We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but could be SOOOOO much better... Visitor Center please read!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Historic Old Town

Historic Old Town
Ranked #4 of 39 things to do in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OK, but could be SOOOOO much better... Visitor Center please read!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Writing this in the hope that Deadwood Chamber of Commerce/Tourism department takes it on board. Currently, some barely-heard street theatrics, gambling and gift stores. Advice: 1. Close most of main street to cars (at least during main visitor hours). 2. Have horse drawn Carriage rides... Where WAS the Deadwood stage...huge missed opportunity! 3. Have 'visitor center' stores and scenes where actors in period dress and character, give shooting practice, present a singing/dancing 'Ladies' show, sell quality themed items, show how a horse is shoed/Stetson made, what the local doctor would have prescribed (or inflicted), hold a court and then have a public administration of justice on the street, see the post come in (on horseback). If you want to see how this can be made to pay... take a posse up to Colonial Williamsburg (which has both free and a paid entertainment) to see how it can be done. We want to see that spit(oon) and sawdust and get a feel for how people actually lived in those days. Lets see Deadwood DEAD GOOD!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Cello88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    174
    92
    38
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We expected a real Wild West experience and were badly disappointed. The only industry seems to be the casinos. We were not interested in gambling and the town has nothing else. The buildings are not authentic. The tour of the cemetery is well-advertised but you can experience it by reading the detailed description of it which explains the different people buried there and their lives. On the whole, it was a visit we completely regretted. We had more fun in Custer and Hill City which seem to make more of an effort.
It is a waste of great potential.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Joann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
400 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Charming Historic Area If You Have Time for a Walking Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Do yourself a favor and start your visit to Historic Deadwood with a stop by the History and Information Center (located in the old railway station). The helpful folks on duty will provide an orientation map and recommend things to do. Given our time constraints, we decided to grab the walking tour brochure, which is a self-guided "Trail to Deadwood's Past." Brochure text coincides with specific spots and historic markers through town. We couldn't find all of the markers, but reading the brochure and walking along gives you a good overview of the town's colorful history. I enjoyed the Wild Bill Hickok and Calamity Jane brochures we picked up, too. The lady at the information center told us times for the re-enactments, so we were able to catch a dramatized shoot-out. Even though this was geared mainly for young kids, we found ourselves laughing at the presenter's jokes and learning a fair bit. The actors and costumes were pretty good!

Even though we aren't gamblers, we did wager $20 in some slots at one of the casinos, which were unremarkable. Nothing historic there! Totally by chance we ran across an old service station that has been turned into a cafe and glass-blowing workshop. How cool! In short, you need to seek out information and wander around in Deadwood, but there's lots of free, fun stuff to be learned if you can spare the time. Really, the historic "wild West" town is charming, even if you only drive through.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffy_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not All That Exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We spent around four hours taking in the shoot out reenactments and the businesses. We really didn't find it to be that great. My pre-teen son thought it was pretty "lame." My husband and I agreed. Unless you are into gambling, I'm not sure it's really worth your time to go.

Helpful?
3 Thank Chdeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The town was nice to see but ti is mostly casino's and bars. There is not much shopping here like we expected. Were glad we came here to see it but we wont be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank spankie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Historic Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing