We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celebrity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
portsmouth,va
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This hotel is a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We loved staying in this hotel.
The room was small but luxurious and the bathroom made us feel pampered. This is an older hotel right in the center of town and was tastefully decorated. It was quiet-we slept well and then had a continental breakfast downstairs in the casino where we had fun checking out celebrity memorabilia. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again if I were to be in this wonderful historic area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank turtlelover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G, Manager at Celebrity Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and staff. We love getting response back from our guest it helps us keep up with our daily task and helps us all improve. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful black hills. There is al ot to see and do here in the hills so please come on back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    164
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
101
368
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We drove out to Deadwood SD from Wisconsin to get Married. We had a number of recommendations and decided to stay at the Celebrity Hotel-Which was a perfect choice. Very cool decor and the hotel staff made us feel like family. We came as tourists and left with some awesome new friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G, Manager at Celebrity Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel and staff while you were here for your wedding. Most of our staff have been with us a long time and we are like one huge family here. We hope your wedding day was a very blessed day and hope you will come back and see us on your next anniversary. Congratulations on your wedding from the management and staff of the Celebrity Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at the Celebrity Hotel this past September and I would rate the hotel on a scale of 1-10, a 10! The hotel was located conveniently to the town and restaurants. The hotel staff was most helpful; from helping with our luggage to restaurant suggestions in the area. Our room was a little small, but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom with the large tiled shower and ceramic tile floor was beautiful. Also loved the headed towel rack. We also enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting one night. Would definitely recommend you stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G, Manager at Celebrity Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Ina,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. September is a beautiful month to come for a visit to the Black Hills and see the fall colors. We hope while you stayed with us you were able to enjoy our beautiful out door deck. It is the perfect place to people watch or sit out and read a good book. We hope next time you are in our area that you come and stay with us again. In the summer time Deadwood offers many special events from gun fights, rodeos, classic cars and main street concerts to motorcycle rally's and parades. If you get a chance you should definitely check out the special events Deadwood offers. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Celebrity is definitely our favorite place to stay in Deadwood. The staff is always friendly and helpful. We have stayed at this hotel many times and have never had a bad experience here. I have never noticed any noise from the street like we will often hear at other hotels that are on the main street. The rooms are very spacious, nicely decorated and the bathrooms are nice and big. The gaming area also features many displays of artifacts from movie sets that are always fun to look at. We guarantee that you will not regret staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G, Manager at Celebrity Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Rhonda
How funny you would mention our movie memorabilia collection. We have over 80 displays of movie memorabilia that sometimes gets over looked with everything else that happens in Deadwood. We try to update our collection often, we even have a fun scavenger hunt that you can do on a smart phone or just ask at the front desk for the questionnaire on our movie collection. If you answer 7 out of the 10 questions correct you can get free play or a surprise gift just for doing our survey. We are extremely glad you liked our rooms as well, thank you so much for your review of our hotel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryside, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at the Celebrity Hotel in September 2013. The room was comfortable, nicely decorated, and spacious. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to answer questions and provide service. The gaming area was convenient and offered a variety of choices. The Nathan's hotdogs in the early evening were a nice touch. The location was a longer drive from some of the monuments we visited than other towns might have been, but Deadwood in the evening was nice and the overall experience good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G, Manager at Celebrity Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the old town of Deadwood. We are rich in history of the area and are glad you enjoyed the staff. Most of our staff are locals from the area and are very well informed about the different vacation things one person can do while visiting Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We try to go to the Hills at least twice a year with our neighbors and always stay at the Celebrity. This is a great place! Friendly staff that know us by name, familar & comfortable rooms, and a great central location. The locations works for us as we take day trips, both north and south and also are able to walk the town of Deadwood. We have been coming here for at least 6-7 years and will be back soon. If you go to deadwood - this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G, Manager at Celebrity Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hello John We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Celebrity Hotel and the historic town of Deadwood. The staff have been with us a long time, and it is always fun and exciting for us to get to know a new face and start calling you by first names. We feel the same, it is fun inviting old friends back, it is like a family reunion for us as well. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you next time your in Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I our anniversary at the Celebrity Hotel in Deadwood in September and had a lovely stay. This was our second stay there in one of the lovely suites. As in our first stay, the room was very nice with all of the amenities (large jetted soaker tub with separate large glassed in shower). The staff is so kind and gracious, thank you Celebrity Hotel!

Room Tip: Try the suites, they are lovely and really worth the extra charge, Free parking on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken G, Manager at Celebrity Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Mary, I am so happy you celebrated your anniversary with us and enjoyed one of our luxury suites. Thank you so much for the review we look forward to reading these reviews to help us and our staff improve in our customer service. We wish you a happy anniversary and hope you plan on coming back next year to celebrate another year with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity Hotel

Property: Celebrity Hotel
Address: 629 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celebrity Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the famous Celebrity. A beautiful hotel located on historic main street. Elaborate grand lobby with massive crystal chandeliers, carved mahogany woodwork and gilded ceilings. Our Victorian rooms have quality reproduction antique furniture,while our luxury rooms feature marble and granite bathrooms, separate glass showers and bathtubs,fireplaces, whirlpools, hot towel warmers, safes, free Wi- Fi, free continental breakfast bar, on-site parking, courteous staff and spotless accommodations. Casino and over 75 movie memorabilia displays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celebrity Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing