressed with maintenance, talk about taking prompt action!
A continental breakfast is served in the morning and I won’t give it high marks but, for a hotel that doesn’t have a restaurant, it’s notable that it’s offered at all.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room was nice in ambiance, cleanliness and comfort. There is a nice sized casino, a bar and smoking room. I’m almost reluctant to give this such a great rating because I always want to be able to get a room when I go back – lol. As long as there’s room at the Celebrity, we’ll never stay in Rapid City again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeanderingMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity Hotel

Property: Celebrity Hotel
Address: 629 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celebrity Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the famous Celebrity. A beautiful hotel located on historic main street. Elaborate grand lobby with massive crystal chandeliers, carved mahogany woodwork and gilded ceilings. Our Victorian rooms have quality reproduction antique furniture,while our luxury rooms feature marble and granite bathrooms, separate glass showers and bathtubs,fireplaces, whirlpools, hot towel warmers, safes, free Wi- Fi, free continental breakfast bar, on-site parking, courteous staff and spotless accommodations. Casino and over 75 movie memorabilia displays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celebrity Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing