We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Celebrity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Got a deal on the rate due to the area slowing down. Had gotten quotes from the neighbors, didn't go as low. 79+tax. Spooky town. Nice hotel. Loved having something to look at other then gambling. They have some old movie props. It was a nice addition. The room was beautiful, and the bathroom & especially stand-up shower breath-taking marble. It is a busy place, but desk people were pleasant. Basic breakfast items. Asked for help in finding desert, and front desk really tried to help to no avail. Directed next door whose restaurant was closed for a private party.

Fun place for a history buff even with the gambling!

Bed was a bit hard. Slept a bit rough.

Overall a great experience, and I am not a gambler either.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehippie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    187
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
119
410
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rossville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

we stayed one night and had a great time, the room was nice. it was fun to stay in a historic hotel. We enjoyed Deadwood, we took the Boot Hill tour and we saw the reenactment of Wild Bill Hickock being shot. My husband had a role as the owner of the saloon. The hotel has a car museum, movie memorabilia and a casino. I highly recommend this hotel. I f you are a smoker ask for room 202, the Marily Monroe room.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maryh987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

i chose this hotel based on the reviews of this webisite. I was truly disappointed. i stayed for 3 days of the the week in the area. i had a luxury king room. after driving all day i just want a clean room with comfortable bed. the room is small and the decor is nice. but the most uncomfortable bed ever-you will wake up with sore hips, back and neck. the sheets are so old they don't fit bed and have nubbies on them-i thought at first there was sand in bed. only 3 pillows and all lumpy. the cabinet had door that wouldn't close so light stayed on all nite. i told front desk and took 2 times to get off. then both nities at 3 am the room next to me had a jacuzzi tub and so ran the water and jets so i was awaken each nite for 1/2 hr. i tried to change hotels but was a weekend and no openings.
deadwood is a dying town so nothing to do if you don't gamble, which i don't. location is nice for northern trips but way too expensive. i stayed in a howard johnson and holiday inn express and both were great. i would never go here or recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIANASTUART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnelsonauta, Owner at Celebrity Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
We always appreciate customer comments. It tells us how well we are
doing and what we need to change. After reading this customers
comments I talked with housekeeping who informed me that they tried
to accommodate this guest the best they could but were not successful
in some areas. I also had housekeeping go through all of our sheets,
we just replaced inventory in May, to see if we needed to replace any
and they stated we did not need to replace any sheets, but we did
order some new pillows. We pride ourselves in having spotless clean
rooms and doing what it takes for for an enjoyable guest experience.
Deadwood (the entire town is a National Historic Landmark) is a
vibrant town with spectacular museums and events including Wild Bill
Days, Days of 76 and Kool Deadwood Nites with free big name concerts
and events on main street throughout the year. Deadwood has plenty to
do including Kevin Costner’s Tatanka - Story of the Bison and plenty
of rich old west history. Deadwood just opened a 30 million dollar
convention center and opening next July is Deadwood Mountain Grand, a
40 million dollar Event Center and Hotel complex. Deadwood is a great
town to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed 4 nights during the Sturgis Rally and from check-in until check-out the service was great. We had a truck/trailer to park and the staff made every effort to accomodate our needs. The room (209) was spacious with a fire place, separate bedroom with a comfortable bed, great bathroom with heated towel bar, microwave, fridge, sink. Large TV in livingroom and TV in the bedroom.There is a continental breakfast served at the bar are but we never ate there although it looked fine. We enjoyed the deck which was close proximity to our room. Everyone was very friendly and we will definitely make plans to stay at Celebrity again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

This hotel is by far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. We had a king size room that was spacious. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. There are very nice amenities: there is a coffee maker with CHOCOLATE mints. The bathroom was amazing: marble tops: we had a walk in shower and bathtub. There are heated towel racks that automatically heat up in the morning so when you get out of the shower you have nice warm towels (how cool!!!). The room has dark curtains that filter out the morning light. The room is very well insulated from the casino noise down stairs: you didn't even know there was a casino. There is a stale cigarette smoke odor upstairs but it really didn't affect the room. Everyone was so very nice. They have a gated parking area next to the hotel and the hotel staff is so nice about letting you in and out because it is kept locked. This was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroadagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gasquet, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This hotel is above a casino. There is smoking in the casino. The area our room was in was behind a sealed door and was almost smoke free but not quite. Close though, but there was not a lot of people in the casino so that probably helped. We got the last parking place but we had a handicap placcard or we would of been out of luck. Room was clean but tiny. We upgraded on the king and it was really pretty comfortable. Tub was for a small person or child but shower was gorgeous. We ate at Jake's a restaurant on the third floor of Keven Costner's casino and it was very good and not too spendy. We got in late but walked around a bit. Lots of casinos, bars, and jewelry stores. We saw people with children but seriously who takes their little ones to bars and casinos, not really anything for kids there it seemed but maybe we missed that part. It is convenient for seeing the town. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terriccha46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed at Celebrity Hotel for one night during our trip to the Black Hills. By far this was the best appointed hotel during our visit. The hotel is in the historic district of the town, right on the main drag.

We stayed in room 103, which had two double beds. The rooms were quite and smokefree. The bathroom was gorgeous; I won't go into detail but it was everything others have described. We were steps from the main street and close to restaurants and of course the gambling. Celebrity does have a small casino but there are probably bigger ones around. There is a small car museum which we enjoyed, along with celebrity guitars along the wall of the casino. One hidden gem is an outside patio upstairs where you can enjoy a drink or breakfast. The latter is complementary but minimal. Great coffee though.

The most surprising part about our stay was the hotel price, for the amenities and room this is a bargain. I highly recommend staying at the Celebrity.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ubet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity Hotel

Property: Celebrity Hotel
Address: 629 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celebrity Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the famous Celebrity. A beautiful hotel located on historic main street. Elaborate grand lobby with massive crystal chandeliers, carved mahogany woodwork and gilded ceilings. Our Victorian rooms have quality reproduction antique furniture,while our luxury rooms feature marble and granite bathrooms, separate glass showers and bathtubs,fireplaces, whirlpools, hot towel warmers, safes, free Wi- Fi, free continental breakfast bar, on-site parking, courteous staff and spotless accommodations. Casino and over 75 movie memorabilia displays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celebrity Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing